Wallace's Asti restaurant

15 Russell Street, Behan Square (just off the North Circular Road at Croke Park), City Centre North, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Italian

Price Range:


35 reviews
4 stars - based on 35 reviews

Wallace's Asti

Submit a review
Wallace's Asti

brighteyedlass
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st June 2015 (visited 20 June 2015)

A spur of the moment decision on the way to The Script concert in Croke Park took us to this fab, authentic Italian restaurant. We were welcomed in the door at 4.15pm even though their opening time is 5.00pm. By 5.00pm there were queues at the door waiting for a table. I heard a waiter explain to a girl beside me who wanted chicken in her Pasta Arrabiata that it wasn't an Italian dish so they don't do it. I was impressed by this. Having visited Asti many times and experienced the local regional cuisine, I have always wanted to find a true Italian restaurant here and yesterday I did. My niece and I shared two starters, Prosciutto Di Parma with Buffalo mozzarella and Straccetti Di Manzo, delicious with the crusty bread. For mains we shared the Asti pizza baked in a traditional Italian stone oven. It was so good, we ordered a 2nd one. I must remember to order a take away pizza if ever I am passing. The Arneis Langhe white wine was really good too.The staff and service were super and I will definitely return very soon.

Wallace's Asti

tomomeara15597g
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th April 2015 (visited 24 April 2015)

Went to Wallace s Asti last Friday with my wife having endeavoured to book through menupages which was unsuccessful. Apparently this was a result of difficulty by Menupages in making contact with the restaurant, which did not surprise me having witnessed at first hand, the utter confusion which reigned in the premises. The member of staff who welcomed us was friendly but had difficulty in speaking English as did other staff members. We ordered Spaghetti Carbonara and a glass of house wine. The spaghetti arrived promptly but was not hot and the glass of wine provided was small by average standards. Normally we would request that the meals be taken back and hot ones provided but since we were in a hurry to attend an appointment elsewhere, we did not bother. I consider the meal expensive at €23.00 for the Carbonara and €11 for two tiny glasses of wine.

Wallace's Asti

bernietansey
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:30%

Reviewed 15th November 2014 (visited 15 October 2014)

the food was exquisite. The service was flawless. The waiter was on hand. amazing atmosphere. The food was delisious and very cheap. I would definitely return.

Wallace's Asti

chemifarm
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th September 2014 (visited 5 September 2014)

Amazing atmosphere, pizza was absolutely gorgeous! My girlfriend and myself went to try the pizza! the service was nice and quite quick! We ordered pizza, Asti and Lonzino (asked for a margherita base as it comes without tomato sauce)! absolutely divine! and the Rurale beer, a bit bitter and hazy from a small Italian brewery, was just the perfect combination! The cherry on top is the great value of the Evening special deal (starter + main/pizza + beer/glass of wine for less than 20€)!!! Superhighlyabsolutelystrongly recommended :) A+++

Wallace's Asti

chemifarm
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th September 2014 (visited 5 September 2014)

Amazing atmosphere, pizza is just gorgeous! My girlfriend and myself went there for the pizza! We tried Asti and Lonzino (asking for a margherita base as it comes without tomato sauce)... just divine! And the Rurale beer from a small Italian brewery was the perfect combination! And the cherry on top, the excellent value of the Evening Special deal (starter+main/pizza+wine or beer for less than 20€) !!! Superhighlyabsolutelystrongly recommended :) A+++

Wallace's Asti

angie d
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st July 2014 (visited 30 July 2014)

Visited here for 3rd time after a hard day at work staff are very friendly soon as we were seated iced water .and a basket of bread was brought to our table Food was amazing great value for money delicious flavours will be returning !

Wallace's Asti

Seaglopur
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th March 2014 (visited 16 March 2014)

VERY RUDE AND VERY SLOW SERVICE !!! I couldn't believe to all the bad comments, as I have been there once before, one year ago maybe. So today we went there with friends for a dinner. We were welcomed and informed that we have to wait a few minutes until the table was cleaned, I asked if we could take a coffee when waiting, but the waiter replied with very rude manner that he cannot clean the table and brew the coffee at the same time, even though there was other waiter behind the counter. Once seated I was informed that I cannot leave my coat on the bench in waiting area as "I am not at home, remove the coat" from same waiter with same rude manner. Once our menus where literally "dropped" to our table we had to wait 20 minutes before we were asked for a drinks and the order. Our pizzas arrived after another 40 minutes of waiting, we had already finished our beer and wines by then. Than another 20 minutes before the empty dishes were taking of our table. And another 10 min before bill was supplied. Once we left our credit cards on the tray waiters didn't bother to come and collect them as they were too busy joking with each other behind the counter. We decided to start leaving the place as we thought that this will give the waiter the idea that maybe we want to leave, but no, still no approach to make payments. We have come up to the counter to pay and to see strange look on the waiter's face. Well done guys, you just have lost 4 costumers that love Italian food, live nearby and go out often to eat. I am not fussy and I have been eaten in many different countries in many different places, but have been met with something like that for the first time. No wonder restaurants are closing down.... And that was supposed to be "a grab and go pizza" for us before going out. NEVER AGAIN !!!

Wallace's Asti

briddrake1

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd March 2014 (visited 14 February 2014)

Very slow service, all tables including our own had to wait quite a while for each course. Waiter was rude, seemed to be covering all tables, might have needed help. Food was fine, but making a simple pasta and tomato sauce for our 10 year daughter seemed to be a big problem to the waiter, which shouldn't have been the case in an Italian Restaurant. It was managed in the end and our daughter loved the sauce. Wine was good, but we were not given the opportunity to taste before serving.

Wallace's Asti

kduncan2009

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st January 2014 (visited 18 January 2014)

Fantastic customer service and the food was as good as you get in Italy would highly recommend a visit. Great value for money also :-)

Wallace's Asti

paulflynn

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th December 2013 (visited 18 December 2013)

Very Busy ,great service . Had lunchfor 10 people really good value.

Wallace's Asti

catherine.lane

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th December 2013 (visited 19 December 2013)

Waiter was very rude, I ordered a pizza and whenI received it it wasn't cut in sections, I tried to cut it but my knife was blunt so I asked the waiter if he could cut it for me with a pizza cutter and he said "the chef is busy cut it yourself lady with your knife" and he walked off... another very nice waiter saw what happened and took the pizza to cut it and brought it back within seconds...I definitely will not return to this restaurant again

Wallace's Asti

elainegeraldine175
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 13th December 2013 (visited 12 December 2013)

Excellent value

Wallace's Asti

Denise
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th November 2012 (visited 9 November 2012)

This is a great place to enjoy excellent Italian food. We go regularly and are never disapointed. Great value

Wallace's Asti

spacer46
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th May 2012 (visited 14 May 2012)

Our waiter was a star. we arrived having booked over the phone, he rushed around serving, chatting and greeting. from the minute we sat down he was all over us, but just enough to feel looked after, and not too much to feel crowded. he called me by name (bcos of booking) and joked and greeted in italian. a little taste of italy just around the corner. fantastic. can't say it enough..

Wallace's Asti

rebel105
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2012 (visited 20 April 2012)

I have eaten here several times now and each time have really enjoyed it. The meal deal for starter, main course and a glass of wine for €15.99 is really good value and the food is fab. I particularly like the goats cheese starter! The staff are really friendly and make a real effort to make you feel welcome. The last time we were there after we had paid and were getting ready to leave, they dropped us over complimentary espressos! I will definitely be back!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4637 ]