The Shanghai Express restaurant

Lower O'Connell Street, Kinsale, Cork

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Asian Fusion

Price Range:

€€

5 reviews
4 stars - based on 5 reviews

The Shanghai Express

Submit a review
The Shanghai Express

thero2503
Cork
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th September 2010 (visited 19 August 2010)

This is my favourite place to eat. The menu is great and the staff are really friendly. If I wanted to grab a quick bite to eat this is the place I head to! I really prefer sitting downstairs, the upstairs is a little soulless, but just needs a touch of something to make it great! The location is really good, just a few mins walk from the waterfront, and i love the lamb rendang, chicken caeser with wasabi dressing and the potstickers. I don't like the vegetarian spring rolls-its about the only thing i don't like on menu! i would recommend this restaurant to a friend and is well worth a visit.

The Shanghai Express

goodenoughtoeat
Dublin
67 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th April 2012 (visited 6 June 2010)

Arrived late and without a booking and they were most welcoming. Have eaten here every time we visit Kinsale. Food is excellent. The grilled prawns, chicken satay and Vietnamese slow cooked belly port were all delicious. Look forward to returning soon. The staff are very friendly and atmosphere was great

The Shanghai Express

yummy2010
Cork
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th June 2010 (visited 6 June 2010)

Had dinner here on Sunday evening, downstairs has a lovely atmosphere but we were seated upstairs which is a bit like the upstairs of someone's house! The wine list was good and well priced, The waitress was quite rude to begin with but seemed to mellow as the evening went on - we ordered 3 tapas and asked could we hang on to the menu - this seemed to annoy her no end. The dishes were tasty - but not what i would consider to be authentic. We were not offered chop sticks even though they seemed to be on every other table - I ended up helping myself from the table next to us. I was disappointed that they did not provide Chinese Tea for drinkiing with the tapas / cleaning the chopsticks etc - you would imagine if they wish to be an authentic Asian restaurant that this is one of the first things they would provide. An easy thing to provide which would impress no end. The bill was quite reasonable but i'm not sure if I would return. A bit disappointing overall.

The Shanghai Express

dekerf04
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th April 2010 (visited 3 April 2010)

Went to Shanghai Express during the Easter weekend based on a recommendation and was not disappointed. They serve Asian Tapas and also Full Asian Dishes such as Nasai Goreng and Thai Stir frys. A very nice room with small bar, with several small tables and a couple of tall tables with stools. Very informal and they don’t take bookings but we arrived early and had no problem securing a table. Plenty of drinks choice and good wine list. We went for a well priced Crianza. Very friendly and attentive staff took our order and suggested we hang onto the menu! A good idea. The portions are well sized but so tasty that you have to have more than one. The Porkbelly dish and Lamb Rendang were particularly tasty, as were the Pot Stickers, 5 spicy dumplings. Always a favourite with me. In total I think we had eight dishes, a beer and a bottle of wine and the bill was about €86. A phenomenal good value meal. Tasty, fresh and no feelings of guilt ordering again and again! We will definitely be back. We've already recommended it to a Cork native and she has raved about it too. Lets hope it continues to do well.

The Shanghai Express

bobandhelen
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th December 2008 (visited 29 November 2008)

Packed with locals, this IS the best kept secret in Kinsale! We loved the Asian tapas concept as it meant we could share lots of plates and flavours not just two big main courses. My fav was the Terriyaki beef on wasabi mash and herself loved the Japanese gyoza dumplings. It is bright and modern, but only very small, we waited at the bar for a table, but eventually ate at the bar as it was comfortable and the bar man (tom)was so nice to chat to. You would have to arrive early to get a bigger table but very worth it. Excellent value and wonderful wine list and Asian beers I had never seen before..tried them all!!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4427 ]