Mediterraneo restaurant

7 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Co. Cork, Kinsale, Cork

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Italian

Price Range:

€€

12 reviews
4 stars - based on 12 reviews

Mediterraneo

Submit a review
Mediterraneo

The Guinea Pigs
Cork
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th May 2010 (visited 14 March 2010)

Poor Poor Poor. Cannot recommend to anyone. Food was very poor. A starter with a rock hard pear was served up along with another starter which consisted of a lump of buffalo mozzarela wrapped in prosciutto (supposed to be grilled but served cold). Mains were equally poor and served luke warm. Menu reads beautiful and tasty. Pity the plated food bore absolutely no resemblance to the written word. Maybe we caught them on a bad night. But was quite and there can be no excuses for how bad it was. Sorry if above seems harsh, but suggest this is one to avoid.

Mediterraneo

platinum
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th November 2009 (visited 25 October 2009)

A great place for dinner with friends, simple look but great food! Especially unbelievable value for money, this didn't mean that the food was compromised. We ordered some fantastic dishes and highly recommend what was on special, the home made potatoes gnocci with Italian alps cheeses, fantastic sauce! The pizza was lovely and the chicken scaloppini was quite traditional, perfect as well. This is the ideal place for a nice dinner and catch up with family or friends. Will definitely go for another visit! Compliments to the chef!

Mediterraneo

eatandeat
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th April 2009 (visited 25 April 2009)

I've been to this restaurant 3 times this year and look forward to coming back again soon. Last time I went, I had the scallops and asparagus for an entree. It tastes freshly prepared. I had a home made spaghetti mare for a main and my husband had the ragu pasta (can't remember what the Italian name on the menu is - maybe parpaddelle). Both dishes were excellent. There were lots of seafood on my plate and plenty of meat in the ragu pasta. Didn't try dessert this time, but did have macchiato. This was the only down side to the meal as the coffee tasted a bit burnt and bitter. However, this may have been a one-off as I don't remember having a bad coffee here before.

Mediterraneo

shiroandy
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd February 2009 (visited 3 February 2009)

Consistently great food, friendly service and a changing menu. You can easily lock in a monthly dinner here and be surprised with something new every time. Get amongst it - it is very good!

Mediterraneo

murphycork
Cork
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd December 2008 (visited 22 December 2008)

Went here on a Tuesday night, quiet and intimate. Nice food, the seafood pasta was some of the best I have had, just a bit spicy but rich of fresh seafood and very tasty! My partner had the home made cheese ravioli, which was served with a butter and sage sauce, it was delicious. The service was ok and really fast (maybe because it was a quiet night?) It felt like dining in Italy, highly recommended.

Mediterraneo

telbats
Kerry
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd September 2008 (visited 30 August 2008)

I went there with my friends from Germany. Its a nice restaurant, nice service and first of all great food. The home made desserts are faboulous!! Best italian in Cork area. I'll be back again.

Mediterraneo

montreal
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st September 2008 (visited 6 September 2008)

Having never been or heard of this restaurant before, we were most pleasantly surprised. Very authentic italian food and the service was impecible. We had a very enjoyable evening.

Mediterraneo

StormW
Clare
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th September 2008 (visited 8 September 2008)

I have eaten here twice in the last couple of months and both times the food was outstanding. Mediterraneo stands alone in Cork serving genuinely authentic Italian food without compromise. Not only this but the food has a finesse you will not find elsewhere in Cork. I had melt in the mouth gnocchi on the first occasion and superb spinach and ricotta ravioli the second. I thoroughly enjoyed both. Its an added bonus when you are certain that you could not re-create the dish you are eating at home...not for a few more years anyway. Also there is a nice service there. If you were new to Italian food they will take the time to explain the dishes or recommend something to you.

Mediterraneo

padster
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st September 2008 (visited 31 August 2008)

I would highly recommend this restaurant. Ate there last night and the food was fantastic. We will certainly be back thewre gain

Mediterraneo

angela&paul
Clare
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th October 2008 (visited 5 October 2008)

Second time here and we can say: we love this restaurant! Italian food as it should be, delicious and different to other Italian restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful. 5*

Mediterraneo

giuliocesare
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th August 2008 (visited 7 August 2008)

I have visited this restaurant three times and have never been disappointed. I can say: the food is real Italian! Rib-eye of beef with porcini mushrooms and truffle oil was simply divine, and the service very friendly. I will definitely be returning again.

Mediterraneo

elandrean

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th August 2008 (visited 26 July 2008)

This gem of a restaurant has left me totally pleased both times I've eaten there. Menu is varied and creative and restaurant owner provides advices on the catch of the day or specials. Fish is superb and done in a real italian way, grilled with herbs and served with roasted potatoes with rosemary. The whole menu reflects a real italian approach to dishes though remaining extremely palatable and never boring. The Ragu Pappardelle pasta was to die for! Restaurant is on the small side but can also accomodate big parties. I will definitely go back as soon as I have the occasion!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4582 ]