The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar restaurant

53 Shelbourne Road, Dublin 4, Ballsbridge, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
French

Price Range:

€€

54 reviews
4 stars - based on 54 reviews

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

Submit a review
The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

discobabe

55 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th May 2010 (visited 8 May 2010)

Went with friends for a bottle of wine and a few nibbles last Saturday. We had the least expensive red on the menu, a Bordeaux Red for 19.50 and it was just devine!! Would go back there for the wine alone. We had a chesse place to share at 13.95, and a fish plate to share at i think 12.50. The food was absolutely delicious but the portions labelled as 'to share' I thought were quite small for the price. The menu is definitely limited (seems to be mostly fois gras dishes) but what I tasted was very nice so I would definitely come back to try something else, and for nothing else but to laze about on a Saturday afternoon drinking their fantastic wine! :)

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

DPMB
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th April 2010 (visited 17 April 2010)

my boyfriend brought me for dinner to the french paradox last saturday after i'd completed an exam. i found the atmosphere absolutely fab. it was like a little wine bar in Franece. Unfortunatley we were starving and hoping for some scrumptious food. the menu is extremely limited, unless you like fois gras as a main course. we both went for the dish of the day which was duck. i found mine absolutley lovely, and it came with all the vegetables, potatoes etc included. however my boyfriend's duck was tough and overcooked. in fairness, neither of us could fault the wine, but the service was shockingly slow- it took 2 hours for a main course, 2 coffees and 3 glasses of wine. not sure if i'd eat here again but i'd definitely go for a glass of wine.

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

Tipperary
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th February 2010 (visited 4 February 2010)

Have been here many times as I work in the area, its such a nice place for a glass of wine or tapas like food when you dont want to go to a pub or eat a big meal - the wines are very varied and they usually change them every month or so - some can be expensive but I think its worth it to have somewhere like this on your doorstep - the staff are always very friendly and corteous and they answer your questions and know the information on the various wines and food. The food is always very well presented, I have also been here for lunch one time, I didnt want to go back to work.....This is defintely a hidden gem in Dublin 4 and somewhere I would highly recommend - bon Appetit !

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

jppoggi
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th December 2009 (visited 4 December 2009)

I did not to go to the French paradox since two years. The service was very nice as the place. The food is simple and quite average but for a good value. At the opposite, the wine was superb, I recommend the Burbangy white: Macon.

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

einstein

74 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th February 2011 (visited 1 February 2011)

Three of us went around six for the tapas menu and were quite impressed. Excellent selection of choices and large and tasty dishes at an excellent price. Staff were also very pleasent and efficent, all in all a good night with nice wines also.

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

yvonne hedderman
Kildare
60 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd November 2009 (visited 13 November 2009)

quirky little place, lovely wines however the food menu wasn't great. Very expensive also but it does have a nice atmosphere.

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

newbie
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th November 2009 (visited 13 November 2009)

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Dublin. I love that you can just enjoy a glass of gorgeous wine with some delicious pate or charcuterie or cheese. We usually take our time sitting here and just order plate by plate, sort of like french tapas style. I would definitely recommend it for a relaxing evening with a close friend or partner. The wine is reasonably priced and so are the plates so you can spend as much or as little as you like.

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

maevestock
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th November 2009 (visited 12 November 2009)

Everything was lovely, but the portion was so so so small. I was still hungry after!

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

Ross

6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th July 2009 (visited 18 July 2009)

I looked up 'restaurants in Ballsbridge' on menupages on Sat evening as I was meeting a friend last minute & liked the look of this. It was spot on - we wanted tapas type food and the waiter suggested a mix of starters & thats what we had - with a very nice Sancerre! The food was delicious/wine fantastic- and we stayed for 4 hours chatting & enjoying the athmosphere! I really really like this place - no fuss/no drama - great food and very reasonable! Thanks guys!!

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

Finbar

54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th May 2009 (visited 30 April 2009)

I've eaten at FP a few times and particularly like the fantastic selection of wines by the glass. The small " taster glasses" allow you to try top class wines for just a couple of euro. I've always thought that the food merited a "could do better" on their report card. If you don't like duck-you're very limited in what you can eat. Also, the menu hasn't really changed in years and needs some fresh thinking. If they put the same imagination and effort into the food as they do the wine, this place could be superb.

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

LEKKER
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th February 2009 (visited 19 February 2009)

WEDNESDAY EVENING I've eaten in the Paradox since it opened and I always found it on the expensive side, opulent though. With wines ranging from €5 to €12 per glass you may see why. Upstairs is charming. Lighting is spot on. Ambiance is great. Avoid a seat downstairs as it seems an afterthought (and chilly) although in the summer you can sit in the street by the busy road (why?).. We chose the fish plate and charcutre (both for 2). Dissapointing portions considering the price and it was our dinner.... Fair play to the waiter who served a full room single handed (proper order). Superb house wine €5.80...effeverscent fresh and crisp. The fish was excellent. BUT! served supermarket style bread... WTF??? Why/ Why? Lots of punters considering the supposed recession,. Great place for quaffing and being seen but eat first and bring your husbands gold card ;-)

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

Summertime
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th January 2009 (visited 12 December 2008)

Adorable!! It is cosy, service is very french ;), food is scrumptious and the winelist will leave you deciding for hours. Great little restaurant.

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

etres-aux-anges
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th November 2008 (visited 26 November 2008)

I love this place - very romantic for a little date. In fact I met my other half in this restaurant - good vibes, good food, excellent wine, lovely staff. Top notch. It's mostly platters of cheese and meats as opposed to meals, but it's perfect for a light enougb dinner and an excellent bottle of wine.

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

bleu
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th November 2008 (visited 14 November 2008)

Had late lunch on friday at the French Paradox and it was an ideal choice. We sat upstairs by the window and relaxed completely. The husband and wife team who own the vintners/restaurant are charming and engaging and quite obviously in love with the food and wine they serve. Foie gras was what we had gone for and our only real disappointment was that there is no pan fried foie gras on the lunch menu (only at dinner) so we settled for mi-cuit - not too much of a hardship but expensive at €18. A salad of gesiers and the confit of duck followed. The duck was splendid; soft and falling of the bone with a crunchy sticky skin. Without doubt the best I have had in Ireland. The geziers are practically impossible to get anywhere here and the salad was really delicious. As it was lunchtime wine was not consumed but an earlier visit confirmed the quality of interesting wine stocked. An establishment to be highly recommended. They do cheaper dishes of the day etc but the reason for going is to indulge in the foie gras or duck in any of its myriad forms and that is rather more expensive - for a well earned and occasional treat!

The French Paradox Wine Shop & Wine Bar

dietstartsmonday
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th November 2008 (visited 9 October 2008)

I Loved this little gem of a place. Although choosing one bottle of wine for only 22euro our bill was still seventy something for two and we really just ordered plates of nibbles to share so it isn't cheap. Had a charcuterie plate, a plate of salmon and topanade bread all delish. Defo great place to hang out midweek for a bit and bottle of wine with a friend. i will be going back definitely and have recommended recently to a friend who has popped in for a bottle of takeway a few times since.

Copyright © 2017 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.3647 ]