Viva restaurant

27 Richmond Street South, Portobello, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Spanish

Price Range:


32 reviews
4 stars - based on 32 reviews
Viva

ispinosa
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th January 2015 (visited 23 January 2015)

great food. excellent attention

Viva

yumi3
Dublin
64 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st January 2015 (visited 5 December 2014)

Lovely restaurant, with fantastic staff, great value for money and their gluten free options are delicious! The wine is also a very good reason to return!

Viva

rayhome50
Cavan
98 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2015 (visited 16 January 2015)

Viva is a hidden treasure and we would be in it every night if that was possible as we love the tasty and healthy wholesome nutritious food, athmosphere and service there. It never fails to please those looking for a nice night and even romance, it delivers!

Viva

Parnell
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2015 (visited 10 January 2015)

I went here on a voucher deal and I think you can tell a lot about a place by how they treat people with vouchers. The service was very friendly and welcoming, the food was fantastic, beautiful wine. This is a great traditional tapas restaurant and really great value for money...most tapas 4-6 euros. I will be back!

Viva

SUSANJ
Dublin
175 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th January 2015 (visited 15 January 2015)

I went to Viva last night With a menupages voucher of 17 euro for 4 tapas and 2 glasses of wine. I had rung ahead the day before and made sure we could get 4 vegan options paella listed on the tapas menu and it was stated you could get one made to specification with a 20 minute wait. it looks like a lovely restaurant and I do feel you get more bang for your buck in Portobello generally than nearer to town and it has its own lovely artisan vibe. We arrived in on a cold nite to lovely cosy candlelit surroundings with velvet curtains semi sectioning off the restaurant in places. Our waiter arrived and we ordered patatas bravas and a eg dish and asked to have the paella made up, stating quite clearly "vegetables only". We also ordered a portion of bread. I had also stated on booking "vegan options please". The food arrived down very quickly and we immediately noted there was meat in our paella. When we asked the waiter what it was, he informed us quite cheerfully that it was chicken. We yet again explained that we were vegan. Another waitress arrived down and told us the special paella was not included in the tapas menu (although it was written down in same), she apologised and told us we could have an aubergine dish and she would get the chef to make us up another dish. At this juncture our two dishes were now stone cold. I hate cold food. The bread arrived down and it was just dry bread. We asked for olive oil and were given olives, we asked again for oil. Our other 2 dishes duly arrived, aubergine with a topping - okayis and a very bland lightly grilled dish of just aubergine, courgette and pepper - boring. We asked for the bill and it arrived charging us for 2 portions of bread and olives that we didnt order!. They took them off the bill. Nice place to go if you are not vegi, vegan or ordering off menu.

Viva

abeille7
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th January 2015 (visited 12 January 2015)

I had a voucher with my boyfriend. We were quite dissapointed with the quality of food. 2 of the tapas were ok although really oily, the other 2 were just tasteless. And we got few tiny pieces of bread which seemed to be old and from some cheap supermarket, and got charged for it. House wines were quite nice. The waiter was quite nice, although did not know what was available from the menu. And there was nobody else except us. Would not recommend.

Restaurant response:
Thanks Barbara for taking a few minutes post your opinion posthumously, even though you had been asked various times throughout your evening with us weather everything was to your liking by your waiter Ramiro who is also one of the owners here at Viva. Myself, Gareth the other owner being down in the kitchen with Ramiro's Mama preparing the four tapas you had; pisto, chorizo al vino, berenjena gratinada and pollo al pedro ximenez along with a fiesta de pan on a icy cold Monday evening with barely a soul on the street. Hence we were quiet for the evening. We cook as is traditional in Mediterranean cooking with the best of olive oils from Malaga and this is high in unsaturated fats; so the pisto and berenjena would have a certain amount of oil in it. The berenjena topped with cheese which has its own oils naturally. The chorizo in white wine is slow cooked for over 4 hours and as it is a cured pork contains its own oils too. You say two of the dishes were tasteless... We tend not to over season our dishes as condiments are set out on tables and everyone's sense of taste is different. Therefore we assume people would help themselves if they needed to add extra seasoning themselves. I personally got the bread from the Bretzel Bakery across the road on Monday and if you thought that 7 slices of 7 different types of artisan bread wernt worth the €2 you paid we are more than happy to refund your €2 as we are glad to pay the Bretzel for their high quality products and we would never presume that they hand out their product for free, otherwise they would be out of business and we would then maybe consider going to buy our bread in a supermarket. God forbid they close in my lifetime as IMHO they are the best bakery in Dublin and we are blessed to have them on our doorstep. We store their products as set out by hse guidelines so therefore: not left lying out all day and would have been kept in temperatures of 2-4 degrees. There also seems to be a little confusion over weather the "waiter" knew what was on the menu. If I remember correctly when placing your order for desserts you asked for tarta de manzana which we had sold out of earlier in the day and were in the process of baking another which wouldn't have been ready at the time you ordered your desserts so "hands up" I can only blame myself for not notifying Ramiro in advance of your order. For this I apologise. On a positive note were so glad you enjoyed our house wine as its exceptional value and with the offer you purchased, even more so. Sorry to hear you wont be recommending us but we wish you well on your own tapas trail and hope in the future you inform staff if unsatisfied in an eatery as most venues including ourselves take people at their word and are only to happy to accommodate to the needs of the customer given the chance at the time spent dinning. Sincerely, Gareth & Ramiro & Marianella

Viva

thisiscolm
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th December 2014 (visited 3 December 2014)

We went here on a menupages deal. Between 2 we shared 6 tapas plates, 2 glasses of wine and 2 coffess at the end. In total (including voucher and tip and additional plates) we paid around €35. It is superb value for money. The staff are really friendly and polite, one of our dishes was slower coming out but the staff were run off their feet with customers and it was nice to get a hot dish as we were finishing the others so it actually worked out better. the food is really nice and basic. the calamari were excellent, if a little over salted. but the meatballs, the croquettes and the chirozo in wine are delicious. fantastic value for money and would definitely go back. it has such a nice, casual and happy atmosphere to it.

Viva

rayhome50
Cavan
98 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th November 2014 (visited 28 November 2014)

We ate here on Friday night last and were really supervised at the great time we had as there was a great buzz for Christmas and also the food was lovely and also there was great service and we thought it was very nice and would love to return and recommend it to others, also thanks to the staff there for the great night.

Viva

dublinniall1
Dublin
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:37%

Reviewed 30th November 2014 (visited 29 November 2014)

Nice tapas nice wines y el dueño muy simpático. What more do you want!!!

Viva

milagros.alonso07
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th October 2014 (visited 27 October 2014)

The food was delicious, the place super comfortable and the staff great! I loved it!

Viva

Billybutler
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th April 2014 (visited 28 April 2014)

Visited Viva last night for dinner and I was very impressed. The food was lovely and the sangria was particularly good. The waiter was a delight and really made the whole experience better. Highly recommended.

Viva

niamhheff
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd March 2014 (visited 22 March 2014)

Would highly recommend Viva. Really good food & very friendly staff with lots of gluten free options! I would like a few more vegan options too but will definitely be back... A must try!

Viva

DarrenC
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd December 2013 (visited 1 December 2013)

Went on a grab one voucher on Sunday night and the restaurant was not busy, the waiter did say its not busy on a Sunday. The food and wine was yum...we had chicken, Patatas bravas, squid and chorizo....which was all yummy...will be back :-) PS waiter was very nice.

Viva

lightup
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th October 2013 (visited 9 October 2013)

I live close to Viva and have eaten here many times for dinner. The food is always lovely and the staff are so friendly. I had lunch here today for the first time and, as always, was so pleased with the food and service. They do a great weekday lunch menu for €10 for a starter, stew and tapa. This is amazing value, you get so much food! The prawns pil pil and chorizo al vino are particular favourites. And their bread is from the wonderful Bretzel Bakery just across the road. Keep it up Viva!

Viva

TGIRL
Dublin
39 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th August 2013 (visited 4 June 2013)

We were there on Saturday night :the food was excellent and staff friendly and polite A place where to go to have very Spanish tapas High Recommended The best in Dublin

Copyright © 2017 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.3997 ]