Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street restaurant

28 Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 8

Dublin 8

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:

€€

60 reviews
4 stars - based on 60 reviews

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

Submit a review
Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

Fame
Dublin
56 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th June 2016 (visited 1 June 2016)

Great Irish food and craic. One of my favourite places to eat and drink in Dublin and would now consider it my local. I eat here at least once a week and each time the food is delicious. Have a seat at the bar and have the craic with the bar staff...true irish gents.

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

JRogers
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st July 2015 (visited 26 June 2015)

Steaks quite pricey and when we requested to look at the early bird menu we got told it not available for another 10 mins, a bit petty I thought

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

donnels364571141
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd December 2014 (visited 20 December 2014)

Very disappointing meal and I would not eat here again. Firstly, we were expecting to be able to order from the early bird menu however very sneakily, Ryans do not state on their website that the early bird is not available in December and we did not find this out until we arrived in the restaurant(most other restaurants who apply this policy have it clearly stated on their website).Consequently our bill came to €161 for 3 starters,4 main courses and two desserts-very expensive in my opinion for what we received. Food was extremely average; chicken wings for starters were burnt and tough. Three of our party ordered rib eye steaks however the two steaks ordered medium well were very well done, dried out and tasteless. Chips were average. Ordered creme brulee for dessert which was also very bland and of poor quality. Ryans used to have very high quality food- I'm afraid to say their standards have slipped hugely.

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

Larryflynt17788970
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th September 2014 (visited 2 September 2014)

Great steak and a great pint of stout. Good atmosphere. The waitress was a bit of a drag though.

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

Mcflurry7!
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th July 2014 (visited 26 July 2014)

I booked for a table of 5 on Saturday night and we all had a really lovely time. I really liked the decorations and atmosphere. They were also very accommodating since half of the table was late arriving. I ate the chicken wings which were the nicest I've ever had and the Haddock was delicious. However, my boyfriend had the kidneys and Guinness Pie which he was very over cooked. The house wine on the other hand was lovely. All in all it was a lovely night & I'm glad I've found a new local restaurant to frequent.

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

Fame
Dublin
56 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd August 2013 (visited 6 August 2013)

Enjoying a few drinks and we decided to try out their menu. We ordered many different starters to share and we enjoyed all. Lots to choose from with great presentation and flavour. Brilliant atmosphere and nice friendly staff. Will be back :)

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

eabha
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 21st July 2013 (visited 20 July 2013)

hi ahthough we live a 10 minute luas ride it was our first time to eat here.it was fairly empty so the atmosphere wasn't great .I ordered pate and my other half had wings,both were delish,he had Guinness pie the thoroughly enjoyed it my mains were a complete let down,i had haddock in beer batter and home made chips,the chips were soggy greasy and hard the fish was equally as greasy,it came in three portions one im convinced was plaice when I enquired they said it was all haddock....over priced pub grub fxbs I expected a lot better

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

Roc

19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st November 2012 (visited 21 October 2012)

First visit to The Grill at Ryan's on Parkgate street. We had been in the Phoenix Park all afternoon and fancied going somewhere close by for dinner. I have heard good things about Ryan's and FXB's too. We just missed the lunch menu which looked superb value. We ordered from the a la carte menu, the home made bread and dips to share which was full of flavour and a decent amount of fresh tasty bread too. Baked cod and the Halloumi Filo Parcel followed and they were both delicious. Every last piece was enjoyed. There was a nice atmosphere in the restaurant on the Sunday afternoon we visited but it was far from busy but as we were leaving it was filling up fast, presumably for the early bird offer which seemed like great value. FXB's are famous for their steaks, but they also did very well with our fish and veggie dishes. Well done.

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

dublinniall1
Dublin
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:37%

Reviewed 30th September 2012 (visited 29 September 2012)

had a great 3 course fix price menu last night. great rib eye steak. i think it was 25 euro. excellent

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

SLATZ
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th August 2012 (visited 11 August 2012)

We are regulars at Ryan's and find the service is excellent. The food is consistently good and overall it is good value. I would highly recommend for small groups or couples!

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

Mr. Creosote
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th October 2011 (visited 8 October 2011)

We decided to drop into Ryans on the way home from Town, without a booking. We were politely told that the table was booked in an hour, which was fine with us, as we just wanted a quick burger. Between this, and the fact that we were offered the Early-Bird offer, despite it being 10 minutes after it finished, we felt very welcome. Our burgers were wholesome and very filling, although our fries were a little cooler than they should have been. Interestingly, Ryans offer a range of O'Hara Irish "craft" beer, and booklets suggesting food / beer pairings are on the tables. If I'd been having a meal before going into Town, rather than coming home, I'd definitely have tried a beer, as I'm curious to see how this food / beer initiative develops.

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

superflysister
Dublin
31 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st August 2011 (visited 28 August 2011)

We were here on a Sunday and there was a great atmosphere as there was the GAA and soccer on TV. The bar men were friendly. We ended up deciding to stay and have Sunday lunch there. There is a proper restaurant upstairs but we decided to have some bar food. I had fish & chips but i asked for it with potato and veg instead which was no problem. My OH had the beef and Guinness pie. Mine was fine, I'm not mad about deep fried fish but i ate around the batter and the sides were nice, tartar and mushie peas. OH really enjoyed his, the beef was excellent and it came in a lovely puff pastry. Reasonable food on a relaxing Sunday.

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

davsheen
Dublin
73 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th August 2011 (visited 29 August 2011)

Went for a group lunch in this popular restaurant over Ryans bar in Parkgate street near Heuston Station. Attractive menu for lunch including the well known Steak Sandwich, BLT, Chicken dishes and a Fish and Chips. Food was pretty basic for the money charged, no garnish with any of the dishes. Everything seems to come with Chips which is grand but would be nice to have a few healthier options as well like salads. Staff friendly though the restaurant upstairs is a bit poky. Many in the group complained that the batter with the fish and chips was very greasy, not sure I d rush back many much nice options avail in the area for around the same money.

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

RicoRicoRico
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th May 2011 (visited 11 May 2011)

Very impressed! I live very close by and went there on a Wednesday night with my boyfriend at around 9pm. We could choose our own table, which was nice. The atmosphere was very relaxed and cosy. We both chose the value menu of 3 courses for €25 and a glass each of Malbec and Rioja, which were spot on. The starter portions were very generous and the dishes really were very tasty. My boyfriend had the Mushroom soup and I opted for the Galway Bay Mussels. They really didn't scrimp on the portion of mussels, there were loads of them! For mains we had Steak and the Haloumi Filo. Both were very good, the only reason why I would take points away from the Steak dish is because there was no garnish of any sort on the plate so it looked a little bland although the flavour really was good and it was cooked just the way we like it. Next time it will be Steak and side-salad thats ordered instead of with chips. On to dessert and to be honest we couldn't eat it we were so full (but we devoured them for lunch the next day..the brownie was excellent!). Our Waitress, who really was so attentive, kindly kept them wrapped in the fridge for us to take away, while we sipped on a Gin & Tonic at the table until we were ready to leave. We were so relaxed and content just to sit there and chat, even though we live so nearby, and our Waitress kindly told us there was no rush whatsoever to leave (it was a Wed night), which was a nice touch. All in all we really had a great dinner and I highly recommend a visit.

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate Street

dublinniall1
Dublin
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:37%

Reviewed 28th February 2011 (visited 20 February 2011)

i have been eating here for months. bar food and restaurant upstairs. everything is good. some steaks a little pricey though. they have daily specials at the bar. all in all a very good place. bar staff and restaurant staff genuinely friendly. i will be back. my only crib is that they serve streaky bacon instead of back bacon rashers.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 1.0829 ]