Simons Place Coffee Shop restaurant

22 South Great Georges Street, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Cuisine:
Cafe

Price Range:


17 reviews
4 stars - based on 17 reviews

Simons Place Coffee Shop

Submit a review
Simons Place Coffee Shop

Azurerat
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th May 2014 (visited 7 March 2014)

Going here for years one of the top chilled coffee spots. Great place for a soup salad and a sandwich, also has lovely mugs of coffee and you must try the Danish they make.

Simons Place Coffee Shop

ohfrankiefrankie
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th June 2013 (visited 10 June 2013)

One of my favourite Dublin cafes.It opens from 8.30 to 5pm not till 7 as listed here, the early closure is the only downside. Poster filled wall, great sandwiches ( cheese and chicken are the best) gorgeous soups salads and cake. The staff are very nice mostly women who could double up as models while the atmosphere is very chilled. It has a downstairs too which a lot of people looking in dont realise and wander off elsewhere as they think its too packed. same guy used to room marks brothers down the road and although it lacks a little of the gothic charm that place had it is still a great place. The music when you can hear it is also awesome, playing mostly indie gems that would wipe the floor of many Indie pub nights in dublin. All in all a great place to spend a few hours, my mate even met his wife there 12 years ago sitting beside each other in the window!

Simons Place Coffee Shop

evely
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th February 2012 (visited 4 February 2012)

I can't believe this place hasn't had more reviews. Admittedly it's just a cafe and they do simple cafe fair but at Simon's Place they do it very well. Their sambos are made with freshly baked bread, which I think is baked on the premises. They do a selection of salads too which are very tasty and again, like the sambos, make for a good value lunch. However, the most important thing to know about Simon's are their cinnamon rolls; they are delicious and they fill the place with a gorgeous cinnamonny aroma. Coming in a close second is their baked blueberry cheesecake which I haven't found anywhere else in town. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and the staff are always smiling and, it seems, mostly Spanish. My only complaint is that they aren't open on Sundays...

Simons Place Coffee Shop

Sixx
Dublin
75 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th May 2011 (visited 2 May 2011)

I got to Simon's place quite regularly and I really enjoy their salads as well as their yummy desserts. It's in a great location and has a nice bohemian feel to it. The staff are also quite friendly too and the food can be eaten there in the cafe or if you're in a rush you can take it away. As much as I love Simon's Place, I do find that it's a little overpriced which tends to put me off going here every day

Simons Place Coffee Shop

sigfridb

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th January 2011 (visited 17 January 2011)

Brilliant place to have a snack. Probably the best value for money in town. Portion of salad are huge. And frankly really nice. You must have a go!

Simons Place Coffee Shop

Markafterdark
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th March 2010 (visited 1 March 2010)

Simply the best value Cafe in Dublin. Simon has been serving up the very same sandwiches and soups in Dublin since at least 1987 when I first stepped into Marks Bros - his earlier cafe on Georges St and they have been consistently fresh hearty and very good value. The coffee is fine italian and the mugs of tea are champion - however the handles can be quite hot so take care. Long may he continue serving to the young bohemians of Dublin.

Simons Place Coffee Shop

MaggieAnneLou
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st October 2009 (visited 3 October 2009)

What can I tell you about Simon's Place - you really have to see it to believe it! It has to be one of my favourite places in Dublin and I am a frequent visitor The atmosphere is relaxed and eclectic, the walls covered with posters of gigs and events coming up The staff are friendly and helpful As for the food - I can't fault it. Their sandwiches are fresh and well filled. And as for the Cinnamon Buns and coffees - delicious! I will be back!!!

Simons Place Coffee Shop

dishy

46 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th March 2009 (visited 21 March 2009)

Lovely cafe, the sanwiches are delicious especially the advocado ones. Very relaxed atmosphere and always has a few posters I would like to steal! Great spot.

Simons Place Coffee Shop

truefoodie
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th January 2009 (visited 13 January 2009)

Loved the relaxed atmosphere in this Dublin institution. Definitely a place where you would be happy to dine alone. Their signature cinnamon buns are available from midday and are something special.

Simons Place Coffee Shop

debbie.animal
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd November 2008 (visited 22 November 2008)

Great place for a coffee in the City Centre. I find Dublin to be fairly lacking in coffee shops that you feel comfortable taking up a table in for an hour or more. Simon's Place is one. The coffee is excellent and the cinnamon buns are to die for. Great place to hide from the hustle and bustle with a book!

Simons Place Coffee Shop

Angua
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th July 2008 (visited 14 July 2008)

Cheap and tasty, the type of place where you can nurse a coffee for an hour while reading. Maintains a very casual atmosphere and is a nice place to be alone. Regulars include several well-known Dublin musicians and artists, but don't expect them to be interested in their celebrity while sitting in the basement! I recommend their soup, which is thick and delicious, and their sandwiches which are hearty and filling.

Simons Place Coffee Shop

paulaoc_
Dublin
64 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th June 2008 (visited 4 February 2008)

Love the cool vibe this place has. Walls are covered in posters and there's plenty of magazines informing people of interesting events;etc. Really relaxed and homely. Its the type of place you can sit on your own and not feel intimidated. Have only ever gotten coffee, but the food always looks pretty appetising!

Simons Place Coffee Shop

Slainthe

20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th February 2008 (visited 23 February 2008)

Had lunch here yesterday. I'm from Melbourne Australia and it reminded me of the cafes along Brunswick street. There's a lively hippy/grungey/backpacker/unistudent feel to the place, and the service is unpretentious. The sandwiches and soup are simple but fresh. A glass of juice costs 1.20 which is probably the most reasonably priced beverage this side of the Liffey (disappointingly, it is out of a carton though). It's good to see a place that's not setting out to rip people off for a change.

Simons Place Coffee Shop

The Fish
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th July 2007 (visited 14 July 2007)

A great place for soup and a sandwich. Simon's is a unique place where you can drop in for a coffee or a satisfying lunch and bump into old friends or just get chatting to any of the interesting clientele that frequent this popular establishment. There's always a choice of soup - the permanent General Vegetable Soup and another changing one that I think is always vegetarian-friendly. Salads, doorstep sandwiches and homemade cakes made up the bulk of other treats on offer. But it's the crowd and the very gorgeous and ever-friendly staff that are the real stars of Simon's Place. Long made it continue...

Simons Place Coffee Shop

BuAli

5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd May 2007 (visited 3 May 2007)

Simon's Place is an essential piece of Dublin. In a time when limp paninis and dodgy lattes abound, Simon's dares to be different by sticking to a time-tested formula. They've been making the same doorstep sandwiches for years, decades nearly if you include its connection to the now defunct Marks Brothers cafe, which used to be on the site of Acapulco, further down George's Street. But this is a formula that works- simple, quality ingredients, a great atmosphere, friendly staff, excellent coffee and very good value for money. Simon's clientele shapes the place too- bike messengers, artists, suits, students, market traders, musos, all mix it up here. It's particularly well known for singer songwriter sightings, and a scene from the movie 'Once' was filmed here. If I were stranded on a desert island, I would have drooling daydreams about their home-baked cinnamon buns. Enough said.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4663 ]