The Pig's Ear restaurant

4 Nassau Street, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Online

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:


153 reviews

The Pig's Ear

Submit a review

aislingt35815459
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 12th April 2014 (visited 11 April 2014)

We ate here at 8.30 on a Friday night. The restaurant was busy and there was a great atmosphere. Starters and mains were delicious as was the desert. Fish won out on starter (crab) and Salmon (main) were both really super. Our waitress was witty and courteous yet not over invasive. The vanilla cheesecake was inventive and inspired. Will definitely be back here again.

Foodie26
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 10th April 2014 (visited 8 March 2014)

Irish food done particularly well. Great cheesecake. Buzzy atmosphere on the Saturday night we visited. No rush to make us leave. Overall excellent meal and will definitely be back.

Ellie83
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:60%

Reviewed 09th March 2014 (visited 7 March 2014)

I had come here for lunch before and was underwhelmed but was convinced to come back for dinner and I have to say I still felt the same. I love to eat out and I know what I like myself but I don't think this restaurant is it. On the upside, the person I went with adores the place and still does so all is well. I had a beautiful ham and pork terrine to start which was nice. But then had the beef cheek and ox tongue for my main and it didn't float my boat at all. Now I like braised slow cooked food but this was done to such a degree that the consistency was borderline unpalatable. The accompaniments didn't set my world on fire either. I just felt for a beef dish it was bland which was a pity. I am a desert lover but sadly, none of the deserts grabbed me so I went for the little treats instead. A nice evening but when I get to go out for dinner I want a little bit more than nice. Service was wonderful. And the consolation is I know my other half will definitely go back.

Treefrog
Dublin
31 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:60%

Reviewed 11th February 2014 (visited 6 February 2014)

Love this restaurant but have only ever eaten here with one other person so sit on the first level normally, this time there were six of us so we sat upstairs and I was pleasantly surprised, it is definitely a slightly louder dining experience than the formal first floor but great atmosphere. The food as always was delicious, we tried everything from the venison to the chicken and it was all cooked to perfection, the service was attentive but never intrusive and we were even more plesently surprised when the bill came as it was very reasonable. Highly recommend.

yummygrub
Kildare
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 27th November 2013 (visited 26 November 2013)

Fabulous food. Excellent quality. Second time back and intend to return!

jeanmarie

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 01st November 2013 (visited 31 October 2013)

Wonderful dining experience. Food excellent. Staff very friendly. We brought clients from Portugal and the thoroughly enjoyed it. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Hal
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:46%

Reviewed 15th October 2013 (visited 26 September 2013)

Nice little restaurant , love the home. Made bread , atmosphere was also nice , I do find portions can be a little small with saying that it packs a punch with flavour and quality and presented lovely too. Enjoy myself and will be back .

TheMac18
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 11th September 2013 (visited 11 September 2013)

Was a little disappointed having heard such good reviews previously - Early bird menu was a bit limited and sorry to say food was mediocre........however service and atmosphere was good .... all in all a bit of a foodie tourist trap

andyhughes1954
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:53%

Reviewed 29th August 2013 (visited 10 August 2013)

Excellent menu for lunch but portions are small. Wine overpriced and why charge €2.95 for bread........enough said!

trudie
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:21%

Reviewed 26th August 2013 (visited 23 August 2013)

Have visited the Pigs Ear on one previous occasion , quite some time ago, so was looking forward to trying it out again. On the last occasion I was impressed with both the food and the view from window overlooking grounds of Trinity . My husband and I were disappointed this time as the food was mediocre ... My goats cheese starter was very good, as was my husband's crab mayonnaise but sadly from then on it went downhill . My thyme roast chicken with truffles and sweet corn tasted of neither thyme or truffles...the chicken itself was moist and nicely cooked but lacked basic seasoning . My husband ordered the fish which he said was nice but nothing spectacular so he ordered the cheesecake which he thoroughly enjoyed. I passed on dessert and ordered a cappuccino , which for me, was the best part of the meal. We were then offered a complementary drink by the waitress who was rather familiar to the point of rudeness! Overall a very disappointing experience .....will definitely NOT be re-visiting the Pigs Ear.

Copyright © 2014 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5618 ]