Kudos Bar @ The Clarion restaurant

Lapps Quay, Cork City, Cork

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
International

Price Range:


32 reviews
4 stars - based on 32 reviews

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

Submit a review
Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

Lorripop
Cork
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd May 2012 (visited 21 May 2012)

Went for dinner with 2 friends on Monday evening. Place was a lot busier than expected for Monday night. Nice atmosphere - have the option of "restaurant" (more formal) tables & chairs or more relaxed couches & tables nearer the bar. We choose the more relaxed seating. We shared the starter platter - menu says for 2 but there was loads for the 3 of us. Very impressed - all items on platter were tasty. Not a massive selection on menu for main courses - yet there were a few dishes I wanted to try - all slightly different to what you'd get in normal Asian restaurant. Main dishes were presented very well and tasted every bit as good. With the relaxed seating and atmosphere - even thou we had finished dessert & tea about an hour before left - we didn't feel under pressure to leave. Would I go back - most definite.

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

tmieister
Cork
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th October 2011 (visited 30 September 2011)

Went for an early evening meal with my parents before a show. we were seated by the window facing the kitchen as its a bar to the Clarion hotel also you sometimes find groups drinking which can spoil the atmosphere slightly. we shared a platter to start which was only meant for two but had plenty for three - four to share . Main courses were all lovely and very substantial. Choice of chopsticks for the more adventurous are available as well as your regular cutlery. The only thing I would say is although the staff seemed very enthusiastic and professional it seemed very impractical to be waiting tables with a suit jacket. our waiter came very close to burning his sleeve a few times on the candle. Lovely food and will be returning soon.

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

lachlannjames
Carlow
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th August 2011 (visited 29 July 2011)

We stopped or something different and got it Fine menu Choice Great Service Good Quality Food Reasonable price and a nice dining experience overall Well worth a visit

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

mrfoodie
Cork
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th April 2011 (visited 24 March 2011)

I went to this bar for lunch and ordered a familiar dish (for the 3rd time), the 'best ever curry' at the special lunch-time price of 10e. I found the place to be reasonably quiet (ie atmosphere was poor) as I enjoyed a beautiful tasty meal. Again, I was on my own. I washed my meal down with a pint of lager. I really enjoyed this tasty dish and I hope to come back to sample a different meal in the near future. It was a fair price and it's in a great location. (Sorry - the star ratings are a bit of a mystery. Please sort it out so we know what we're supposed to be evaluating.)

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

koby
Waterford
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th March 2011 (visited 15 January 2011)

We had a really delicious thai curry and beef salad as mains for lunch. Atmosphere wise it's a modern hotel bar and hence totally lacks character. Also, being surrounded by multiple TVs with sports on while eating is one of my pet hates. However, the food was so good it wouldn't stop me from going back. Also upon leaving we noticed there's a quieter section at the back, away from the pub part and all the TVs.

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

meow
Cork
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th January 2011 (visited 11 November 2010)

I like it i had the singapore fried noodles it really was unreal so tasty i loved it i ate every bit!

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

EB
Cork
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st September 2010 (visited 13 September 2010)

Went there for lunch and was lovely. Quick service and good food which is just what you need when you have only an hour for lunch. Would definately go there again.

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

suppleturtle82
Cork
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th September 2010 (visited 5 July 2010)

really nice asian type cheap yumminess. one of the best in this end of town. no real atmos, it being a hotel bar, but its so yummy

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

Julie Lee
Cork
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2010 (visited 1 September 2010)

I was here for a quick bite a couple of weeks ago with my fiancee'. This used to be one of my regular spot but hadn't been here for a while. I must say that the food was as good as I remembered. They serve thai food here at a very resonable price and the quality is generally very good. There were a couple of times when my noodles came slightly undercooked, as if the chef was in a bit of hurry but considering the number of times I ate in this restaurant i guess things cannot alway be perfect. I would say the service is generally very good. If you are here try my favourite which is yaki soba. the portion is very generous and the ricenoodles that comes with it is delicious. Overall i think this is not a place for special occasions but for every day dining out it absolutely fine providing that you like thai food.

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

masala_thosai
Cork
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd July 2010 (visited 21 July 2010)

Went for a quick dinner with a friend. There was a early bird menu but opted for the ala carte menu. Had the Singapore Noodles, tasted ok, decent portion and quite generous with the ham and prawn. Friend had priking pork curry which was much tastier. Shared a chocolate mousse cake, it was to die for! One complain about the food is that it was too salty for my liking. Price was just right. Service was quite slow that night. Nice decor, and it's essentially a bar attached to a kitchen. Looks like a good place to hang out and have a drink.

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

claireymar
Waterford
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th July 2010 (visited 7 July 2010)

Was staying in the Clarion Hotel for work and ate in this restuarant. Food was nice, nothing amazing. Atmosphere was nice though, didnt feel awkward dining alone which is sometimes a problem in restuarants.Nice food, good service and not too expensive.

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

MAJIPAUL0727
Cork
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st July 2010 (visited 17 May 2010)

Found the food to be very reasonable. however, we visited on a lunch break from work and found that the service for a bowl of soup took execptionally long. it's a nice setting in there and we would probably try there again.

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

annasmurf
Cork
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th April 2010 (visited 24 April 2010)

I had dinner here last weekend. I found it very reasonable and the food was very tasty. I love asian food so I was very pleased with the menu. I went for the Malaysian Nasai Goreng and it was gorgeous. My boyfriend had the terrayaki and really enjoyed it too. The only negative I have and it's only a tiny one was that the large glass windows and doors on one side of the bar look out to the hotel lobby and this can be quite distracting. If you like Asian food you will definitely be happy with Kudos!

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

peppers180
Cork
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th March 2010 (visited 14 March 2010)

Oh my god! Really nice restaurant! I went with my boyfriend for our 2year anniversary and eventhough they didn't take bookings and it was mothers day as well it wasn't too busy. We came in and a really nice table just got free and we grabed it. As soon as we sat down a waiter came to clear the table and take drink orders and we also ordered a starter but weren't sure about mains yet... The starter was the platter for 2, really nice choice of their starter menu and quite alot on it too! The soy-ginger dip was delicous! After we finished the starters we went to order mains, I had 5 spiced duck and my partner had the crying tiger curry. We were told the crying tiger would be really really hot so we weren't sure but they said they could make it milder as well and thats what they did. Both dishes were delicous again and there was plenty of them as well. The waiter entertained us well with his jokes also which was a nice touch! :) I'l definitly will be back!!!

Kudos Bar @ The Clarion

stofbj
Cork
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th March 2010 (visited 7 March 2010)

Went just for a starter during lunch, the Thai Fish Cake's were disappointing. There was supposed to be a mix of cod and salmon, it looked and tasted like a tin of salmon! No sign of any white cod in it. Service was slow too.

Copyright © 2017 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4685 ]