The Winding Stair Restaurant

40 Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin 1 , City Centre North, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€€

365 reviews
4 stars - based on 365 reviews

The Winding Stair Restaurant

Submit a review
The Winding Stair Restaurant

Jacquie17
Dublin
95 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 26th July 2017 (visited 25 July 2017)

Party of 5, we had been advised when my friend was making the booking that we would have to leave the table by 8pm - not a problem as food was served in adequate time.1 of the party had Steak which was beautiful, served with chips. The other 4 had Plaice, served with cucumber and potatoes which were 3 tiny pieces of fried potato. There was simply not enough in the main course for the cost. We did mention our comments to the waiter when he asked. Not sure if we can consider this restaurant as a venue again.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

chemifarm
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2017 (visited 15 December 2016)

Absolutely delightful! I went for the board of smoked fish: what an experience! massive portion, enough for two! and everything was so tasty and fresh! Then I ordered the mussels with fries! sumptuous as well! Service was wonderful, atmosphere was cosy and warm, very intimate! Highly highly highly recommended!!!

The Winding Stair Restaurant

Niall M
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 09th September 2016 (visited 8 September 2016)

Service was great. Good selection of wines. Steak was amazing, cooked to perfection. Nice relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

Grumpy

55 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:25%

Reviewed 05th April 2016 (visited 1 April 2016)

Went here with my partner on Friday .Chairs not very comfortable but cushion was forthcoming for my bad back without demur. Service efficient and friendly. My starter of potted rabbit with toasted soda bread was so so. partners potted crab with toasted brown bread was delicious. My main of fillet of whiting was in my book the star of the evening. I love whiting and this was fresh and perfectly cooked reclining on a bed of colcannon. My partners poached smoked haddock on a bed of herby mash was very well recieved. Both mains were accompanied by nicely dressed salad leaves. We had a drinkable bottle of temperanillo for €25 which was a mistake as this as this meal deserved something better. All in all a lovely meal in a acongenial atmosphere. Recommended.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

PBPM0
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 22nd March 2016 (visited 17 March 2016)

Very friendly and efficient staff. Food and ambiance very good. Only fault was that some tables are very close together.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

owencassidy
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th November 2015 (visited 31 October 2015)

A truly efficient service with top quality cuisine. Will return again soon.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

elizblaise
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:50%

Reviewed 12th November 2015 (visited 8 November 2015)

Had been looking forward to trying this place for ages. We booked in advance as otherwise a 40min wait was necessary, even though plenty of free tables around. Our slightly rocking table for 4 was right by the door so breezy even though we were upstairs. Chowder, buffalo mozzarella were amongst our starters which were pleasent. The main courses of haddock, beef cheek and pork were dissapointing however. The beef cheek overly rich and salty and the haddock bland with small portions and lack of vegetables. Nice food but overpriced for what we got. Nice to try it given its reputation but we won't be back to The Winding Stairs.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

tfortune16789154
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 19th October 2015 (visited 17 October 2015)

Had Brunch there on Saturday. Menu was great but I guess I picked the wrong item, gammon steak too salty. However I will try again.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

fletch
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd September 2015 (visited 20 September 2015)

Visited here on a busy Sunday evening. We ate off the Pre-theatre Menu. The food was excellent, decent sized portions and lovely flavours. I had a starter of ‘smokies’ with smoked haddock which was very tasty, mains was less of a success but that was more down to my lack of knowledge that a pork neck steak is fatty. Dessert was the star of the meal. I'm not sure quite how they got the Chocolate fondant's out to us so fast but they were stunning. Small but melt in the mouth. Service was friendly but efficient. I like when a restaurant recognise diners who want fast service and they did on this occasion. At €31, it's not the cheapest early bird around but it was reasonable value for money.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

Martinamck
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th July 2015 (visited 17 July 2015)

We were very disappointed. Restaurent had character but the table for two which we had booked was very small, crammed in and wobbly. nMenu choice wasn't great but the starters were nice . Main courses were atrocious. My veal schnitzel which was a house special recommended by our waiter was dripping in grease and I had could not eat it. My husbands steak was very thin, greasey and mostly fat. Very little meat. Desserts were ordered because we were still hungry and they were ok, not fantastic, just ok. Our waiter was absolutely lovely. Very attentive and apologetic that I couldn't eat my main course. He took it off the bill. Sad to say for the price we paid we would never return here again.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

nz.oneill

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th July 2015 (visited 10 July 2015)

Food was good though portion sizes very big. We were sitting at the kitchen so it was hot and noisy and difficult to hear each other talking.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

Kittykats
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th March 2015 (visited 11 March 2015)

This was my second visit - and it was good. Interesting location, nice buzz about the restaurant, and professional service. Food was good but expected better based on previous visit. Had the pre-theatre menu - with the cheese and pear salad (which was ok - not that well balanced maybe overall) and then the smoked pork chop (tasty but fatty). My fellow diners has the ‘smokies’ with smoked haddock, the Potted Dingle Bay crab and seafood chowder and were very pleased. Will visit again happily but maybe choose more wisely.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

Eugenie
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st February 2015 (visited 20 February 2015)

Great service, very good food but portions are way too big, had to doggy bag half my main and was too full for desert. Great selection of wines, especially desert wines.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

Deeee
Meath
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th January 2015 (visited 7 January 2015)

Came here as a birthday treat and absolutely rolled out of the place. I had the smoked haddock and the steak and my partner had the chowder and another fish dish. it was sublime. The portions are enormous, so try not to wolf everything down. My haddock was amazing. The steak was brilliant and so filling, I left all the chips behind. Gorgeous setting, because it was spilling rain and you feel really cosy inside the restaurant.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

ankos
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th November 2014 (visited 8 November 2014)

I have to say i was quite disappointed with our visit. The menu really sounded nice but overall didn't deliver. I had pork belly from the specials menu and that was brilliant. Great flavour and it went really well with the pumpkin mash and beetroot. The pumpkin pancake my wife was having however were a huge let-down. Quite bland, no real flavour. Something you'd only finish when you're really hungry. The desert also left much to desire. The whiskey sauce of my bread and butter pudding was just very sweet, more caramel than whiskey and it made the whole affair just overly sweet. The plum fool was just a glass with cream and crumble. It was really heavy and unpleasant. It's really a shame because i really enjoyed the pork belly. But everything else we ordered was unexciting and not particularly good. Given the price i would have expected much more refinement. But for what we spent we didn't get value for money and we won't give it another try.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6181 ]