China Castle restaurant

58/59 Middle Abbey Street, City Centre North, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Chinese

Price Range:

€€

34 reviews
4 stars - based on 34 reviews

China Castle

Submit a review
China Castle

KelBel14
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th January 2014 (visited 6 January 2014)

Food is nice, although not much variety. Cheap and cheerful!

China Castle

Howard

6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 25th August 2012 (visited 25 August 2012)

I just came home from a day working in town. I was advised to try this restaurant as an alternative to Jimmy Chungs last week and it was ok on my first visit. So today I went in at 5.30pm. After a soup I went to get dinner. NO RICE ?? Of any kind. The girl said 2 minutes. So I had to go back to our seat. Waited. Again ten minutes later ...NO RICE of ANY kind ! I went back to our seat. Again we wait. After waiting for 23 minutes approximately we had to leave to make it home for an engagement. I asked about a refund ... NO ... no refund.. you must wait ! she said. Jeeez. What kind of Chinese restaurant is this please ? A Chinese restaurant with no rice ? I was not alone. Several other people were waiting and getting frustrated. I do not understand this.

China Castle

goodenoughtoeat
Dublin
67 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th January 2012 (visited 15 January 2012)

Excellent buffet dinner for €6.80. Cannot go wrong here. Nice cosy place with friendly staff too. Food was tasty and kept nice and hot. I'll definitely return

China Castle

goodenoughtoeat
Dublin
67 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th January 2012 (visited 15 January 2012)

Excellent buffet dinner for €6.80. Cannot go wrong here. Nice cosy place with friendly staff too. Food was tasty and kept nice and hot. I'll definitely return

China Castle

mirandajayne
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th September 2011 (visited 8 September 2011)

love this place, tasty and cheap

China Castle

redmonr6
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th September 2011 (visited 3 July 2011)

Been here a lot of times, keep coming back because of the value for money. The place is small but the staff are friendly and the food is good for the price you're paying. However I would advise to not go in within the last hour of closing as once they run out of something on the buffet it is not refilled.

China Castle

dancingqueen85
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th June 2011 (visited 10 May 2011)

Extremely good value for money. Staff are friendly and efficient, especially with such a quick customer turnaround. Love eating here during the week

China Castle

harmony55
Kilkenny
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st January 2012 (visited 6 January 2012)

I came here at the start of January (a cold ay) and was glad that there was plenty of soup to be had. After that I helped myself to the main course (which was a mixture of lots of different things!!). I was a bit concerned about eating mussels which had been left there so I just ate the one - it was nice. This place is never empty and tables are quickly filled and re-filled after people have left though there is never much of a wait for a table. The staff are very efficient and the food is very reasonable considering it´s price. It is not Haute cuisine but it does not try to be either. This place is perfect if you want a bit of everything (of chinese food) and aren´t too concerned about Michelin stars!! I will definitely come back the next time I have cravings for Chinese food!!

China Castle

davidmc5585
Dublin
74 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th November 2010 (visited 13 November 2010)

Just headed in here last night before a concert as it looked nice and for €9.90 it seemed a bargain. The food was very nice. Not as much choice as other all you can eat places but I liked that better as too much choice isnt always a good thing. I had 3 plates of food. Everything I ahd was very nice except for the lamb was very chewy. The prawns and veg in garlic sauce was delicious. For 2 meals and 2 drinks it cost €22. You cant go wrong for that. Very nice. Would definetly return.

China Castle

aficionado
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th October 2010 (visited 2 October 2010)

My husband and I have visited full house on several occasions and have always been satisfied with the food, service and value. The €8.80 offer of all you can eat + a soft drink is very attractive. I think that the food is of a better standard that one would normally get in equivalent 'all you can eat' restauarants, i.e. many of the dishes are less modified. The choice is limited but contains a wider selection of dishes than just fried food. The prawn dish is magnificent - boiled jumbo prawns with vegetables. I also like the potato and sweet & sour dish. There is a variety of fried starters, e.g. prawn toast, spring rolls, crackers, a range of dishes, a salad bar and a range of noodles/rice to accompany all dishes. All in all, a meal well worth €8.80 and for that crunch price, I will be back.

China Castle

michelle1
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th September 2010 (visited 10 September 2010)

I visited Full house lately. I was very disappointed. The meat dishes especially chicken is so tough and I think it is tasteless. Apart from that, the chilli sauce looked bad so I did not take the sauce. I like Chinese food, but I wouldn't waste a penny in Fullhouse...

China Castle

tara20002
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th July 2010 (visited 20 July 2010)

Food was lovely!! Not alot of choice!! Not a great vegitarian option and lots of sea food!! but what was there was beautiful!! Food was very tasty!! really enjoyed it, will be back again!!

China Castle

lovetoeat
Dublin
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:67%

Reviewed 20th July 2010 (visited 20 July 2010)

Great buffet if you like mussels and prawns - there is lots of chicken and beef, but I do not eat that. Free soft drink with meal too. I enjoyed the mange-tout with red peppers, and other vegs.. I have been here about 4 times now, always happy with the food - but I eat too much...greedy.

China Castle

LovestoEat

19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th February 2010 (visited 15 February 2010)

Popped in here for a quick lunch today with some friends. Attracted by the all-you-can-eat for €8.80 which sounded like very good value and it was. Well, the hungrier you are the better value it is! As others have mentioned, it does lack in atmosphere, but the service (re-filling glasses, clearing plates, taking the bill) was friendly. Onto the food. We all enjoyed it. Basic Chinese dishes and a very good variety. Today there were two soups to choose from - Chicken & Sweetcorn and Vegetable. I had the former and it was tasty if a bit gelatinous. For the mains options, there were about 6 salads/about 8 different mains from stir-fires to curries and prawns to beef and vegetarian, 6 sides (various rice/noodle/chip options) and also a section of more deep-fried dishes like onion rings & spring rolls. Certain elements could have been a bit warmer but overall I was happy with my choices. I was too full to go for dessert, but they were available too. We would come back for a handy bite to eat another time. Wouldn't recommend it for a special occasion though.

China Castle

unanorris
Galway
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th January 2010 (visited 13 January 2010)

Busy spot. Like the comments previous, tables are close together. But if your looking for value then you in the right place. Choice was grand, I would have preferred food to be warmer, but I enjoyed what I had very much. Ideal place to take a break from the shopping but not for a relaxing dinner. I would be happy to eat here again.

Copyright © 2018 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6029 ]