Platform 61 restaurant

27 South William Street, South William Street, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Mediterranean

Price Range:

€€

69 reviews
4 stars - based on 69 reviews

Platform 61

Submit a review
Platform 61

Chickenwing
Dublin
78 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 22nd May 2017 (visited 13 April 2017)

Second time here & loved it even more than the first time. Staff are lovely - really nice. Food was delicious. Will defo be back again.

Platform 61

mnally
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2017 (visited 16 May 2017)

What a great find - we had the early bird which is 2 courses for €20. I had the burger followed by creme brulee and my friend had the chicken followed by the fruit crumble - all were delicious and there was plenty of food. Even though we were there early there was a lovely atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

Platform 61

jb52030574
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:42%

Reviewed 10th May 2017 (visited 10 May 2017)

This restaurant is a hidden gem. It took us a while to find it but glad we did. Lovely restaurant. Food was lovely, good service and very good value for money.

Platform 61

Happy Foodie
Dublin
100 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd May 2017 (visited 21 April 2017)

We went here on a Groupon voucher deal. The atmosphere when we walked in was dark and the tables looked cramped.but we discovered there was another area behind. The service is amazing.really attentive and informative.but the winner here is the food hands down. Beautifully executed and presented. The steak in particular was mouth watering. I'll definitely be back.and they do a very well priced early bird. I would've liked more light to create a better atmosphere.but they are in the basement and have no control over that. Overall a really enjoyable experience.

Platform 61

gkbrecon50925859
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 28th April 2017 (visited 27 April 2017)

I went for the à la carte menu. Platform 61 is, rather unusually for Dublin, downstairs - though in perfect location. The cons - it is really dark there (though this might suit those looking for, i.e, a date - as well as for a conversation about the problem of induction); the pros - if a restaurant visit is supposed to isolate yee from this mortal coil, then it certainly does! It is much smaller than expected - but I like small places with pretty faces. What's their food like? As a starter, I ordered Tuna (10 euro). This came in a fashion of nouvelle cuisine (very small), and I've to admit that I was a bit apprehensive that the main course will be of the same dwarfish size (it was not). Having said that, the tuna toast was the work of art. Simultaneously I had baguettes (maybe not of the same quality as in the famous "Avenue", where they would have baked them themselves - maybe I'm wrong, but I sensed that they use frozen dough; having said that, you would have often left "Avenue" hungry - not the Platform 61 after steak). Their pesto was really good (one of the biggest nightmares of pestos is that most of them are criminally oversalted - this one was not)! All in all, I would give them 4* for starters (minus 1 because the tuna toast was a bit overpriced as for the size - but then again, I can only imagine the amount of work involved). I intended to go for Le Ferme Petit Paul, but they recommended another wine - Croatian Vine Laguna Festigia Castello. I have never drunk a Croatian wine before, but I think I will in the future - with its rich, oaky taste and chewy tannins, it easily beats most French wines for that price because it's more balanced (the French don't combine Merlot and Syrah varieties), My main encounter of the evening was steak (I ordered it well-done). - this was proper food (I forgave them lack of peppersauce). Salad was scrumptious, and - as Messr Trump/Sanders would say - 'uge. Waiters are professional but not overbearing. Good shtuff. Grzegorz K.

Platform 61

nmcgrath
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 22nd April 2017 (visited 21 April 2017)

Food was Gorgeous, Service very good,wine was Fine Lovely place would go back again

Platform 61

brendamernagh
Meath
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st April 2017 (visited 20 April 2017)

It was our first time there and we had a voucher. From the moment we arrived the atmosphere was lovely and the staff were very friendly. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meal and will definitely go back.

Platform 61

claireneill
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st April 2017 (visited 20 April 2017)

A hidden Gem, Went for dinner last night to this gorgeous little restaurant hidden in a basement on South William Street. The atmosphere is lovely, staff very friendly and attentive. Food was amazing and plenty of it. Service a bit relaxed but nice not to be rushed. Will definitely be going back and also telling friends about it. Lovely evening

Platform 61

briansullivan2
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 16th April 2017 (visited 15 April 2017)

Food was superb. Staff friendly.

Platform 61

emerb1003
Wicklow
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th April 2017 (visited 11 April 2017)

5 stars all round. A really fab family night out. We would highly recommend Platform 61 and have already planned to go there again in a couple weeks with some friends. The voucher system with Menupages was great and offered good value. Remember wine is paid for separately. Congrats Platform 61 on the wonderful food ideas and flavours.

Platform 61

emerb1003
Wicklow
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th April 2017 (visited 11 April 2017)

5 stars all round. A really fab family night out. We would highly recommend Platform 61 and have already planned to go there again in a couple weeks with some friends. The voucher system with Menupages was great and offered good value. Remember wine is paid for separately. Congrats Platform 61 on the wonderful food ideas and flavours.

Platform 61

mconnell

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 06th March 2017 (visited 4 March 2017)

We visited P61 on Saturday evening and we had an absolutely wonderful time. The food and service was excellent. A real gem of a restaurant in the heart of Dublin ! Will definitely return !

Platform 61

jimmyd
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th February 2017 (visited 11 February 2017)

Went to Platform 61 last night, great little spot. The food is some of the best we have had in a long time. Staff couldn't be more helpful, definitely go back.n

Platform 61

PRECIPICE
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th January 2017 (visited 10 January 2017)

Restaurant difficult to locate -signage poor & initial impression from street not encouraging . In a "cellar" --access via steep steps . However on arrival very welcoming with friendly/efficient service Atmosphere poor but only 2 other diners [ Tuesday ] & expect vast improvement with more tables occupied. Food excellent . Will make a return visit .

Platform 61

Pale lady
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th November 2016 (visited 12 November 2016)

Four of us visited on Saturday 12th November two of whom had not been there before. We thought Xmas had already arrived the restaurant was so busy! We had the brunch menu and the food was excellent as was the service. We will certainly be back.

Copyright © 2017 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.3631 ]