The Bistro @ Carrigaline Court Hotel restaurant

Carrigaline, Co Cork, Carrigaline, Cork

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€

11 reviews
3 stars - based on 11 reviews

The Bistro @ Carrigaline Court Hotel

Submit a review
The Bistro @ Carrigaline Court Hotel

AmuseBouche
Cork
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th March 2012 (visited 1 February 2012)

There's a reason why I tend not to eat in Hotel Restaurants - and this place is it. A beautiful dining room, well-trained staff, a menu designed to appeal to everyone (and consequently appeals to no-one) and food that is well presented but tastes average. I had a soup (so average I can't remember what it was), smoked haddock poached in court bouillon with a poached egg (a nice piece of fish, but the egg was poached HARD - the only slightly tricky bit of the dish the chef got wrong) and a chocolate tart type thing (which is what I order only if there is nothing more interesting on the menu). Herself had a spicy prawn dish to start (hard to go wrong with lots of garlic and chilli) and a veggie pasta thing (hey guys, lets come up with the most boring veggie alternative on the planet). Service was pretty good. The restaurant was quiet enough, although it was mid-week. We went there on a special offer. No way would I pay full price for a dinner here.

The Bistro @ Carrigaline Court Hotel

EB
Cork
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th January 2011 (visited 31 December 2010)

We went here for dinner on new years eve with my husband and there was a set menu. I think €35 pp for 3 courses. It was busy there and the atmoshere is good. However the food wasn't that nice and a bit disappointing. Seeing as it was a set menu it was like the food was mass made and almost reheated and thrown out!! We both had a chicken and ham volez-vont to start and this was ok but the ham was a bit on the fatty side which is a big no no for both of us. For main I had pork steak and vegetables and the meat was a bit hard and pieces were unedible. My husband had the steak and was less then impressed. The vegetables had a taste of reheating from them. for dessert I had a apple strudle which was lack lustre in pastry and I could have made better myself. My husband had trio of chocolate mousse and this was very bland. Very dissapointed over all and I must say I dont think we'll be going back there any time soon unfortunately.

The Bistro @ Carrigaline Court Hotel

trendychick
Cork
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th May 2010 (visited 15 May 2010)

I visited the restaurant on Saturday 15th May and the food was great. Excellent value for very good quality food, the restaurant is decorated very nicely, comfortable eating atmosphere and it was busy also which is a positive. the only down side to the evening was the service - it was polite but very slow and I ordered a coffee which never appeared. we had to wait a bit too long for the plates to be cleared away and to bring the bill etc - there was no delay in waiting for the order to be taken so the approach is a bit unbalanced however overall it was a good experience and I would certainly return.

The Bistro @ Carrigaline Court Hotel

JJcork
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th March 2010 (visited 3 March 2010)

An excellent example of the early bird. I had the pleasure of eating from the early bird menu last week. The room was bustling and the atmosphere was fantastic. From the minute we were seated I knew the service would be excellent. We were served by two young men, both were helpful and efficient and we made sure to tip them both for the great service. I went with the brie to start which was institutional but perfectly executed and came with a refreshing basil salad. My friend had the vol au vents - chicken and mushroom I think - which looked and apparently tasted fantastic. We shared a lovely sparkling white to start which was recommended by one of the servers. For mains we both had the salmon which was absolutely divine. It was served with a trio of seasonal veg which weren't listed on the menu but were fantastic - no complaints. Had another recommended red with the dinner whose name escapes me but it was around the €19 mark. The total excluding the extra bottles of wine and two beautiful mochas was €40, unbeatable value in Carrigaline. We spent a leisurely 2 hours and were not rushed or stared down. Will be back.

The Bistro @ Carrigaline Court Hotel

Stfinbarrs
Cork
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th March 2010 (visited 5 March 2010)

I went here for Early Bird on Friday night with my husband. Really good value for €20 for 2 course or €25 for 3 course including tea/coffee (Fri & Sat 6-7pm). We opted for 2 course, menu really good choice, we got chicken & mushroom vol vents for starters absol gorg, and I got stir fry and husband got chicken dish, both dishes gorg. Waitress really pleasant. It was quiet but nice & realxing. we are def going to go for early bird again as came to only €40 which is superb value.

The Bistro @ Carrigaline Court Hotel

numnum
Limerick
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th April 2009 (visited 16 April 2009)

Ate here one evening during a two night stay at the hotel. Nice choice on the menu and good choices for kids too. Thought it was on the pricey side but there is a nice atmosphere there and the service was very good too.

The Bistro @ Carrigaline Court Hotel

Trees
Dublin
64 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st December 2008 (visited 28 November 2008)

Stayed here the weekend and ate in the Bistro. It was a really nice place, nice and intimate, staff were lovely and very friendly some more so than others.. had the Warm Chicken & Bacon Salad Accompanied With Rustic Potatoes and Tossed in our House Dressing to start, was tasty very nice but i seen no bacon in it. Had the steak for main and it was cooked to perfection, dead tasty. Stuffed so we skipped on the dessert. They have a very good wine menu here and reasonably priced.. Will go back again..

The Bistro @ Carrigaline Court Hotel

Diarmuidmurphy
Cork
71 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd August 2009 (visited 25 July 2009)

Food still good here, pity now as a hotel restaurant it only opened now 2 nights a week. Poor reflection, the bar maybe opened for food but not the same, prices not even refelcting this

The Bistro @ Carrigaline Court Hotel

alsam
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th September 2008 (visited 18 September 2008)

I visit the area and use this hotel frequently , The qualiy of food and service are excellant and the recent menu change was well overdue and a great choice again , The Sausage main was delicious and the choice of wine by the glass is great .

The Bistro @ Carrigaline Court Hotel

karenf1812
Meath
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th November 2008 (visited 25 October 2008)

I had considered this a great option if you're en route to Ringaskiddy for a ferry - it's very close by. However, on a recent return visit, we found the food to be undercooked and overpriced. My sister described it as bad school food. My husbands undercooked sausages were 'fatty' and my daughter, age 3, just didn't eat hers. Very disappointed. My meal repeated for quite some hours afterwards, and on this occasion, that wasn't a good thing.

The Bistro @ Carrigaline Court Hotel

yumtum
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th April 2008 (visited 11 April 2008)

As part of our weekend package we had dinner in the Bistro included. We werent expecting much as generally hotel food in Ireland isnt great, but the 3 of us were pleasantly surprised. We had starter & main courses - as the portions were so big we couldnt fit dessert in! The service was a little bit grumpy to begin with, but quick & efficient. All very happy with our starters - 2 had a chicken salad which was really tasty. We all had the steak for our main course and although it was ever so slightly overdone, it was very tasty and still quite tender. Mains came with chips, mashed potatoes, roast potato & veg - no possible way that 3 adults could eat so much. We had coffee to finish up and took the 2nd bottle of wine into the hotel bar to finish off. For hotel food it was of quite good standard and we all got up happy and full from the table. If I was staying in Carrigaline again, I'd eat in the Bistro (we also had bar food in the main bar on Saturday afternoon and the portions again were huge and tasty).

Copyright © 2017 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4635 ]