Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

163 North Main Street, Youghal, Youghal, Cork

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Seafood

Price Range:

€€€€

15 reviews
4 stars - based on 15 reviews

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

Submit a review
Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

audie00
Dublin
87 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2014 (visited 22 August 2014)

Great experience - beautiful dining room. Delicious breads served while you're waiting for your meal. Starters of scallops and mussels were divine. Main course of turbot was slightly disappointing for the price. The portion sizes were on the small side, but delicious food overall. Service was top class. Definitely worth a visit.

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

rita.cashman

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th March 2014 (visited 17 March 2014)

It has got to be 5 stars, not a fault to be found !!!

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

rita.cashman

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th March 2014 (visited 17 March 2014)

The whole experience was fabulous. Thanks to all. Looking forward very much to our next visit.

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

ncmc
Cork
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th February 2012 (visited 25 November 2011)

4 of us ate in Ahernes recently. We decided to eat the bar food, the bar was a bit crowded and confusing, the bar man seemed to be serving bar, seating customers, serving customers and acting as hotel reception all at once! We had to sit at the bar for about 10-15 mins while a table was readied for us. We were seated in a little room just off the bar, which was pleasant and a lot calmer. The bar menu is a little cheaper than the restaurant, but still very expensive. The Monkfish starter I fancied was €15.95! There was no way I was paying that for a starter, so instead I went for the goats cheese. It was delicious but it was over €9 which seems like a lot for one piece of goats cheese. My father had the chowder, which he said was ok, there was a lot of fish in it, but the soup itself was very watery. For mains I had the monkfish with smoked salmon risotto. The monkfish was delicious and plentiful, I received two large pieces, but the risotto was a touch undercooked and had a very overpowering flavour. I felt a piece of fish as flavourful as the monkfish didn’t need such a strong accompaniment. My husband had chicken pasta, which he said was ok, a little flavourless. He asked for garlic bread and was brought garlic butter and the server rushed off before he could correct her! My father had monkfish scampi, which he enjoyed and my mother had cod on a bed of champ which she also liked. Again though, very expensive, the monkfish mains were €25. You’re in a seaside town; you shouldn’t have to pay so much for fish! For dessert we had two ‘dessert surprises’ to share, which is a selection of 3 of their desserts. This consisted of a whiskey meringue, which was unusual but nice, a frozen rhubarb terrine, which wasn’t good and a small scoop of fruit salad. I thought it was a bit cheap including fruit salad as the third dessert. You are paying enough for it, I expected more than a couple of grapes and some orange segments! The service was a little chaotic. The bar tender that was also seating people was totally overwhelmed

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

figg16

24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th June 2011 (visited 25 March 2011)

Heard a lot about this restaurant and its seafood. I was delighted to have a chance to sample some of their delights. i had lemon sole for main course while it was a large piece of fish i felt that i was lacking in flavour, however, it was very very fresh. It doesnt have the spark it was expecting and wouldnt go out of my way to re visit. The service was ok but they got our orders mixed up.

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

Cork_Glutton
Cork
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th April 2010 (visited 27 February 2010)

This is by far the finest seafood restaurant in East Cork... From the outside you would easily mistake it for an average bar, but the quality of the food being served here is outstanding. I have visited this restaurant many times but I always order the seafood platter for my main course and I've yet to be disappointed. Portion size is just right and the selection of shellfish on the dish is also quite good. Starters are always good too and I usually go for one of the specials on the night. Scallops from the menu are great though as they are served nice and simply. Wine selection is just right, not too many and not too few. Service is good, though the restaurant can get really busy as it is a popular choice, especially in the summer period when Youghal itself is busy. I normally don't have dessert here as I'm usually happy with my starter and mains and prefer to finish off with more wine :)

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

tykerb
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th January 2010 (visited 29 January 2009)

A quiet fishy Wednesday evening pub affair. Aherne's is unique among Youghal eateries, in that it's the only reliable place for consistently good food. We had been warned that the portions were small, so went for two courses. A mistake to be sure. Portions for the chowder, and grilled sole were generous to waist bursting limits. The chowder particularly was rich and stuffed with fish. The only niggles are the fact that there is no real value pub menu; it's the same as the dining room menu. This means that this is not pub grub prices, but a pub atmosphere. Not a cheap night out, but the best to eat in Youghal without a doubt.

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

dcota1
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th September 2009 (visited 4 August 2009)

A truly outstanding seafood restaurant. Wonderful friendly service. excellent fine dining athmosphere. Food top class. Will be a regular visitor.A good reason for anyone to visit Youghal.

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

Truffleicious
Cork
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th September 2009 (visited 14 August 2009)

Regularly return to this bar/restaurant - excellent food! I particularly prefer to eat in the bar, the restaurant is just a bit too formal. Very good choice on the menu, the baked cod was delicious. My partner had the steak but as he doesn't like mushrooms was treated to some delicious homemade onion rings, which I had to try! Very relaxed in the bar but lovely atmosphere. You don't need to move from your seat for after dinner drinks. Finished off with a very very good Irish coffee, perfect evening all round.

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

ahealy87
Cork
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th March 2009 (visited 9 March 2009)

A fantastic family run seafood restaurant..Great relaxed atmosphere. Aherns is well known for its seafood dishes but has something on the menu for everyone! The service is good, the staff are friendly. Aherns offers great value for money! I would definitly go back here!

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

o'brien
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th January 2009 (visited 7 January 2009)

We visited Ahernes on New Years Eve last for an early dinner in the Bar with two children. There was a real party atmosphere and it was very busy. Both kids had homemade burgers which were very tasty. I had a fish dish that was delicious verywell presented and reasonable. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal, the service was very friendly and atmosphere was great!

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

greg marah
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th December 2008 (visited 19 December 2008)

Terrible!!!!!!!!!!!! Again like the other reviews about this place i heard great things about it. I had to send my bottle of red wine back because it was to cold and they didnt open it in front of me ( it came over with no cork in it, Which is a bit strange ) When they eventually came back with the replacement it was roasting " its the way it should be served" i was told. " we had it sitting in a bowl of hot water for 10 mins." My starter of Thai beef salad was like eating a bowl of salt, it was disgusting. Out came the vegatable soup which was nice.. My fillet steak was tasteless even thou it was covered in way to much pepper sauce. The vegatables were soggie. My Friend had to send back his salad as it was limb and was not fresh. I dont mind spending money on good food and service but this was a rip off...Stay well away

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

doctordenis
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th October 2008 (visited 25 October 2008)

We visited Ahernes a few years ago and found it excellent, a premier seafood restaurant in Co. Cork. Also and to this day a member of the prestigous Blue Book. Last night we had an altogether different dining experience in the main restaurant. My companion ordered a seafood chowder which was good. Sadly my moules mariniere dish had far to few mussles which were tiny and even worse no side bowl or hand wipe was provided.The New Zealand riesling was poured alarmingly high in our glasses. Not wishing to get upset I did not complain and put that down to bad luck. Both our main courses were good ; a lobster thermidor and monkfish but the side order of vegtables were to say the least terrible, a mush of overcooked greens. When the waitress came to take our dishes away I realised we had been only sitting for 40 minutes.! A classic Chinese restaurant tactic. She agreed at this time to give us a break. Next came the Farmhouse Cheeses. A really unimaginative supermarket style with no comment about their origin. We finished with two coffees which I suspect was Maxwell house granules. For a Blue Book restaurant I believe Ahernes is languishing in it`s former glory and needs to get it`s act together.

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

deGingerninja
Cork
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th August 2008 (visited 25 August 2008)

We went to Ahearns last night with high expectations, as we had heard so much about it, and it was a treat for the last day of our holiday. We ate in the bar. The service was good initially, our starters arrived quickly enough. We had the Chicken Liver Pate. Mine was loose to the point of runny and lumpy and very sweet, it was served with a careless sald, no dressing that I could detect, two big lumps of tomato, and lettuce. The bread it was served with was sliced white, not what you'd expect. Our main courses took more than 40 mins to arrive (after our starter. Every one in the bar was waiting that long as the three tables behind us ordered after us and had got no main courses by the time we left.) Both our main courses were dry and overcooked. I ordered Prawns in garlc Butter,(€26 I thought for this amount of money they might be nice.) There was butter but no taste of garlic, prawns were very overcooked. The same excuse for a salad,(which this time was warm, as if it was may sitting on a hot plate) except I got a couple of bits of onion, and two slices of brown bread, with butter out of the fridge that was rock hard. My dining companions cod in bacon was overcooked and served with the same salad and what looked like out of the bag frozen roast potatoes. Our bill with two drinks (one pint & a soda water no desert no coffee) was €66. We didn't complain as by the time the mains arrived we were starving, and couldn't face the thought of having to wait longer, and we just wanted to get out of there. It looked to me like a palce that was good once and is still trading on it. Poor effort, poor food, shocking for the money they charge and the reputation they have. I won't be going back.

Ahernes Seafood Bar & Restaurant

lcom

18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th July 2008 (visited 16 February 2008)

The food is really nice. The service can be a bit scatty at times but they are very friendly and the atmosphere is great. I've been here a couple of times and have always enjoyed the experience. The set menus are good value and worth trying.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4505 ]