Banna Thai restaurant

15 Maylor Street, Cork City, Cork

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Thai

Price Range:

€€

37 reviews
4 stars - based on 37 reviews

Banna Thai

Submit a review
Banna Thai

De Nada
Cork
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd March 2015 (visited 8 March 2015)

This little restaurant in Maylor street is a little gem. It has been a firm favourite over the years and I have yet to find fault in their food and service. The food tastes fantastic (the Pad Thai is to die for) and it costs very reasonable. All the staff we have encountered there are always very nice, efficient and warm. Even if the place is busy and jam packed with diners, the staff always takes care of your requests in a pleasant and friendly manner.

Banna Thai

Ripsniptious
Cork
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th November 2014 (visited 24 September 2014)

The menu has been updated with some new and exciting items, such as the Bento box. The venue itself has also had a bit of a face-lift. Though I preferred the traditional look before, I do like the fresh and cafe-like feel the new décor brings to the place. It's obvious they're trying to bring in more customers, I can appreciate that, just a shame they had to lose the restaurant feel.

Banna Thai

Mckiernan_anne

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd November 2013 (visited 2 November 2013)

overall a very good experience and staff very attentive and friendly. Limited choice of starters on the menu but good choice on main-course and good authentic taste. only recommendation is at night time would dim lights as very bright and atmosphere lost as a result . would definitely return

Banna Thai

wongos
Cork
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th June 2013 (visited 3 April 2013)

Banna Thai is a lovely Thai restaurant with a quiet and tranquil atmosphere.It is a small restaurant and perfect for an intimate dinner.They have a great value early bird menu for only 16.50,which includes a starter/dessert and main course and tea/coffee.They have a wide selection of noodle,rice and meat dishes and the Thai green curry there is delicious.Portion sizes are perfect and the staff are very friendly.They also have a lovely selection of desserts to accompany your meal.The carrot cake and chocolate cake are both delicious.Overall I would really recommend Banna Thai for a delicious Thai meal in the city.

Banna Thai

Ripsniptious
Cork
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th February 2013 (visited 14 February 2013)

Fantastic food. Lovely staff and great atmosphere. Definitely my favourite restaurant in the city.

Banna Thai

uncle fester
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th April 2011 (visited 5 February 2011)

Love going here. It's great value for money and the food is always terrific. Staff are attentive and the take-away is pretty decent too.

Banna Thai

wiggleandchew
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd March 2011 (visited 13 March 2011)

Really love this place. The food is amazing. Went here for lunch one Sunday, it opens about 12:30 and we were 2nd in the door. The restaurant started filling up very quickly - I was so surprised as I wouldn't consider Sunday lunchtime to be peak time. I'd assume everyone was there for the great value lunch menu of 9.95 for a main course plus tea/coffee. It's really good value. The food was genuinely amazing. I got a prawn thai green curry with egg fried rice. I cleaned the plate, would recommend this dish in particular to anyone. The egg fried rice is lovely, not too greasy. You can ask for your dish to be mild, spicy or hot. The restaurant itself is lovely. Only complaint is it was quite cold as the restaurant had only opened.

Banna Thai

pmclough
Cork
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th March 2011 (visited 18 February 2011)

Really nice food and very good value. Love this place. Lunch menu is great value..

Banna Thai

red123
Cork
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th January 2011 (visited 10 January 2011)

I've been to this restaurant a few times and I keep going back because the food is so good and great value. I would say it's the best Thai food in Cork and the service is really good also. They have a set menu which runs late enough most days starter+main+ tea/coffee or main+dessert+tea/coffee for €16.50! Portions are generous and the only thing I can fault really is that sometimes it can be a bit chilly in there and maybe a bit more decoration & some background Thai music to make it feel more atmospheric. But the service and food are second to none.

Banna Thai

meow
Cork
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th December 2010 (visited 26 November 2010)

I normally dont eat thai food but one day I was passing this restaurant and I wanted to try something new so I had the chicken and cashew nut stir fry. It was really nice I had to leave half of it behind as the portions here are very big! I would recommend everyone to go here and give it a go- you might surprise yourself and actually like the food!

Banna Thai

trandles
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th December 2010 (visited 27 November 2010)

This place never lets me down, whether for takeaway or eat in. Gaeng Massaman is the best on the menu. Portions for main course are very large so careful on the starters. Only drawback is the atmosphere (not the place for a romantic meal). On taste and price its not beaten among Thai Restaurants in Cork.

Banna Thai

newbie071
Cork
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th November 2010 (visited 30 October 2010)

There was a group of us ate in this restaurant and we all thoroughly enjoyed the food. We ate a combination of starters which were all excellent, in particular the spring rolls and the prawns in a blanket. For mains we had a variety of curries; the thai green curry and the red curry were both amazing. One of the group also had the pad khing which was excellent. Although the restaurant was very quiet on the night the staff were excellent. We have also ordered take-away food from this restaurant and the food was of the same quality and delivered really quickly.

Banna Thai

Julie Lee
Cork
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2010 (visited 17 August 2010)

I absolutely love this restaurant, not just because my favourite cusin is Thai. The food here is really genuine and the staff really do go the extra mile for you and are always smiley and make you feel welcome. I always go for the green curry but they do have a good choice of other curries as well. I would say thatt the place is very unpretentious, probably not a place for a very special occasion but it all depends what you are into. But i guess when I eat out the service and food is on top of my list so i would most definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Banna Thai

masala_thosai
Cork
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th September 2010 (visited 7 September 2010)

Went here for dinner after work with some friends. Had a special offer that day, free drinks with food including beer and wine. Ordered the steamed fresh sea bass with chilli and ginger, asked for mild. Fish was obviously not fresh, but the sauce tasted delicious and still quite spicy. Most dishes don't include rice. The waitress got some of the orders mixed up, gave one of us a chicken dish instead of pork and fried rice instead of boiled rice, but we didn't mind on this occasion. Had banana fritters for dessert, quite interesting. Would try this place again sometime in the future although not too impressed on this occasion.

Banna Thai

ahch84
Limerick
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th May 2010 (visited 22 May 2010)

This is my favourite restaurant. Never miss a chance whenever I'm in Cork. The decor is lovely. The staff is very friendly & nice. I love the tom yum soup starter they have here, and my favourite main dish would spicy prawn pad thai noodles. I never disappointed whenever I come, they really work hard to keep the good standard. I would recommend them to my friends, & certainly come back here again.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4769 ]