Dakshin restaurant

22 Donnybrook Road, Donnybrook, Donnybrook, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

View on Map

Book a Table Online

Cuisine:
Indian

Price Range:


15 reviews

Dakshin

Submit a review

I<3Food
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:27%

Reviewed 02nd February 2012 (visited 16 November 2011)

I went here with my friend as I had a Living Social voucher that was about to run out! For starter I got a spicy prawn dish with watermelon and my friend got potato cakes. I was pleasantly shocked when I saw these massive prawns which also tasted amazing appear! For the main my friend who being a vegetarian ordered a cottage cheese dish which she thought was lovely! Being a meat eater myself I went for the house meat special which meant I got 4 different ramekins of different curries with lamb, beef, prawns and chicken. It was delicious! The staff were also very friendly keeping our water topped up throughout as well as our wine glasses. Being on a voucher all we had to pay for was our extra wine but I would definitely go back to eat there at full price as the food and the atmosphere were both great!

allenl
Dublin
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:58%

Reviewed 23rd August 2011 (visited 19 August 2011)

1st time here last Fri evening. Layout of restaurant really nice - plenty of space between tables and staff friendly and efficient. Food divine - nicest Indian I've ever had. Poppadoms served on arrival with lovely sauces - really crispy and fresh as they should be. Opted for selection starter - king prawn, potato cake, tiny minced lamb kebab & piece of chicken tikka - all delicious & served with individual sauce. Main prawn dish had at least 8 jumbo prawns. My friend's chicken tikka on the bone was beautifully presented and full of flavour. The place was packed - not surprised - I'll definitely be back.

Lumiukko
Dublin
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th August 2011 (visited 14 August 2011)

We enjoyed our dinner here last night redeeming our voucher, and really enjoyed our visit. The decoration of the restaurant was very nice, and airy, meaning the tables are not "piled up over each other". We did not use the bar services, but it sure looked very inviting, as well. Then to the best part of the visit: excellent food. I had a platter, which had prawn, lamb, chicken and vegetarian teaser, and everything was delicious. My wife had prawns, and that was a set of three huge juicy, flavoursome prawns. As mains we had seabass and lamb, and both were some best Indian dishes we have ever had. As side dish, we had long rolled up pancake-thin bread called dosa, which was absolutely delicious! Friendly, attentive staff, excellent food, and very pleasant atmosphere. We can strongly recommend Dakshin to anyone.

sarahk
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:64%

Reviewed 29th July 2011 (visited 28 July 2011)

I enjoyed my dinner here last night so much I just had to write a review straight away. I didn't know what to expect going up the stairs above Kielys in Donnybrook, but was pleasantly surprised by the airy, tastefully decorated restaurant, with a trendy looking bar area. The big winner here is the food. I had a tandoori prawn dish to start with four huge juicy, flavoursome prawns. The main course was one of the best Indian dishes I've ever had. I was presented with a plate of rice and a piece of chicken. Confused, I wondered if I'd ordered the wrong thing. Then a long dish with four separate bowels arrived. The four dishes, with different sauces, which I didn't catch the name of, were chicken, lentils, prawns and lamb. My favourite part was the long rolled up pancake-thin bread called dosa. The waiter explained that this is a traditional bread made of rice and lentils that is eaten every day in India. Absolutely delicious! Friendly, interesting staff, a pleasant atmosphere (only lacking a few more customers) and really excellent food - I can't wait to go back.

paddyfoodie
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:9%

Reviewed 11th June 2011 (visited 9 June 2011)

This is one of my favourite restaurants. I have eaten here numerous times and have never been dissapointed. The menu is great, every dish is lovely, great atmosphere and the toilets are lovely. The location is good, there is a car park nearby, but it is upstairs above a pub so it can be hard to find. Try early bird two course for 18 euro. Well Worth a visit. I would reccomend it to everyone.

gautam.nitin99
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:91%

Reviewed 08th June 2011 (visited 6 June 2011)

Very ordinary, Nothing too exciting. Dining room looks nice, Decor is calm, Wall hangings a bit out of place and not to mention the smell of chips and vinegar at the stairs..little off-putting. We ordered our food and was looking forward to it. Kurkure murgh was Overdone Chicken Pakoras, Potato cakes were nice, beetroot kachdi was good but i thought it was served with chicken starter but was with potato cakes. We ordered few sides and asked if black lentils were on the menu today, waitress advised she will check and let us know but she never returned. Food tasted ordinary, Lentils were nice and Madrasi Aloo lacked a bit of madrasiness as they were laced in tomatoes. Our chilli naan arrived when we have finished our mains but we did get a rice which we never ordered. Our water was topped up more times than wine. Chef sent a Dosa as compliments to taste but it was too late as we had finished our mains but Thank You Very Much for the gesture. For us Daksin did lack a lot of excitement and flair. menu prices seemed reasonable enough though. Disappointed but will try it sometime again in future

duffman1
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:14%

Reviewed 25th May 2011 (visited 19 May 2011)

This was my second time in Dakshin. The restaraunt was busier than my first time there,quite busy even for a tuesday night. Staff were friendly on arrival and we were given a nice table by the window. We shared a mixed platter between 3 people and were treated to the nicest,softest prawns to ever pass my lips! I had the Biryani which was possibly the best of my life,very generous portion,spiced to perfection and served with a delicious sauce. We were given a complimentary drink after our meal which was thoughtful...In conclusion great food,great service and great surroundings. Will defo be back.

Argot
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:95%

Reviewed 17th May 2011 (visited 22 March 2011)

3rd time to eat here and brought 'discerning foodie' visitors from NYC. Relieved to have somewhere completely fail safe to go where I could depend on the wow factor! It was outstanding. Just such polished and friendly service, the staff remembered me - or were very good at making me feel like they did! :-) The atmosphere was great - there was no recession THAT night! A complimentary pre-starter cocktail and off we launched into a delightful taste experience. The Dakshin Platter is a great way to enjoy the variety offered on the starter menu (But OH the Chicken 65!!) and the Nariyal erichi varuval (Lamb) , Nadaan beef, Seabass and Alleppey prawn curry were each delicious in the extreme. My mouth felt like it'd been in an Art Gallery! Already eager for my next visit!

cbuc8299
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:86%

Reviewed 21st April 2011 (visited 20 April 2011)

Never go to Dakshin peckish. You need to be ravenous! Not because it's bad but because it's incredibly rich and plentiful. I wasn't blown away by my mates scallops (a little on the rubbery side) but wow were my prawns a sight to behold! Beautifully butterflied and spiced with smatterings of watermelon and mango. I opted for the dosa for main - a hankering I'd had since my last visit to Nepal. I could have fed my family on this course! Aside from a massive (slightly oily) dosa (crispy crepe made with ground rice and lentils) there was rice, chicken masala, bengali prawn curry, lamb madras and spiced lentils. It killed me that I couldn't finish it...

Eamon07
Dublin
91 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:95%

Reviewed 07th March 2011 (visited 6 March 2011)

Visited Dakshin for the first time yesterday! First impressions was that the restaurant was nice+cosy. Staff were also very pleasant on arrival. We decided to share all our orders as there was so much stuff we liked on the menu. For starters we ordered the lamb cutlets and the marinated chicken, both were very nice. And for mains we ordered the lamb biryani, keema mutter and chicken kadai. I must say the lamb biryani and keema mutter were very good! All topped off with a bottle of red and a delicious chocolate pudding for my birthday. A great evening, we will be back Dakshin!

Copyright © 2014 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.7619 ]