The Chop House Gastro Pub restaurant

2 Shelbourne Road, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:

€€

65 reviews
4 stars - based on 65 reviews

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Submit a review
The Chop House Gastro Pub

RyanOD
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:60%

Reviewed 28th August 2017 (visited 9 July 2017)

I've been here many times and would recommend it. However it is best to avoid if there is a match or concert on, it can get very busy and loud, particularly if you're just there for a meal.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

helenamcdermott
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 23rd February 2016 (visited 19 February 2016)

21 booked in for lunch had to wait one full hour for lunch to be served! Staff amazing, food good.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

mnally
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 05th March 2015 (visited 26 February 2015)

six of us had lunch here. We wanted steaks that weren't on the lunch menu which was absolutely no problem to the chef. The steaks were amazing and cooked exactly as ordered. Starters, sides and desserts were also absolutely beautiful as were the fantastic selections of gin! Service was attentive, friendly and extremely helpful. Would definitely recommend and can't wait to return.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

livingst
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th January 2015 (visited 13 December 2014)

We dined upstairs as downstairs was cordoned off for rugby fans after the Leinster match. The atmosphere was still brilliant upstairs. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I shared the cote de boeuf which was probably the nicest steak I have eaten in Dublin. The starters were also very well thought out and executed. I had foie gras and ham hock terrine which was beautiful. The menu also offered great non steak alternatives. Our table ordered the stone bass which I have not seen on too many other menus which again was cooked perfectly. The staff were able to recommend a different brand of gin which was so nice I actually went out and bought a bottle the next week. They also recommended we tried the Teeling whiskey - nice to be supporting up and coming Irish artisans. The evening was casual and very relaxing. I will definitely be back

The Chop House Gastro Pub

pcpatrick
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th October 2014 (visited 12 October 2014)

I brought my father and friend to the Chop House last Sunday for lunch. I won't be back in a hurry! The 'King Prawn' chili starter that my Father had consisted of 5 x tiny shrimps - just like you'd find in some fried rice dishes! All our 3 plates were stone cold. I had to return my Pork Belly dish as it wasn't anything like piping hot. My friend's mash was also very cold. My 2 guests didn't return theirs as they were very hungry - but also weren't anything near impressed. Maybe they were meant to be like this; the scallion onions that were served with the fish didn't even have their roots cut off on the main dinner plate! The service was 'slap-dash' at best. The waitress plonked a vase of tap water on our table to accompany our wine; it wouldn't have killed her to pour some into the water glasses which were on the table. And after dropping more than a three figured sum, we didn't even get farewell or 'Thanks for coming' from any of the staff. The restaurant was only a quarter full, and I can now see why!

The Chop House Gastro Pub

fo.mc
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th July 2014 (visited 26 July 2014)

Myself and my boyfriend booked a table here on Saturday evening having heard good reviews of this place. The food was good however I was very unimpressed with the service, we were thrown our menu and not informed of the evening specials or shown different cuts of meat as it seemed everyone else who arrived after us had. After finishing our food which was tasty howver not amazing we were left for 30 minutes for our plates to be cleared, we were unable to have desert as we had to leave as we had plans, the deserts looked nice howeer after waiting for so long there was no chance I would have had time for desert. I unfortunately will not be returning here.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

tablepourdeux
Dublin
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th July 2014 (visited 10 July 2014)

We had two visitors from the US to entertain for the evening and booked a first-time table for four at the Chop House for 6.30pm. When we got there early at 6.10pm there was already a buzz picking up in the restaurant. Table arrangements are fairly informal and the place got quite loud during the course of our meal - not a criticism, just an observation. We started with cocktails for the ladies and a glass of O'Hara's IPA for the men - excellent. For eats, to start with two of us had goats cheese with beetroot which was delicious but perhaps not well thought out. It looked uninteresting on the plate and three portions of cheese were too many for a starter. More successful were the King Scallops and Tortallini starters our two US guests had, which looked and (by all accounts) tasted delicious. For mains I had a rib-eye ordered medium-rare which was served medium, but still was tender and tasty. This cost €28.00, not the €26.00 shown on their on-line dinner menu. The steak came with a portobello mushroom, fries and peppercorn sauce, all good. Other mains were the Fishboard and slow-braised neck of lamb specials which got the thumbs up from my dining companions. One of our guests had a dessert that she seemed very happy with. Service throughout was friendly and efficient with no long wait between courses. Not a place for quiet romantic dinners but a great place for a lively dinner group. Would return.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Catherinecaulfield12

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th June 2014 (visited 19 June 2014)

Good atmosphere but Very loud music. Difficult to have conversation with dinner guests. Food good but a little overpriced.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

NKelly
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th May 2014 (visited 18 April 2014)

I have been hear many times, the steak sandwiches are out of this world and great value for money.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

FourCandles
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th April 2014 (visited 25 April 2014)

I had a steak sandwich and soup at lunchtime. Great food great value.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

miralainn
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st February 2014 (visited 14 February 2014)

fantastic service, steak and ambience. just perfect

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Flash63
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:60%

Reviewed 30th December 2013 (visited 29 December 2013)

very friendly service though they had lost my booking. Food was fairly good. service fairly efficient and it was generally an enjoyable experience.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

mgasiewski
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st September 2013 (visited 5 August 2013)

I bought the best steak at place. Waiter brought me it. Steak was very tough and had a lot of veins. When after some bites I asked waiter that probably they brought me wrong steak as it is impossible that such steak had so many veins. He answered evan without looking at me and steak that after a few bites it is impossible to distinguish different steaks. No sorry, no explanation, no further questions. Waiter just went to take order from next client. What is more me and my friend got ill after meal. I ate at many places, usually much less expensive and popular that that one and I never was treated so poorly as at that time. There are much more less expensive having much better service around that area than Chop House. I rarely spend time to write review, but I never got such poor service at restaurant.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

jengaj3n
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd May 2013 (visited 15 April 2013)

This was my second visit to The Chop House and only confirmed that it is one of the best restaurants of its kind in the area. The staff are incredibly helpful in advising on the various cuts of meat which are always cooked perfectly to order. On this visit, I had a fantastic seafood selection starter consisting of smoked salmon, fishcake, tempura cod and a mixture of apple and crab in a herb mayonnaise. This was followed by a 32 day aged 10oz steak with field mushroom, tomato and a side of fries. This is the kind of restaurant where you almost shun the (very good) bread basket at the start just so you can fill up on the rest. It's almost impossible to find fault with the restaurant. It's a firm favourite and we'll definitely be going back!

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Tasty1
Dublin
58 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th April 2013 (visited 15 February 2013)

We shared a divine seafood medley plate to start from the specials board it was very generous in size followed by two fantastic steaks, cooked to perfection and well seasoned. Unfortunately, the steaks were served on tiny boards - bring back plates I say! Couldn't fault the food or the service.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4882 ]