Village Cafe restaurant

170 Rathmines Road Lower, Rathmines, Rathmines, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 6

Dublin 6

View on Map

Book a Table Online

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

60 reviews
4 stars - based on 60 reviews

Village Cafe

Submit a review
Village Cafe

LoveBanoffee
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 20th July 2015 (visited 18 July 2015)

Had dinner at an outside table here recently, it's one of the few places in this area where it's possible to dine al fresco. The service was excellent, the staff are very friendly. The food was also excellent, really fresh and came out piping hot. Would highly recommend this restaurant and will try the brunch there soon!

Village Cafe

maevemnolan

4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:20%

Reviewed 06th April 2015 (visited 4 April 2015)

Nice place, good service but food was not 'brunchy' enough - more like lunch than brunch! Good neighbourhood place.

Village Cafe

finflynn
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 28th March 2015 (visited 27 March 2015)

Delightful meal, wonderful service and great value for money. I had the artisan bread with olives and it was beyond delicious! Main course was steak (a little bit grizly but delicious) and dauphinoise potatoes. All in all, a great meal.

Village Cafe

carmentracey1
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 27th March 2015 (visited 26 March 2015)

Really lovely restaurant, food was fantastic and service was friendly and efficicent Will be back

Village Cafe

noon
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:32%

Reviewed 19th February 2015 (visited 16 February 2015)

Excellent value for money and delicious food! Will definitely be back, great to see it open again.

Restaurant response:
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Village Café team

Village Cafe

rosebud
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:42%

Reviewed 16th February 2015 (visited 15 February 2015)

Went for a beautiful meal here tonight with my 3 friends. Couldn't fault a thing! Used to come here and lot a few years ago and arrived one day to find it closed, so when we heard it was open again we were delighted to try it! Had Dublin bay prawns in garlic to start. Gorgeous. The prawns were in their shells but had been split in half to make eating easier. I had the ribeye steak for my main. It was cooked to perfection and so juicy, the bernaise sauce was excellent and so we're the accompanying vegetables, crunchy! The wine was great but the price was even better. We availed of the early bird offer so it was 22.50 for two courses, and no supplement for steak! Amazing!!! Will definitely be returning!

Restaurant response:
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Village Café team

Village Cafe

HungryHungryHippos
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:70%

Reviewed 16th February 2015 (visited 15 February 2015)

We had brunch, was very impressed with the brunch menu. Delicious food, promptly served and some excellent coffee. We also really enjoyed the music that we were listening to. Had a bit of difficulty getting condiments (pepper/ketchup) but apart from that was a very good experience

Restaurant response:
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We're looking into the condiments issue and will try and ensure we are more efficient on that side of things. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Village Café team

Village Cafe

janedoyle
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 13th February 2015 (visited 13 February 2015)

Wow what a welcome! Once again the food was fabulous. Service brilliant. Well done! Only a week since we were there last and were delighted to go back. See you very soon again. Definitely a restaurant to visit for superb food and service

Restaurant response:
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Village Café team

Village Cafe

magshogan
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 13th February 2015 (visited 12 February 2015)

We had such a lovely dining experience, although there were only three of us we were given the biggest table in the house, the wine was delicious, a really interesting menu, the cauliflower fondant was delicious as was the mushroom soup, all three main courses were of a really high standard, lovely ambiance and fantastic service, we'll definitely be back

Restaurant response:
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Village Café team

Village Cafe

janedoyle
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 12th February 2015 (visited 6 February 2015)

Superb simply A1 - beats a lot of the top restaurants and hotels. Fabulous food and fantastic staff. Only suggestion - would have liked it to be a bit warmer - maybe turn on the little stove, if it works. Only went last week and have booked again for this weekend. this speaks for itself

Restaurant response:
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Our stove is broken at the moment (bad timing over Winter eh!) but we'll make sure we have a much warmer restaurant in Winter 2015. Watch this space for our new outdoor heaters :) We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Village Café team

Village Cafe

Aidan_mccauley

4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:20%

Reviewed 01st February 2015 (visited 31 January 2015)

Great service, made feel very welcome by the hostess, food was top notch and plenty of it! We got the big table which was great for the group we had. 5*

Restaurant response:
Hi Aidan, Thank-you very much for the positive review, we're delighted to hear that you had a good experience and hopefully we'll see you again. Village Café team!

Village Cafe

bread and water
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 06th November 2012 (visited 27 October 2012)

I've dined here in the evening probably 6 times over the last two years and have always enjoyed the experience. The most outstanding quality of the restaurant is its staff and their service. The restaurant itself is small and the diners tend to be mostly couples. This is not surprising as the setting and atmosphere are both relaxing and romantic. The dinner menu is lovely with good variety and I've never been disappointed with any of the selections I've chosen. Taste, presentation and quantity of the portions were of very good standard. I would say don't sit too close to the door on a cold night as there can be a chilly breeze each time it opens and opt to sit away from the stove as it can get too hot here.

Village Cafe

Latvid
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 01st October 2012 (visited 14 August 2012)

The first time I went here I was not happy at all and after looking at the menu and experiencing the arrogance of the waiter myself and my friend actually decided to leave. It took me months to be convinced to go back but I must say that I am happy I did. We went for a birthday dinner, a small group of 5. We had a couple of bottles of wine, and the earlybird menu. The staff, this time were beyond polite and obliging and were always conscious of the table being looked after. The food was delicious. I had the pate to start and the chicken as a main. It was all very good, the wine was just the house wine but didn't have that bitter aftertaste that frequently comes with the cheaper wine on the menu. All in all, I am eager to eat my words from my first visit and I would certainly go back for seconds!

Village Cafe

blueberrymuffin
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd August 2012 (visited 18 August 2012)

Went here for the first time ina while on Saturday. Was a lovely evening so we sat outside. For starter i had the pate and my partner had the fig's. Both were amazing and really good portion size, the waiter even offered more bread for my pate, which was nice as you usually have to ask in most places. For main as we were quiet full after our starter's we shared the steak with a side of chips. Also amazing. Really happy over all with the experience and value and the staff were also very welcoming.

Village Cafe

allenl
Dublin
51 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 08th May 2012 (visited 4 May 2012)

One word - superb. Ate here with a friend on Fri night - my first visit. Had been highly recommended by a colleague at work. The interior is very deceptive if viewing it from the road. Very nicely laid out with alcoves which had stove style burners. Staff friendly and professional. For starters I had fresh figs wrapped in parma ham with a blue cheese dressing, followed by a delicious home made burger served with roasted red peppers and divine chunky chips. My friend had bruschetta with asparagus, then fresh cod wrapped in serrano ham on a bed of warm veg. 3 red & 3 white wines served by the glass - and a good wine list. Sambucas on the house finished off the best meal I've had in a very long time. Early Bird served from 6-8pm. In the heart of Rathmines so easy to get to. Cannot wait to return.

Copyright © 2015 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4222 ]