Fota Restaurant @ Fota Island Resort

Fota Island Resort, Fota Island, Cobh, Cork

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€€€

11 reviews
4 stars - based on 11 reviews

Fota Restaurant @ Fota Island Resort

Submit a review
Fota Restaurant @ Fota Island Resort

YUMMILICIOUS
Meath
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th November 2010 (visited 18 November 2010)

Dined here as part of a weekend package at fota Island. When we arrive at the restaurant, the place was empty at 7.30pm and we had to go to the bar to find a waitress even though we had made reservations earlier that day. The menu seemed to have a limited choice available and we were'nt overly excited about our food.. We waited for what seemed like ages for our bread to arrive by then we were starving! Overall the food was lovely but i expected more coming from a 5* hotel.. nice atmosphere with candles lit and soft music in the background.

Fota Restaurant @ Fota Island Resort

lucy28
Dublin
65 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th June 2010 (visited 12 May 2010)

This restaurant is part of the Fota Island Hotel. We stayed at the hotel for my birthday and opted for a package which included dinner. The night we had dinner it was very quite - during midweek, but the staff still made an effort with music and candles etc. It is very posh and a little prentitious for me but the food was very good. Although if we had of paid the a la carte prices it would have worked out very expensive. I would recommend it for a very special occasion along with a nights stay at the hotel as it is a bit far out of Cork to be getting taxis etc but a wonderful treat!

Fota Restaurant @ Fota Island Resort

laodog
Cork
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th June 2009 (visited 2 December 2008)

Well, what to say about this fancy place? Food was very little, although very expensive, there were no children going around at the time, all of the children present were confined to their seats, all the time under the strict supervision of the staff. Well, not a pleasant place to eat, but if you want to be posh for an hour or so... worth a visit!

Fota Restaurant @ Fota Island Resort

Kerikosan
Cork
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th May 2009 (visited 15 May 2009)

A very nice restaurant, Service was very good I though nice and polite and the waiters seemed Quite Professional. The Food is a different matter. It's Presented quite nice but flavors are on the experimental side.. I had the Norwegian King Crab which was "Grilled King Crab, Salad of Sea Greens and Sautéed Samphire Tahitians Vanilla Butter Foam and Vierge Dressing" The vanilla butter Shouldn't have been anywhere near the plate... Ruined it for me. My friends enjoyed their meal. Chocolate 3 ways was really nice, They have skilled pastry chef(s) for sure. All in all The food Was Sub standard for a Fine Dining Restaurant.. The Cost of the meal was way too high.

Fota Restaurant @ Fota Island Resort

LooksLikeRain
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th August 2009 (visited 1 August 2009)

Having dined here previously we had high expectations of a wonderful nights fine dining, see review from March 09. Unfortunately we were disappointed. The food was excellent but other areas of the night really let this restaurant down. The first was a common problem in Ireland, air conditioning. The room was less than 20 degrees with a constant cold draught blowing. Most ladies in the room kept their jackets on for the evening and many people moved tables throughout the evening in the hope of finding that elusive warm spot. The second simple problem was the music. There was a piano player playing just outside the restaurant creating a relaxed atmosphere throughout the hotel. This music was more than loud enough to create the same ambiance in the restaurant. Instead the restaurant continued to play piped music. It was not possible to hear either as it just generated noise. The service was the big disappointment. After introducing herself, our hostess soon forgot about us, and our needs. We never got our aperitifs and almost had to beg to order wine. The delivery of the food was confused. Our breads arrived during our starter and not pre amuse-bouche as is normal. Even though our hostess noticed our empty plates on a few occasions the task of clearing them seemed to be below her. After a long time our plates were removed by another member of staff, who apologised for the delay. It was clear from the other diners that we were not the only table feeling neglected. At the prices charged here the service should be at a much higher standard. Previously this restaurant did give a higher level of service. The level of service lets the chef down who did deliver an excellent meal. I only hope this was a once off bad night. I will probably return here again but I would leave immediately if the service and room are still frosty.

Fota Restaurant @ Fota Island Resort

HarryCovert
Cork
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd March 2009 (visited 28 February 2009)

Four of us visited for dinner. Starters consisted of scallops with pork belly, roasted tomates and wild mushroom risotto. These were followed by mains of game (venison/partridge/wood pigeon), halibut and john dory. All of the dishes were of a very high standard and we thoruoghly enjoyed our meal. We were not able to manage dessert but there were some nice sounding dishes on the menu.Little additional touches such as an excellent amuse bouche and flavoured butters with our bread selection were well thought out. Service was professional and of a good standard. If you work your way through the wine list there are some bottles at reasonable prices - by restaurant standards at any rate!! Our only gripes were that it was a little bit pricey so we would view it as special ocassion venue, and that it needs to be pretty full to acheive a good atmosphere.

Fota Restaurant @ Fota Island Resort

daveahern

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th February 2009 (visited 14 February 2009)

After reading a lot on line about "the Cove" i got really excited about dining there, so I reserved a table a month in advance for valentines day. I spend the following 4 weeks downloading there menus and reading about there executive chefs history. To my disappointment it really really did not live up to the hype. On arrival we were handed a "set menu & set wine list". This menu was set. Had zero choice what so ever accept for the main which was either venison or turbot. The first course was champagne and oyster soup which just tasted like cream and champagne left to reduce a bit with a cooked oyster planked in it. The second course was a Foie gras and smoked eel terrine which really was an acquired taste and when my girlfriend refused to eat it our waitress go annoyed with her. The main was ok and the desert of mango cheese cake was just bizarre and boring. In the end the bill of €250 (not inc wine) was what left the worst taste in my mouth. All in all this was easily the most disappointing dining experience of my life.

Fota Restaurant @ Fota Island Resort

colettestorey
Kildare
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st January 2009 (visited 25 October 2008)

Absolutely Fabulous. A totally enjoyable experience. A bit on the pricey side but worth it. A definite-must for sea-food lovers. Lots of sea-food on the menu. I particularly enjoyed the scallops.Both service and atmosphere were excellent. Would definitely go again.

Fota Restaurant @ Fota Island Resort

curlywurly
Cork
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th January 2009 (visited 31 December 2008)

Had the most amazing meal here on New Year's Eve. It wasn't cheap (€95 pp for a set menu) but it was out of this world. We were given a glass of champage each to start with as well as a smoked salmon and caviar canape which was a nice touch. There was a lot of seafood on the menu and it was all really fresh and delicious. Main course was a choice between halibut or beef and venison - both were perfectly cooked. There were 5 or 6 courses but there was no rush, we were there for about 3 hours in total. I would love to go back but it would have to be a very special occasion!

Fota Restaurant @ Fota Island Resort

FineWhine
Cork
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th November 2008 (visited 17 November 2008)

Had Dinner with my Wife recently, and i must say it was the most enjoyable meal we have had out this year. The food was beautifully cooked by a Chef on top of his game. The service from start to finish was efficient, unobtrusive, knowlegable. The only downside was a Wine list which doesn't match the food. Not the sommeliers fault as they are limited to one supplier. The dessert was so good we had to order another. A delight from start to finish. I'd reccomend it too any foodie looking for a treat!

Fota Restaurant @ Fota Island Resort

qualo
Galway
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th August 2008 (visited 19 July 2008)

Absolutely fab food in this top class restaurant. We had no expectations whatsoever although were a bit put off by the prices but as new parents we don't often get to eat on our own so decided to treat ourselves!! We shared a fab pork and pigeon starter and ordered the special of the night Chateaubriand medium-rare and it was cooked to perfection. Desserts were fab and finished off by good coffees. Pricey but worth it..

Copyright © 2018 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4719 ]