The Port House restaurant

64a South William Street, South William Street, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Online

Cuisine:
Tapas

Price Range:


534 reviews

The Port House

Submit a review

Lolam5_2013
Dublin
47 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:64%

Reviewed 17th October 2013 (visited 15 October 2013)

We visited here as a Birthday treat for my other half, and have to say it was one of the most enjoyable dining experiences I’ve ever had. We were seated immediately in a cosy little corner surrounded by candles, exposed brick walls and various wine bottles on shelves. I felt like we were sitting in our own little Spanish cave! Our order was taken promptly and the food arrived dish by dish as it was ready. If I was to go into detail about every single plate we ordered, I'm afraid I'd expose us as quite the over indulgent pair! ("Of course we can have an 8th plate, sure it’s your birthday!" :O ) I will however, highly recommend the Gambas Rebozadas (probably the nicest prawns I’ve ever had), the Patatas with the Mojo and anything that involves chorizo! After all that delicious food, I still managed to suggest that "Surely no Birthday would be complete without cake!?" We ordered the Churros con Chocolate and the Selva Negra. The latter of which was so delicious, I promptly slipped into a food coma upon completion! I can’t of course forget the staff, who were all very friendly and attentive. Needless to say, I will definitely be returning to The Port House, although this time, with a stretchier waist band!! :)

raldoli
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 06th August 2013 (visited 5 July 2013)

This is a really romantic restaurant, lovely exposed brick walls and totally candle-lit. The food is great, the iberico ham is great quality and delicious. The foie gras and Pedro Ximenez reduction and fresh apple slices is a really beautiful plate of food, chorizo al vino is a must, cheese and meat plates are excellent and the churros are better than some i've eaten in Mexico. The wine menu is 10 out of 10, a huge selection of wines by the bottle and glass and also the waitresses actually know a lot about the wines which is a definite plus, after ordering a Protus 2006 the waitress brought a decanter with the wine to allow it to breath before we drank it. Excellent and very well price pointed and authentically Spanish.

Sixx
Dublin
67 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:98%

Reviewed 15th March 2013 (visited 7 March 2013)

I love the food here. It is a great place to go to start a night out but is also very affordable if you just fancy a bite to eat. They have a fantastic selection of everything on the menu, so there is something to suit everyone. The atmosphere is great, although sometimes it can be a little too dark! The staff and friendly and pleasant and the best thing of all is that the bill doesn't break the bank!

Paulo Hayek
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 30th January 2013 (visited 30 January 2013)

Was really amazing this restaurant,the food really nice, good service,nice price,staff very polite and easy going, I will really back there soon as possible!

luvciau
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 08th December 2012 (visited 21 November 2012)

Loved the atmosphere and the wine.. Lovely afternoon with my friends, only bit disappointed about food... Wasn't so bad, but not up to the sky, but definately will be back

thewizthewoz
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:39%

Reviewed 28th November 2012 (visited 16 November 2012)

There was three of us celebrating a birthday. It was a Saturday night and I did try to book a table but you are not allowed to reserve. The restaurant was pretty busy and we waited at the bar for about 40 minutes for a table.We had 10 tapas between us which were fantastic (patatas bravas X2; meatballs X2; froe grais burgerX2; chorizo and onion; aubergine and goats cheese; prawns pil pil and the green salted peppers. I had two glasses of Spanish cava which could be described in one word as 'perfect'.The others had a bottle of Spanish beer and an non alcoholic beer. There were three desserts also, the churros with hot choclolate; the fudge cake and the ferreo rocher chessecake. The bill came to a pleasant 97 euro.If I could make a big suggestion to the restaurant, it would be to improve the service! I understand it was a busy Saturday but nowadays with so many good deals around I think the could up their game. In saying that I will return but not at the weekend.

dishy

45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:88%

Reviewed 23rd November 2012 (visited 10 November 2012)

Five of us shared a table, and it was cosy and intimate without being squashed. The low lighting is lovely. The food varied from lovely to just ok. We tried the chicken wings, prawns, patatas bravas, chorizo and cheese plate. Good things first, our very efficient waitress exchanged our bottle of white wine, which tasted so sour two of us winced, very quickly and with no argument, for a much nicer white. The prawns and potatos were divine. The cheese plate, for 2, initially arrived with two and a half crackers on it? as soon as we asked we got more crackers but i don't really understand why put so few on to start with, how would two and a half crackers ever be enough? Anyway the cheese was also delicious. We had a lovely evening and were more than happy with how our two minor problems were rectified. One thing we found baffling is why there is not another set of doors between the toilets and the dining room downstairs, you could smell the toilets intermittently through the evening, really off putting if you are seated in a unlucky spot.

Brady
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:50%

Reviewed 21st November 2012 (visited 8 September 2012)

I love this restaurant,love the atmosphere all dimly lit with candles. Staff know their food and wine and I just love the food.. Keep on going back and back!

LittleFish
Dublin
61 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:88%

Reviewed 18th November 2012 (visited 10 October 2012)

Always have a good experience here. Went out with the work crowd for some tapas and vino. Cosy and warm atmosphere. We got the stonework nook at the back, 5 of us squeezed in around the table and just ordered in 3 waves of tapas. House wine was thoroughly enjoyable and quaff-able and all of the dishes were delicious - great chorizo, black pudding, calamari, spicy potatoes, ham and frittatta. A great way to eat but make sure you go with people who can share and also fight their own food corner so there is no post eating guilt - although you can just order a few more plates. Relaxed service - in a good way, very decent food and not ridiculous money wise - you can be as frugal or as opulent as you like - appetite permitting. Great olives and bread too.

FoodMonkey

17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:23%

Reviewed 15th October 2012 (visited 13 October 2012)

We ate here on the weekend, to be fair to the staff it was a busy night, but the service was a little flaky - our bottle of wine took a long time to come, we had to ask for one of our dishes and they mixed up the desserts. Aesthetically, I like the interior it looks really cool and cosy - all dark and candlelit but its way too dark - I put my phone on the table then couldn't see it when I went to pick it up! the wine list even has a little torch on it so you could read it (but ours was dead) But the food was great, we ordered LOADS of dishes, prawn skewers, the meat platter, chorizo...all of them were excellent but the chocolate cake dessert was out of this world. It's a fine place - great location, good food but there are probably better tapas joints in the city.

Copyright © 2014 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 1.1137 ]