Village Cafe restaurant

170 Rathmines Road Lower, Rathmines, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 6

View on Map

Book a Table Online

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:


49 reviews

Village Cafe

Submit a review

bread and water
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 06th November 2012 (visited 27 October 2012)

I've dined here in the evening probably 6 times over the last two years and have always enjoyed the experience. The most outstanding quality of the restaurant is its staff and their service. The restaurant itself is small and the diners tend to be mostly couples. This is not surprising as the setting and atmosphere are both relaxing and romantic. The dinner menu is lovely with good variety and I've never been disappointed with any of the selections I've chosen. Taste, presentation and quantity of the portions were of very good standard. I would say don't sit too close to the door on a cold night as there can be a chilly breeze each time it opens and opt to sit away from the stove as it can get too hot here.

Latvid
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 01st October 2012 (visited 14 August 2012)

The first time I went here I was not happy at all and after looking at the menu and experiencing the arrogance of the waiter myself and my friend actually decided to leave. It took me months to be convinced to go back but I must say that I am happy I did. We went for a birthday dinner, a small group of 5. We had a couple of bottles of wine, and the earlybird menu. The staff, this time were beyond polite and obliging and were always conscious of the table being looked after. The food was delicious. I had the pate to start and the chicken as a main. It was all very good, the wine was just the house wine but didn't have that bitter aftertaste that frequently comes with the cheaper wine on the menu. All in all, I am eager to eat my words from my first visit and I would certainly go back for seconds!

blueberrymuffin
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd August 2012 (visited 18 August 2012)

Went here for the first time ina while on Saturday. Was a lovely evening so we sat outside. For starter i had the pate and my partner had the fig's. Both were amazing and really good portion size, the waiter even offered more bread for my pate, which was nice as you usually have to ask in most places. For main as we were quiet full after our starter's we shared the steak with a side of chips. Also amazing. Really happy over all with the experience and value and the staff were also very welcoming.

allenl
Dublin
47 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 08th May 2012 (visited 4 May 2012)

One word - superb. Ate here with a friend on Fri night - my first visit. Had been highly recommended by a colleague at work. The interior is very deceptive if viewing it from the road. Very nicely laid out with alcoves which had stove style burners. Staff friendly and professional. For starters I had fresh figs wrapped in parma ham with a blue cheese dressing, followed by a delicious home made burger served with roasted red peppers and divine chunky chips. My friend had bruschetta with asparagus, then fresh cod wrapped in serrano ham on a bed of warm veg. 3 red & 3 white wines served by the glass - and a good wine list. Sambucas on the house finished off the best meal I've had in a very long time. Early Bird served from 6-8pm. In the heart of Rathmines so easy to get to. Cannot wait to return.

blueberrymuffin
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th April 2012 (visited 8 March 2012)

Have been to the village many times for brunch, lunch and dinner and always enjoy. The food is always fresh and very tasty, I've always left a clean plate. Also the wine selection is good quality and value. The Early Bird menu is great value and I like that they change the menu every few months, although getting rid of the pate as a starter was a big disappointment for me! The atmosphere is relaxed and casual. However sitting by the door is not a great option, can be quiet cold and the service is very slow, some staff slower and less friendly than others. Have waited a half hour for brunch at a very quiet time, also had only ordered granola!

Vixen
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:15%

Reviewed 13th March 2012 (visited 9 March 2012)

Went to Village Cafe on Friday night recently for early bird with 3 friends. It was enjoyed by all - 4 clean plates. Two had the steak and said it was the best steak they had in a long time. I tried the Pan fried King Prawn tagliatelle - delicious. The remaining diner had the Chicken Chorizo and Red Pepper Risotto - enjoyed immensely. We followed up with desserts - two apple and cinnamon pie, one white chocolate parfait and one brownie - four clean plates again. The Spanish white wine was lovely and fruity too. The staff were very pleasant and attentive. Only gripe and it’s a small one – the toilet could have been tidier and cleaner but all in all a very enjoyable evening and certainly value for money

noige
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 25th February 2012 (visited 22 February 2012)

The Village Cafe isn't that obvious as you walk through Rathmines, and from the road it looks more like a kind of rough and ready place to grab something quick to eat, but appearances can be deceptive. Two of us visited and came away very impressed. We started with the Portobello mushrooms and the chicken, leek and ham terrine, and both were very tasty indeed. A great start. These were followed by chicken supreme with cranberry and gorgonzola and the chicken, chorizo and red pepper risotto and again both were very good, the risotta particularly so. We finished with the raspberry & cream cheese chocolate brownie with ice cream (which sounds like four deserts in one) and the vodka and vanilla pannacotta. We couldn't find any raspberry of any description on the brownie dessert, but it was still delicious. The panna cotta was out of this world-simply one of the nicest desserts I've ever had. A really really nice finish to a meal. Service was very good and the decor was lovely (although it's hard to judge atmosphere as we ate early and there weren't many there). I particularly liked the view out the front door. It's worth mentioning, though, that if you end up on one of the bench-type seats on either side of the fireplace, ask for a cushion. The bottom part is a hard wooden church-like bench and apparently it got quite uncomfortable after a while. All the stand-alone chairs are padded so I don't know why the benches aren't. The food is the star in the Village Cafe though, which is as it should be. Highly recommended.

tiffin
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 06th February 2012 (visited 1 February 2012)

We went there as a large group, having cleared that with them in good time. We agreed to work with a simplified menu to make things easier for them. Given all that it was very surprising how long it took to have them begin to pay attention to us. Ages after the menu was handed out I was still trying to find out what the special was! I ordered the salad with halloumi which I've had there once before and really enjoyed. That night it was underdressed (and I don't like much dressing) and the halloumi was tough like it had been cooked and then re-warmed. My main course was fine. Overall the food was adequate, really. My main complaint was the service which was lackadaisical. and then the incident..Our table was pushed close to the wall (next to the stove) to help them pass by and my son had hung his jacket on his chair and left his backpack on the floor. The stove has a sort of flue with very focussed hot air coming out from underneath. I smellt melted plastic and found the backpack was burning hot as was the chair back and the boys jacket, and the zip was melted. When the meal was over, I went to talk to the head waiter- he refused to respond said that there was no heat coming from the stove and was just arrogant! so here we are a new warm jacket which cost some €40 that no longer works. Just so you know- it could be an expensive dinner!

debz
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:32%

Reviewed 14th January 2012 (visited 7 January 2012)

Went here for brunch and I have to say I was very impressed. The place was close to full but it wasn't too loud and there was a nice buzz about the place. I wouldn't call this place cheap but I think they do the nicest fry in all of Dublin. The service could have been a bit better. I ordered a drink and it came at the end of my meal, but the staff were very pleasant. But it was the food that made this place for me and I will definitely go back.,

wiggles
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 27th November 2011 (visited 26 November 2011)

I had been here a few times for coffee before and drooled over the menu so finally tried it out for dinner. For a Saturday night, the restaurant was very quiet which meant that there wasn't much of an atmosphere but I suppose that is a sign of the times, rather than anything specifically to do with the Village Cafe. The waiting staff were really top notch, I had informed them about special dietary requirements in our group and when we arrived our waiter had already gone through the whole menu with the chef to see what would be suitable for us. We were served by two different waiters while we were there and they were both friendly, efficient and helpful, without being overbearing. The food itself was really tasty, quite heavy but presented nicely and very good value for the quality and the size of the portions. The stuffed mushroom starter was particularly nice. There were a few interesting options for vegetarians as well, not just the usual fare. Will definitely be back.

Copyright © 2014 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4005 ]