The Egg Cafe (Avoca Rathcoole) restaurant

Naas Road, Rathcoole, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 22

View on Map

Book a Table Online

Cuisine:

Price Range:


58 reviews

The Egg Cafe (Avoca Rathcoole)

Submit a review

ashortt
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:36%

Reviewed 09th April 2014 (visited 29 March 2014)

We have been going to Avoca for breakfast for months ... so much that the staff know us well and don't need our order ... recently we found that they appear to be cutting corners ... scones are now smaller and recipe seems different, no cream or berries with scone ... we decided this week to try somewhere new ... they have possibly lost us as regular customers.

eileenbrennan

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 11th November 2013 (visited 10 November 2013)

All four of us enjoyed our lunch, we will be returning very soon. Each member of staff we met were friendly and very helpful. Thank you

thedubs
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:38%

Reviewed 05th November 2013 (visited 2 November 2013)

Wow good wholesome organic Fare.A bit pricey but worth the feel good factor.Try the chowder and the chips delicious!

murodea
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 24th October 2013 (visited 20 October 2013)

We went for a friend's birthday and had a fantastic meal. Each one of us had a different item off the menu and not one of us had a bad thing to say. Maybe a little on the pricey side for lunch - maybe, but it was worth every cent!

ashortt
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:36%

Reviewed 02nd October 2013 (visited 28 September 2013)

Love this place - we go most weekends - sometimes twice over the weekend ... food, staff, atmosphere is all excellent ... location is pretty too... we just keep going back. Love the scones, bread, breakfast ... staff are so nice and friendly ... you never feel rushed. Love it!

romarnane

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 06th February 2013 (visited 5 February 2013)

very enjoyable..

judytsoi
Dublin
53 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 19th September 2012 (visited 1 September 2012)

Although I love Avoca's food, I do believe that it is too expensive. I feel that they should lower their prices. The food is good quality - nice comfort food and very wholesome. The service is pretty hasty because the staff working behind the counters are, most of the time, under pressure and rushed off their feet. This particular Avoca cafe is not one of my favourites as I find the atmosphere is very canteen like. The big open space dining area is very noisy and echoey and doesn't make for relaxing dining.

McTavish
Dublin
56 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:90%

Reviewed 21st May 2012 (visited 20 May 2012)

Four of us had lunch here at the weekend which consisted of soup for two and calamari for two. Mains were antipasti again for two, one burger and pasta of the day. Everyone had desserts, three ice cream with shortbread (and choc flake) and one mousse. I had forgotten how enormous the portions are here and I should have left out the starter, but saying that the food was delicious and no one had any complaints in that department. Service is excellent and just happens the way it should without even noticing it. The atmosphere is lovely here with a great buzz in the place with families out celebrating, and someone will always have a birthday so that gives a nice happy touch. Two of us shared a bottle of house red Tempranillo. Prices are mid range and I think taking everything into consideration it is not overpriced for what you get.

sallythesnail
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:98%

Reviewed 21st December 2011 (visited 21 December 2011)

Got the fish pie here today and it was absolutely enormous. Was stuffed! Loads of fish in it and it was good. The room is beautiful, a lovely place to sit and look out at the trees.

Snugglemuffin
Meath
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:36%

Reviewed 07th July 2011 (visited 19 June 2011)

The atmosphere in the egg cafe depends on how busy it is when we went it was very quiet as it is a large room. But it is relaxed and informal. Staff are friendly and attentive. We were seated quickly the room is big and open and nicely interior considering it is a cafe at the top of a large store. There are cook books dotted around the place that you can flick through while waiting on your food which is a nice touch. I much prefer the egg cafe to the canteen style cafe across the hall. It has waiter service; the menu is lovely for lunch. Both our dishes were really good quality and tasty. Anytime I have eaten in Avoca I would find it hard to fault the food - prices are mid range but are reflected in the quality and flavours. And I love their chips and I am not a fast food lover. The extras like mini ketchup's in a jar etc separate Avoca from other cafes. This is definitely one for the girls with offers on Prosecco when we were there. Although my boyfriend loved it too - portions sizes also big so you’re sure to be full.

Copyright © 2014 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.9060 ]