Mandarin House restaurant

179 Parnell Street, City Centre North, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Chinese

Price Range:

€€

32 reviews
4 stars - based on 32 reviews

Mandarin House

Submit a review
Mandarin House

foxy
Monaghan
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th October 2014 (visited 1 February 2014)

I eat here every time I stay in Dublin on a break.food is fab best Chinese food I ever tasted and I tried a lot.i tried a few dishes on the menu and everything was delicious :)lovely friendly staff.prices very reasonable. Highly recommend it.yum.:)

Mandarin House

godaly
Dublin
64 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th August 2014 (visited 24 July 2014)

Decided to pop in for a cantonese duck one evening - service wasn't bad although a little on the slow side, reasonable value for money, very few people in there. Food was only satisfactory.

Mandarin House

eating.queen
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd July 2014 (visited 15 April 2014)

This is my favourite restaurant in Dublin due to the polite staff, no frills comfort and utterly delicious food. I spent the first half of my life living in Hong Kong and this is by far the most authentic cuisine I have tried outside of Asia. First of all, you rarely if ever can find dumplings on a Chinese menu unless you are going for dim sum and even then, you have limited places where you get find it in Dublin. In Mandarin House, you have a good few choices - my favorite is the hot, spicy pork dumplings. I must want you that if you can't take the heat, don't order these. Instead, just ask for the plain crispy dumplings at the front of the menu. The menu itself is quite expansive, full of strange and wonderful dishes, but the really good ones are towards the middle. I would also encourage those whose knowledge of Chinese cuisine outside their local takeaway to look at this section. I recommend the half aromatic duck - shredded duck with steamed pancakes (Asian wraps), vegetables and plum sauce - this is more than enough for two people to share. Order this with plenty of fried noodles, spicy (or plain) pork dumplings, spring rolls and a couple of Tsing Tao each and you have more than enough food for a meal for two. As you enjoy this almighty feast, you will notice that most of the clientele is Chinese - always a good sign. For in my experience, if the natives won't eat their own cuisine, the establishment is catering for people who don't know the difference. The decor of Mandarin House is simple, understated and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I always feel welcome coming in the door. And just when you are stuffed to the gills and the bill arrives, you will instantly feel lighter, because for one huge main, two starters, a couple of sides and two beers each, the bill usually comes to around 50 euro. Where in Dublin would you get it apart from a burger bar? Precisely. People of Dublin - if you want proper Chinese cuisine at its finest, this is it.

Mandarin House

christineosullivan02

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th October 2013 (visited 28 October 2013)

The restaurant was very basic but the food was nice . The restaurant was very cold I did say it to the staff . The staff were very friendly . I would visit it again

Mandarin House

woodsg
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th November 2012 (visited 8 November 2012)

I was looking for a good restaurant close to the cinema, found this gem thanks to menupages, the reviews were spot on. The food is excellent, so tasty and big portions too. The service was also good and really good value for money. You have to try it. I have walked pass this restaurant millions of times and never dreamed of going in until I read these reviews and now this will become a regular favourite of mine when going to the cinema. Try their daily specials. Their shredded pork dishes are also divine. You won't be disappointed.

Mandarin House

Maniac
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd April 2012 (visited 23 February 2012)

One of my favourite asian cuisine places in Dublin. The food is always fresh and well seasoned. The Fish in Spicy Heaven is heavenly and I never had a starter there that I didn't like. I would recommend trying the minced pork cabbage parcels and all crab dishes - a speciality of this place. The dining room could do with a bit of a refresh, but it makes up for it with a friendly service and reasonable prices. Well recommended for all who like asian/chinese dishes.

Mandarin House

Stealth
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th January 2012 (visited 21 January 2012)

We thought we would try here based on the previous review and we were impressed both with the accuracy of the review and the food we received. Great spot for some really tasty food we will be back.

Mandarin House

AsianDub

22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th January 2012 (visited 18 November 2011)

Been here a few times so thought I'd write a review. From the outside, it doesn't look like much. Simple decor but here for the food. What I like about this place is that they give you the same menu a Chinese person would get but translated into English. I am of Irish-Chinese descent so I can get both and compare. Prices are the same. I cannot say this for Chinese restaurants! Duck hotpot is my favourite dish followed by beef with scallions. Portions are big. Good value for money. Service could be improved and can see why some non-Chinese wouldn't go into the place but try it! They won't bite!

Mandarin House

ozzyoh
Dublin
65 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th October 2010 (visited 6 October 2010)

The excellent value of the set menu (€16.80 for a 2 course meal with glass of wine) enticed us in here - we both got spring rolls for starters which were nice, wasn't too keen on the sauce though! I got the beef for mains, and while very tasty, meat was slightly chewy..nevertheless still enjoyed, and the portions are massive so couldn't finish!! Nice enough...although I've been in much nicer places with better quality food..

Mandarin House

Greeneyedgirl
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th February 2010 (visited 2 February 2010)

My husband and I have been to Mandarin House many times (it's our local Chinese) and we have never been disappointed! I absolutely love this place - the only Chinese restaurant I've found that serves traditional Chinese food (as opposed to many "Westernised" Chinese restaurants in Dublin). On this occasion there were 4 of us dining and, as we're all friends, we decided to order a few dishes and share amongst ourselves. We started with pork yuk sung with lettuce leaves, which is absolutely delicious. It's a nice, light starter - but packed with flavour. We also had Husband & Wife sliced beef lung. Don't let the name put you off - it's gorgeous. It's a platter of cold, thinly sliced beef and lung in a soya and chili sauce. The only criticism I would have is that the portion is too large for less than 4 people. For mains we shared sweet and sour prawns, which is the only sweet and sour dish I eat because it's unlike any other sweet and sour! The sauce isn't sickingly sweet like you get from most places. We also had lamb with spring onions, which is very yummy (but lashed in garlic, so beware if you're on a date!) The service is always excellent, and be sure to ask for daily specials. There are usually 3-4 dishes which aren't on the menu because they're made from whatever fresh ingredients they have in that day. I highly recommend this place!

Mandarin House

Sixx
Dublin
75 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd June 2009 (visited 24 May 2009)

I only went here the once as I usually go to a local chinese. I was unimpressed at the lack of vegetarian cuisine they had and then by the time we explained that we didnt eat fish either they couldnt offer us very much. It was a bit disappointing and I wouldn't be in a hurry to go back here.

Mandarin House

j79
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th March 2009 (visited 19 March 2009)

I often get take aways from here, food is very good, good value too, staff are always friendly. Alot of my Asian friends would eat here

Mandarin House

miffster
Dublin
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th February 2009 (visited 17 February 2009)

2 of us were here for a quick meal after work last night and I'd highly recommend it. The most authentic Chinese I've been to in Dublin and excellent value. We ordered 2 starters and 2 mains between us, and asked for them to arrive in whatever order they were ready (they probably would have anyway) Service was fast and friendly, though our table was a bit small to accomodate all our dishes! Our starters were Husband and Wife Lung (a cold dish with 2 cuts of meat, beef and 'something' else, in a tasty dressing) and Spicy Pocket Wonder (another cold platter of meat and sliced veg). Followed by Razor Clamp (delicious), and Spicy Fish Heaven (also great). Massive portions, would have fed an extra person easily. With a couple of cold Tsing Tao beers, the bill came to €50

Mandarin House

omaromar
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th February 2009 (visited 5 February 2009)

I disagree with the previous poster, its not a terrible restaurant, its not amazing in fairness. if you come here to steer clear of european chinese, you'll enjoy, take some chinese frineds with you, finding a chickens head would intrigue me though in fairness ;-) I love the japanese udon noodles in here and the squid is also good, i eat here quite often, and i tend to order by pointing at what the natives are eating. one negative though, i asked for a takeaway here once and was charged full restaurant whack, kinda peeved me a bit.

Mandarin House

OMcGovern
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th January 2009 (visited 9 January 2009)

Went there in a group of 6. It's a crudely decorated restaurant and was absolutely freezing at lunchtime. None of us could take our coats off. The €10 lunch special was good for the others. I tried the dumplings starter (nice enough). But the Crispy Fried Chicken dish for €13 was horrific. It was a small chicken completely chopped up, bones and all. But there was little or no meat on it and it was overcooked. I wouldn't be surprised if it was the leftovers after they removed the chicken breast for another dish. After I struggled to pick any meat of the chicken one of the girls picked out a complete chicken head from the dish :-O It's a terrible restaurant and venture off the lunchtime special menu at your own risk and expense.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4688 ]