The White House restaurant

Pearse Street, Kinsale, Kinsale, Cork

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:


13 reviews
4 stars - based on 13 reviews

The White House

Submit a review
The White House

mauraosborne
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th July 2014 (visited 30 June 2014)

Lovely setting in centre of Kinsale, delicious food, good portion sizes, friendly service. A very enjoyable evening.

The White House

laniey
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st May 2012 (visited 18 May 2012)

The food was lovely here, the veg was cooked perfectly, nice and crisp, not like the soggy over cooked veg you get in most restaurants. Service was a little slow but it wouldn't put me off.

The White House

dazz
Meath
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd December 2011 (visited 26 November 2011)

what a lovley place, atmosphere was great when we went in. Quickly seated and had our order taken. we were looking forward to the food but we were let down. the food was average and not very exciting. The "leg" of lamb option was no more than two slices of fatty lamb and a spoon full of veg.

The White House

GinoG
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th November 2011 (visited 6 November 2011)

Went here for dinner as a group during a weekend break to Kinsale, and I wasn't impressed. The food was pretty flavourless. Had the chicken liver pate to start, and the chicken stuffed wiht white pudding as my main, and both were extremely bland. No one from the group was overly impressed with their meal. Wouldn't go back.

The White House

pricekr
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th June 2011 (visited 26 May 2011)

Had a very nice lunch here when we arrived in Kinsale for a stay of 3 nights. This is probably one of the friendliest bars in Kinsale and the staff are all polite and helpful in assisting you with your selection. We had the soup of the day (tomato and pepper) and it was simply awesome! The brown bread it was served with was lovely, as well. Really great atmosphere, location and ambience.

The White House

meglassishalffull
Louth
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th May 2011 (visited 24 May 2011)

Had a very nice lunch here. The service was very friendly and attentive. the seafood chowder was tasty and packed full of fish but a little pricey at 7.95. My partner had the fish of the day which was plaice. This was a very good dish with beautifully cooked fish and a lovely light garlic sauce with veg and mash. We shared a chocolate brownie with ice cream for dessert which was delicious and good value and plenty for 2 to share. Good experience here and would return if in the area again.

The White House

Kate
Dublin
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st June 2010 (visited 23 May 2010)

I had lunch in the bar area and it was very nice. There was a wide choice on the menu. The seafood chowder was tasty with plenty of fish in it.

The White House

ccosgrave
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd May 2010 (visited 2 May 2010)

I feel compelled to write a review for this place, having just arrived back to my hotel. I have never eaten in Kinsale and was dining alone this evening. Given that the rugby 7's weekend was taking place, I expected it to be difficult to find a decent, good value meal where it wasn't overrun with rugby fans. The restaurant at the white house didn't disappoint. I looked at menu from the street (extremely reasonable set menu for €25 for starters, main, dessert and tea/coffee), felt the buzzing atmosphere from outside and went in. I was seated quickly and although my waitress was very efficient, she was not very friendly. That said, each course was brought promptly without any fuss. I guess the loud crowd were causing a little stress! Yummy fresh kinsale mussels infused with lemongrass and cream served with home made brown bread, followed by duo of salmon and cod served with potatoes and veg, followed by home made apple crumble and ice-cream. All were delicious. Being from Dublin, such quality food, service and price is rare-I will be back.

The White House

mvstud
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st March 2010 (visited 30 March 2010)

Visited Kinsale and stopped in to the White House one evening.The soup was lovely, as were the Burger and Italian Chicken.Would eat in this restaurant again,the staff were really friendly.

The White House

joella
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th November 2009 (visited 3 October 2009)

We had a lovely lunch ,staff were fabulous .Interior etc really nice and the food simple but quality .Will go back . Also value for money which we need to see more of here in Ireland .

The White House

noirin
Cork
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th April 2009 (visited 16 April 2009)

went here last night as a party of 4. service was excellent, food was great. the set menu is really good value for money and they were very flexible on one of the courses due to one person being a coeliac (they allowed us to choose something from main menu). fish of the day was sold out but offered different fish cooked in the same manner at lower price. would definitely recommend.

The White House

aceygray
Cork
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2008 (visited 15 November 2008)

I went here for dinner after I was given a voucher as a gift. The restaurant itself is lovely - very cosy & nicely decorated, lovely atmosphere. The service was excellent. The food was very good - I had tiger prawns, my partner had a steak. Both of us found our meals perfect. The wine selection was also very good & reasonably priced.

The White House

Balmark

16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th May 2008 (visited 9 November 2007)

Myself and my Fiancee went here for a meal during winter, fair enough it's out of season for Kinsale in general, but the food was cold, my chowder tasted as if a carton of salt fell into it and the desert, the ice cream was refrozen (the ice-cream parts of the desert had water icicles from being thawed and refrozen. I had been there years before and it was gorgeous, I got the feeling they were just living off their past reputation. I'd tell people to avoid it if possible.

Copyright © 2017 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5798 ]