The Old Bake House (Clare) restaurant

Main Street, Milltown Malbay, Clare

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:


8 reviews
5 stars - based on 8 reviews

The Old Bake House (Clare)

Submit a review
The Old Bake House (Clare)

Slurryhead
Dublin
46 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th October 2014 (visited 22 September 2014)

My wife and I ate here late on a Monday night. The food was excellent and the friendliness of the staff was matching. We shared a seafood starter which was more than adequate. We had scallops and hake as main courses plus all the trimmings and we finished off with an excellent Sticky toffee pudding. All was washed down with craft beer and the well priced house wine. A crying baby guest upset the ambience until the restaurant owner took the infant under her wing and mollified the child where the mother could not. Well done Mrs Bakehouse. We will definitely be back.

The Old Bake House (Clare)

Catcatcat
Limerick
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd July 2013 (visited 18 July 2013)

We have been here several times and I just love this restaurant. The food and service are always excellent. I cannot fault anything there. Last time I had the chowder which is one of the best around and a lovely salmon. Great little restaurant. Good value for money.

The Old Bake House (Clare)

Mona
Galway
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd November 2011 (visited 29 October 2011)

Staying in the local area, this restaurant had been recommended and resulted in a very mixed bag! The starters included prawn cocktail, pate and chowder and didn't disappoint. However the mains had yet to appear. Three of the four went for hake with mussels and prawns. I'm not sure if the fish was hake but it definitely wasn't fresh. It came swimming in a bland tomato sauce with very few mussels and less prawns thrown in. The steak was enjoyed a little more but the chips that accompanied it had to be sent back at they were undercooked. The side salads consisted of two lettuce leave, a tomato and a few slithers of pepper. After a marathon wait, the staff took our order for dessert. Three fine sweets were produced but the irish coffee was like dish-water. Not an overly busy night, lacking atmosphere. The staff were on the ball but slackened as the evening prevailed. Not the cheapest of places but okay for what we had. I won't be rushing back.

The Old Bake House (Clare)

Shelly86
Limerick
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th June 2011 (visited 11 June 2011)

Had dinner here, atmosphere, staff and food was fantastic. I would definitely eat here again.

The Old Bake House (Clare)

cleveland
Limerick
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th March 2011 (visited 26 February 2011)

Had lunch there last saturday was a very enjoyable meal. Had supreme chicken with peppercorn sauce. It is a fantastic cosy resturant in the west of ireland. Nice staff very friendly and I would go back again soon. THANKS KEVIN.

The Old Bake House (Clare)

travel
Wexford
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th September 2010 (visited 10 September 2010)

The Old Bake House in Milltown Malbay, is a treasure of a find. I visited there on Friday last for lunch, lovely atmosphere, spotlessly clean, the dinner menu on the board seems delightful, also a good selection of wines on the board, and wine by the glass. For starters I had Pork Spare Ribs in spicy Barbeque Sauce, a generous portion, so tender absolutely to die for. For mains I had Fresh Fillet of cod with Chips and salad, and dessert of Parfritter rolls, Yum followed by coffee. I couldn’t fault this restaurant; the waiter was very attentative and extremely pleasant. So well done, I will be back again on my next visit to Clare

The Old Bake House (Clare)

louvee
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th July 2010 (visited 9 July 2010)

love the bakehouse. went there three times over the willie clancy festival. easily the nicest place in miltown! had the pork ribs and chicken korma one night, crab salad and medallions of beef the other and finally the lamb kebab and salmon on the last night. each dish was gorgeous. as for the staff.. they were brill! :)

The Old Bake House (Clare)

Grogsy
Galway
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th July 2010 (visited 12 June 2010)

This place is easily the best in Miltown Malbay and its immediate surroundings for a casual meal. The food is always good. I would personally recommend the Indian lamb kebab starter and the ratatouille main meal. They are both fab! I've never eaten here at night (just for lunch), but there is a selection of wines and meals written up on the wall that make it sound like it would be equally great for dinner. I highly recommend it.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4527 ]