Hoby's Restaurant

5 Main Street Kinsale, Kinsale, Cork

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€

9 reviews
4 stars - based on 9 reviews

Hoby's Restaurant

Submit a review
Hoby's Restaurant

bobbi.holohan

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th September 2013 (visited 7 September 2013)

Great food/great value. Would definitely go back

Hoby's Restaurant

aingealban
Wicklow
49 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th September 2011 (visited 26 August 2011)

Went for a meal here, we didn't have a reservation but were soon seated. The restaurant was crowded, barely a table free. I had the scallops with garlic crusty topping to begin, just delicious, a great helping and I could have ate 100 of them. I had the sole as a main - so fantastic, they have it down to a fine art here. My other diners were drooling to the food as well. I finished with chocolate mousse - just perfect! I would definately recommend eating here - make sure you have a reservation!!

Hoby's Restaurant

Emerald
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th August 2011 (visited 21 May 2011)

I love this restaurant in Kinsale. The food is always fabulous and the owner really makes you feel at home. Cosy and great for groups. Went here for my Birthday and is was amazing from start to finish. Lovely homemade brown bread also. I go back most times I am down. Well worth a visit. Value menu for 25 euro is a steal.

Hoby's Restaurant

allanhowes
Cork
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th June 2011 (visited 6 June 2011)

This is the nicest restaurant i've ever eaten in. Was in Kinsale on Monday and was starving! After looking at all the local menus we decided to wait until Hoby's opened as it looked like a really good menu and really great value. That woman that serves you is so friendly! What a service! the food was AMAZING!!!! I would have had the squid for starters, main course and desert!! it was yum!! really nice steak too!! It was so good and ill definitely go back again. Highly recommended!! THANKS!!!

Hoby's Restaurant

pricekr
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd May 2011 (visited 28 September 2010)

The restaurant was recommended to us by one of the caddies we used while playing Old Head. We were made to feel very welcome and the service was warm and attentive. The food was amazing and looked very appetizing on the plate. The restaurant was filled with locals and that is always a good sign that the food is good. I would highly recommend that you try Hoby's the next time you are in Kinsale. There are plenty of restaurants in town but this was one of the few that the atmosphere, food, service and value all maxed out.

Hoby's Restaurant

cdc
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st May 2010 (visited 15 May 2010)

Second visit to the restaurant. Ordered from the set menu of three courses for twenty Five euro. Menu had a good selection with approximately seven items in each course to choose from. Had Garlic & bacon stuffed mushroom for starter- no bacon and served with a creamy sauce (average). Main was chicken with roast vegetable couscous and rocket and parmesan cheese. Delicious chicken and moist flavoursome couscous (very large portion) and dessert was meringue with fresh fruit and cream – simple and tasty. We didn’t book in advance and I noticed that many guests after us were unable to get a table. We were left to linger from 7. 30 to 10.15 and left at our own accord. Overall a very pleasant meal, staff were very nice and efficient. I am already planning my next visit.

Hoby's Restaurant

RW
Kildare
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th June 2009 (visited 20 June 2009)

The food was very good. A nice simple menu, and everything we had was delicious. At €25 for three courses, the value for money was very good too. The restaurant is small, but fairly intimate. Hoby's is a nice place. The only area it fell short was the lead server's attitude. We were a family of four at 6.30pm on a very quiet Saturday evening. From the moment we entered we were condescended to by the lead front of house person, who may also be the owner. If you're going to be familiar with your paying guests it should be done with a genuine warmth. Otherwise, stick to polite professional efficient service. Also, to open the most expensive bottle of white wine on the menu out of sight of the people paying for it is either arrogant or ignorant. To deliver it to the table without an ice-bucket is inexcusable, although consistent with this lady's overall demeanour.

Hoby's Restaurant

alibear
Cork
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th November 2007 (visited 26 October 2007)

This restaurant is really for tourists more than local clientele. The set menu is good value but the portions are relatively small. It wouldn't be a 'man's feed'. I found the food to be very tasty and well presented. The staff were friendly and the service was good.

Hoby's Restaurant

tmnt2

26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th November 2007 (visited 9 July 2007)

Overall a disappointment if I am honest. Pricey and really bland. The special was pan fried cod but it came with pesto (it didn't state this on menu) it was really weird. The chicken was bland and really the only redeeming feature was that the mange tout were cooked to perfection. The staff were nice but that really is all I can say.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5412 ]