Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

83 Middle Abbey Street, City Centre North, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Vegetarian

Price Range:

€€

53 reviews
4 stars - based on 53 reviews

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

Submit a review
Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

Dag1
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st June 2015 (visited 20 June 2015)

Food doesn't compare to the Aungier Street branch. The food was tepid at best. No distinct flavours from any dish and everything was very similar and bland. Even the salads were a miss in comparison to Aungier Street. I'll steer clear of Abbey Street in future!

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

Flight Supervisor
Dublin
282 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th September 2013 (visited 4 September 2013)

Ate here for my birthday with two family members. Two of has had starters in the form of samosas. For mains we had a mix of everything. I had a bounty ball for desert which was very nice. Overall we really enjoyed the food. It could have been a little hotter in temperature but other than that faultless. The guy serving was very pleasant and explained all the food in detail. The guy at the till could have been a bit more friendly. I love the nostalgia factor of this eatery because as a child and well into my adult life I used to eat regularly in the building when it was under previous owners. As well as great food this place offers excellent value for money. I will return again.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

chuckyarla
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd April 2012 (visited 2 April 2012)

Had lunch here yesterday and i have to say i wont be back in a hurry. Atmostphere is tired. Food is very boring, you get to point at dishes under a heat lamp, all very starch heavy and tasteless. Not good value at €8.50 for a medium plate.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

sanjay
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 02nd May 2011 (visited 30 April 2011)

I've been to Govindas on several occasions. And there are many reasons I keep on going back. 1. NOWHERE in Dublin offers such good value-for-money meals. 2. nowhere in Dublin offers vegetarian meals that are reasonably priced. 3. The banoffee pie and cheesecake are delicious! 4. The service is excellent. And one can sit at a table very peacefully for as long as you like, without anyone bothering you. I must say though, that the large plate is HUGE. For one, and if you're not insanely hungry, even the small plate will do... otherwise opt for the medium plate... and enjoy!

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

irishgirlie
Dublin
50 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd February 2011 (visited 25 January 2011)

First visit here, last visit here. The place felt very old, not very welcoming. Food was under heat lamps. I asked for a medium plate of everything as I didnt know what anything was. Sat down and nothing was tasty. IT was all very plain. Numerous flies were flying around which also put me off my food. No ceiling, so you could see the dirty pipes. All I could see were the few dishes under the heat lamps - not some things what were on the menu on here such as samosas, springrolls, veggie burgers, which i would have loved instead of the things I was eating. Not my type of place what so ever. Staff were friendly though.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

kmick
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th January 2011 (visited 11 January 2011)

Govindas - I have eaten here twice and twice I have come away with the same conclusion. Friendly, Knowledgeable staff, good value, large portions, good atmosphere. The one thing that lets it down is the food. Its prepared in large trays under lights and thats always a bad start. I had the small mixed plate both times - its 5.50 and you get enough food for a big lunch portion. The 8 euro plate is huge and they heap it with food. There is a large plate as well but honestly it must be enough food for a family of four. I had a bean curry, rice and carrot bake and a tofu stroganoff with brown rice. Both the curry and stroganoff were balnd and uninspired with no strong flavours from either. The Rice and carrot bake was pleasant enough with a strong butter flavour. Overall if you like bland but uninspired vege food, lots of it, for a small price this place is for you.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

smceneaney
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2010 (visited 8 December 2010)

Govindas has been my favourite place to go for lunch for years. I went to the one in Abbey Street yesterday evening and the main dish was cold. I should have got up and told them but I had waited for a while to get the food and was late for the cinema.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

eamonn86
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th September 2010 (visited 14 August 2010)

Difficult to fault this place. I have been twice now and ordered the special plate (bit of everything for €8.50!!). I have a huge appetite but both time I walked out stuffed. Everything is delicious!! Staff are friendly, welcoming and patient, more than happy to explain the dishes (personally I'm happy to trust that it'll be delicious at this stage).

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

lovetoeat
Dublin
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:67%

Reviewed 26th August 2010 (visited 25 August 2010)

I love the food here - had not been in ages and the plates seem bigger! The food is filling, veggie, so one does not feel such a glutton - but next time I will ask them go easy and give me less. The cheese thing in red sauce is my all-time fav, they had a lasagne thing -- yummy. All with a smile - will go back again as soon as in town again.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

oya
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd June 2010 (visited 3 June 2010)

I am a regular at Govindas and I can't get bored of ot even though the menu doesn't change often. The food is rich and fresh, portions are very very generous and I would recommend it to both vegeterians and non-vegeterians. I love their use of spices and all dishes except for pastas, which tend to be slightly overcooked. Service is brillilliant and staff helpful and happy. After 5 years of being vegeterian I quit but I won't quit Govindas.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

Gluttony
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th March 2010 (visited 1 March 2010)

I love Govindas. It’s a good place for quick, constantly great tasting food. It’s done deli style so you get your food straight away, no waiting. It’s a pure vegetarian restaurant but don’t let that put you off! The helpings are huge and the food is great! I got soup there the other day and it came with delicious home-made bread and was very reasonably priced for the size of the portion and the quality.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

Nifhloc2
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th January 2010 (visited 11 January 2010)

This place is perfect for cheap, tasty, veggie food. I came here with my friend before the theatre as we didn't have too much time. I got a huge plate of mixed salad for five euro, which was really healthy, didn't have sauces etc. on it and had great variety. My friend got the medium plate of hot food, which for 8.50 is huge and just so tasty and varied. The atmosphere is quite and relaxing, the chairs could be a bit more comfortable, but that's my only negative remark.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

mimic
Dublin
51 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th December 2009 (visited 28 November 2009)

Usually pop in here for lunch if I'm in town on a Saturday, it's a real haven from the mad crowds! The food is lovely and the portions are HUGE, I usually go for a small plate and they pile it high, the fresh salads are really good too! The staff are always helpful and happy! Well worth a visit for a tasty filling cheap lunch!

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

smee
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th November 2009 (visited 5 November 2009)

I eat here all the time when I'm on the north side of town. The portions are huge, and I've liked everything I've ever ordered. Their moussaka is especially tasty! There isnt much of an atmosphere, but they're more in the 'cheap and cheerful' category. The staff are definitely always friendly!

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

genevieve
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd July 2009 (visited 14 July 2009)

Fantastic value, lovely tasty food and HUGE portions. My friend had half hers boxed up to take home for dinner. Really nice for lunch also because its fast when you're stuck for time.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4759 ]