The Woollen Mills restaurant

42 Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, City Centre North, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€€

26 reviews
3 stars - based on 26 reviews

The Woollen Mills

Submit a review
The Woollen Mills

angelatlblain57401821
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 27th September 2017 (visited 24 September 2017)

Absolutely put this place on your restaurant bucket list! From the moment we walked in we were welcomed by a friendly smile & attentive service. It was the Brunch menu & boy did we indulge --just couldn't resit we had 3 dishes between the two of us, Falafel dish, Haddock Croquettes & also Spinach, egg waffle sandwich! I had a Virgin Mary & attention to detail on the drink was class! Definitely recommend & will be back :-)

The Woollen Mills

unah
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 11th July 2016 (visited 8 July 2016)

Early Bird menu mixed in with main so not the set prices are not so clear when in a group, would have said our final bill did not reflect the food / wine / atmosphere. Will steer clear of this as a venue for groups in future. Not VFM at all - nothing special bar the quirky menu

The Woollen Mills

christmas
Louth
72 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th June 2016 (visited 21 May 2016)

One of my favourite spots on a fine summers day. The rooftop is the ideal place for a sunny day in the city. The menu here is suitable for all tastes and the value for money on the quality of the meals is excellent. The staff are so helpful and friendly and the whole atmosphere is buzzy and enjoyable. Their soups are always just a little bit different too.Highly recommend a trip here

The Woollen Mills

elysjohn29428062
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 22nd February 2016 (visited 22 February 2016)

this is the 3rd time we went back, food is very good, first time all good. second time manager too cool for school, but thats fine as the food was ok. tonight closed at 9pm? need to update your opening times, disapointed and not sure we will be back.

The Woollen Mills

Sulbag1977
Kildare
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st August 2015 (visited 30 August 2015)

Went for brunch yesterday with my wife. Really loved the food. Great variety and thought has gone into menu and dishes. Unfortunately I have to agree with the other reviewers about service. It is a poor, inattentive and take-it-or-leave it attitude. With all the level of competition in the city now with great places to eat, it is shocking that management have not addressed this. Having said that, I would go back again for the food.

The Woollen Mills

EmmaKate
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th August 2015 (visited 9 July 2015)

I adore this place. Food is great. Drink is great. Service is great. It's a gorgeous atmosphere. Right in the heart of Dublin city. Great for groups or for date night. My favourite restaurant in Dublin right now.

The Woollen Mills

resurrection79
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th July 2015 (visited 24 July 2015)

Went here for lunch and the food was very nice, if a little on the expensive side. Decent sized-sandwich and lovely soup. The hummus and potato starter was delicious, but a bit overpriced at ten euro. Nice atmosphere, and the staff were really friendly and helpful with out buggy. I'm sure we'll be back!

The Woollen Mills

Lynx
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th July 2015 (visited 25 July 2015)

We wanted to try this place since it opened and we were quite disappointed. My husband had the pork loin and it was tasteless. I had the broccoli and sweet potato which was really nice. We were sitting upstairs and there was absolutely no atmosphere - not even a picture hanging on the walls. We waited for ages before our food and drinks arrived. The service was sloppy but when the waitress did attend us, she was very friendly. All in all, we will not be going back.

The Woollen Mills

niamheyb3188653
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th July 2015 (visited 24 July 2015)

Had dinner last night wth two friends before going to see a play. The food was basic , i had the chicken it looked like it was deep fried, i think they may have over fried it as well as it tasted burnt. Over priced not worth the money €138 .Wouldnt be going back and wouldnt reccomend it. Also staff werent the most friendly.

The Woollen Mills

caitrionamdwyer92883567
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th June 2015 (visited 12 June 2015)

Hated this place. The food was tastless, overpriced with the addition of 12.5 percent service charge. for what? For instance we would have had more to drink if a waiter bothered to ask and they werent around to ask. Glad we didnt anyway as they got enough cash out of us anyway. Reckon this place cant be bothered on return custom and only depending on once off tourist custom owing to its position beside halpenny bridge. Would not return nor recommend it .

The Woollen Mills

ramseylover
Dublin
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th June 2015 (visited 8 June 2015)

Ate here with my mother for dinner on a monday night, the place was buzzing, but when we arrived, was empty and we were seated between the door to the stores, and the door to the kitchen - both constantly in use. The menu is interesting, and as a fish and meat lover i had a lot of choice - but there was less on there that appealed to my mum, so she had the 'cornflake chicken', and I the mussels. To start we shared artichoke hummus. The artichoke hummus does not come with bread, but sad soggy chips, and is swimming in oil - not necessary! The Chicken was deemed 'tasty enough' but the bacon described on the menu was well hidden, and the apple sauce was not complimentary t o the dish at all. The mussels are cooked in ale, but to be honest did not taste any different from any white wine broth. They did include un-opened mussels in my dish, which I find unacceptable, and there was a strange after taste. The bread was excellent and the chips with the mussels also excellent. For 88€ - 1 starter, 2 mains, and 1 50cl + 2 glasses of pinot g I find the meal was over priced. There are excellent mussels all over the city for less than 20 or so €. I won't return for dinner I'm afraid.

The Woollen Mills

soncat
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th May 2015 (visited 6 May 2015)

I made an account so I could give an honest review of this place. I have been here on two occasions and neither of them were pleasurable. The first time, my friend and I had some time to kill before we had to be off somewhere. We were starving so we decided to pop in for a quick bite to eat and a coffee. We didn't have much cash on us so we ordered chips between us, as well as two coffees. The waitress told us that we could not have the chips because we were sharing? I am not joking. So my friend and I just awkwardly looked at each other for a moment until the clearly annoyed waitress said "Ok I can get you chips but only this once." No exaggeration. To say we were disgusted is an understatement. The entire place was practically empty and yet she rushed to take our order and tried to deny us food. I was a waitress last year in a well known restaurant and I know for a fact, if I treated our customers this way, ordering big or not, I would have been in big trouble. A paying customer, is a paying customer. At first, I gave her the benefit of the doubt, maybe she had a bad day, but that kind of attitude is not on when it comes to the public. The second time I went, I ordered a coffee. 10 minutes passed, 20 minutes passed. I was reading a book so did not notice the time fly until I checked it. I look around and the staff are chatting away to each other and I was not the only customer waiting for service. I tried to get their attention but ultimately failed. I just left. That's the last time I EVER go to this establishment. I have warned my friends and family...which by the way, a member of my family went this past week and said the service was a very bad too. Rude staff who can't do their job and who seem to have a chip on their shoulder because of their overly priced food and 'rustic' styled and unoriginal decor. Get over yourselves and retrain your staff. Better yet, hire new ones who are in anyway welcoming and courteous.

The Woollen Mills

food4all1
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th May 2015 (visited 30 March 2015)

Food is yummy - but expensive. My soup was cold which I sent back and there was no apology given - I don't expect a big deal made, but a basic excuse us would have sufficed. Service is only ok - and I was bemused that they felt they should add on service charge at the end!! Why? On the basis of this, I am not sure I would return. It's my decision if I want to give a tip or not...it should not be forced upon two people having a soup and salad for lunch! Plus, I'm shocked at the other review - where they would not make up a fresh sandwich!

The Woollen Mills

anneocallaghan21233632
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th March 2015 (visited 25 March 2015)

The staff were too busy chatting amongst themselves to pay proper attention to customers. We ordered 4 items and ten minutes after the first 2 arrived we still had not received the tea. In fairness to the waiter who brought it he apologised. The Woollen Mills are not cheap and a service charge is automatically charged so I would expect better. On other visits I also felt the service fell short. I would be reluctant to return.

The Woollen Mills

trinnyt
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th March 2015 (visited 11 March 2015)

I very rarely feel compelled to leave a review about a restaurant, however my experience today was such that I feel I have no choice. Today was my third time going to the woollen mills. It has such a convenient location and thus suited everyone I was meeting. This was our primary reason for choosing this establishment. It is expensive, and we were meeting for a quick lunch. We chose to slum it on the benches in the Café area rather than splurge on a proper lunch. We all wanted sandwiches. One of the party, a self-confessed fussy eater, wanted a plain chicken sandwich and this was not possible.The waitress kindly explained that all the sandwiches are made up before the lunchtime rush, and preparing a plain chicken sandwich at the customers request was thus not possible. I could go on a massive rant here. However I'll summarise myself in a few points: 1. Why would you pay ten euro for a sandwich that was made 2-3 hours ago? 2. What kind of restaurant in this part of the developed world does not make provisions for people with 'allergies', 'intolerances' or even PREFERENCES? 3. I refer the staff to the phrase 'The customer is always right'. 4. I had the turkey sandwich on ciabatta and it is definitely not the best sandwich in Dublin. 5. I did have turkey schnitzel here before with brussel sprouts and chestnuts that was delicious. 6. Selection of cheese not great but the dessert selection was good. 7. Coffee is good. In conclusion, good food(ish) but a terrible customer experience. I will do my best to avoid in future.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4516 ]