The Briar Rose Bistro restaurant

Douglas Road, Douglas, Cork

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:


14 reviews
3 stars - based on 14 reviews

The Briar Rose Bistro

Submit a review
The Briar Rose Bistro

loulx79517751
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 26th May 2017 (visited 24 May 2017)

Fantastic food, always good atmosphere. Great friendly staff, very welcoming :) Would definitely recommend!

The Briar Rose Bistro

jfadamus141390816
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th July 2015 (visited 5 July 2015)

Where do I start from!! Been there twice now. Customer service was appalling. The waitresses - customer service down the drain!!nFood= Horrible, Vegetables over boiled. In general food was dry and tasteless. Waitress took 15 minutes before she came down. The order took 30 minutes to arrive. Cutlery was dumped on our tables with the napkins. They refuse to do split bills for groups as it's too much inconvenience for them!! Charged for items I didn't receive and Overcharged for desserts against on the menu. Ordered a glass of wine and got a half glass!! Bones in the "Fillet of Cod". Cod tasted like it's been microwaved. Please if you are considering going in there for Lunch/Dinner STAY AWAY!!! I will happily pay money for Great Food and Service. But this place and it's management was just APPALLING!!! Now that's my rant done. However, it was necessary.

The Briar Rose Bistro

Lyndafromcork
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th June 2013 (visited 11 June 2013)

Appalling from start to finish. I have had many mediocre meals in my time but never been driven to write a review until now. Where to begin.... I asked for hot water to heat my babys food and the "waiter" who came to the table held the boiling pot over my babys head while deciding where to put it on the table. I was blown away. So poorly trained. My 3 year old had meatballs from kiddies menu but they used spicey sauce so it was burning him!!! The king prawns on my salmon were not cooked at all and the ceaser salad was horrendous, using the heal of a sliced pan for croutons and marie rose sauce.... The chef is inept and the waiting staff not trained enough to know better. Never ever again!!n

The Briar Rose Bistro

Joe Bradley
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st January 2012 (visited 30 January 2012)

Had a night out at The Briar this week, I was very pleasantly surprised at how this place has upped it's game big time in the last couple of years, and has managed to maintain the high standards, while keeping the prices unbelievably low. The quality must surely be the best in Cork, and it makes you wonder how other similar establishments can't manage to do the same. The atmosphere is great, even on a Monday night, service is with a smile, food excellent, choice of wine excellent. Overall this place is great value for money. Must try it for lunch some day, I'm sure I have a treat in store. We'll be back, all of us. And soon.

The Briar Rose Bistro

Jason R
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th October 2011 (visited 9 October 2011)

Went there with friends for dinner, could not believe the food - brilliant, we almost licked the plates! And such great value for money. Great friendly staff, great atmosphere. Eating area curtained off nicely so you're not in the bar but you get the lovely atmosphere. Everywhere so clean, great smoking deck out the front. Try the lemon sole, or the meatballs. The wine list is very reasonably priced, but the early bird is definately a steal at €20. Best value in Cork I would say. Finally somewhere great to eat that you can park outside the door, not get ripped off and leave feeling completely satisfied with ther experience. We have already booked to return.

The Briar Rose Bistro

whisper010
Tipperary
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th May 2011 (visited 14 May 2011)

Very Disappointed. Where does one begin, from the outside this place looks ok good smoking area may be its more of a bar then trying to be a restaurant as well, first we were told by a waitress that she was too busy to serve us, but when i looked at the seating area it was empty, but we did get a table after a while of just standing there waiting for some one to see us, the waitress that took our order seemed like it must be her first day ever doing this job, as for the food i dont think one could get worse ''slop on a plate'' the food is reasonably priced but if u can't eat it then its not, what a way to end a shopping trip down in cork, now that i joined menupages i will check it out next time for where to eat

The Briar Rose Bistro

Belinda
Cork
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th April 2011 (visited 8 April 2011)

Dined here with 5 others & some aspects of the food were ok while others were just unedible - like the pinapple & chilli salsa & the pepper sauce. Both were just so hot that it was impossible to contemplate having them. The atmosphere was ok but the food was just ok. Very disappointed over all.

The Briar Rose Bistro

Aoife21
Cork
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th March 2010 (visited 29 January 2010)

I had always been meaning to try here as I live near to it, however I was quite disappointed when I did visit here. I got a burger, which I expected to be homemade, however it tasted like it was out of a packet. Also, the food was not very hot. Staff were nice and the surroundings are lovely but I was not impressed by the food one bit

The Briar Rose Bistro

pj2004
Cork
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2009 (visited 8 April 2009)

Friendly staff in this busy pub means there's usually a good atmosphere during the meal. The food is very good standard pub grub; bangers and mash are delicious and the food can be very good value.

The Briar Rose Bistro

nellykelly
Cork
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th April 2009 (visited 7 April 2009)

Had carvery lunch, was tasty and a good portion served. They were busy setting up for a large booking so a lot of furniture being moved around while people were eating, but reasonable priced. Bar area serving sandwiches was packed full.

The Briar Rose Bistro

aceygray
Cork
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2008 (visited 9 December 2008)

I've been here a few times for carvery or bar food, and it's always been very nice. Good food & service, nice atmosphere. Worth a visit.

The Briar Rose Bistro

mjd

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th April 2008 (visited 1 April 2008)

Great fish and chips but the salad my friend had was only okay. Very friendly Spanish waiter and just a nice relaxed overall atmosphere. Great value for money bar food. Will try the restaurant next time.

The Briar Rose Bistro

tmnt2

26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2008 (visited 31 March 2008)

Only one word to describe the briar rose.... Awful.. Food resembles frozen burgers from the value section. The staff are rude and the service can only be described as resentful. Will not be going back

The Briar Rose Bistro

foodcravings
Cork
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th January 2008 (visited 19 January 2008)

Quality of food is excellent. Food is well cooked, lovely flavours, portions generous. Very good value for money. Service is friendly,helpful and efficient. The only complaint is that was very noisy, making it very difficult to enjoy a conversation during the meal

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4458 ]