Oliver St John Gogartys restaurant

57/58 Fleet Street, Temple Bar, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Online

Cuisine:
Pub Grub

Price Range:

€€€

18 reviews
3 stars - based on 18 reviews

Oliver St John Gogartys

Submit a review
Oliver St John Gogartys

susandye52

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:20%

Reviewed 22nd June 2014 (visited 19 June 2014)

Service was a bit dicey. Brown bread was good as well as the Irish Stew.

Oliver St John Gogartys

jr.dreier

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:20%

Reviewed 02nd January 2014 (visited 31 December 2013)

We never got a table, but we were eating in the bar,we vere very very satisfired with the service from the young waitress and the food.

Oliver St John Gogartys

s7tibs
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 27th April 2012 (visited 25 April 2012)

Since moving to Dublin I had purposely avoided Temple Bar area for food on the advice of locals but thought I would give it a chance. All my worst fears were realised in this experience. The pub below had such loud music that you could feel the vibrations through the floor. Despite the restaurant not being busy the service was non-existent and diners were placed on tables extremley close to each other so it was a squeeze to get out. I had Irish Stew which was water, flavourless and made with poor quality meet. My friend enjoyed her fish and chips but the vegetables served on the side for all meals were truly horrible and overdone. I had to go and find a member of staff to request our bill (all staff were very unfriendly) and was glad to leave. Never again.

Oliver St John Gogartys

greensausages
Wexford
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:32%

Reviewed 16th January 2012 (visited 21 November 2011)

I was here with a friend for lunch and I had the vegetarian lasagne. It wasn't great to be honest and I was very disappointed because I'd heard great things about this place. The service was fantastic and the athmosphere was buzzing. Overall it was an unsatisfactory experience but I would be willing to give it another go.

Oliver St John Gogartys

LovestoEat

19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:15%

Reviewed 12th September 2011 (visited 11 September 2011)

Visited here as we wanted to celebrate a small achievement with some lobster and their 'specials' menu had the best value we could find at short notice in the city centre - beautiful whole lobster in a cream & whiskey sauce for €29.99. As a city centre resident I never really think to eat in any of the Temple Bar pubs, dismissing them as likely standard fare for tourists, but I was really pleasantly surprised. Lovely cosy restaurant on the 2nd floor, nice and friendly staff and we each had the lobster which was delicious and hit the spot. Will definitely come back again. Total bill came to €70 for the two lobster and two large glasses of wine. We also saw some of the other offerings being carried to neighbouring tables and the portion sizes were nice and large and seemed to be going down well!

Oliver St John Gogartys

Insignia
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 24th June 2011 (visited 11 June 2011)

Never been here before but will be back. Good food, good service and a great atmosphere.

Oliver St John Gogartys

pricekr
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 04th June 2011 (visited 31 May 2011)

Fun place with great music and ambience. The food and service were terrific. The only bad thing was the drunk guy sitting near the entrance. He could barely stand up and was causing some concern to other patrons.

Oliver St John Gogartys

Hermitage
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 09th July 2010 (visited 6 July 2010)

i went here for lunch with a work colleague who was feeling a bit blue, we tried the four course lunch for 25 euro, this was superb if a little too generous, this place which i have never visited has a bizarre colection of fine french wines at what can only be described as bargain prices, chateau lynch bages 1995 was 130 euro, in Dublin!!!! its worth going to check out that alone, great hiding / drinking place where nobody will find you

Oliver St John Gogartys

AnJaGa
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 02nd July 2010 (visited 16 June 2010)

Although personally am not the greatest fan of Irish food I thought I could try some of the places recommended by friends and this one was one of them. I must admit that the food was melting. I could recommend oysters, salmon and seafood chowder if you are a seafood fan, if not you should go for Traditional Irish Stew with Lamb Shank. Staff was very friendly, they wre especially helpful if it came to the wine choice. Overall very very nice experience and I surely can say: go for it!

Oliver St John Gogartys

Heliennka
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 24th June 2010 (visited 22 June 2010)

My recommendations :) great people, great food, great atmosphere ... Need to try yourself :)

Oliver St John Gogartys

Nottoofussy
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 19th January 2010 (visited 6 October 2009)

Oh god. Foolishly hopped in here with a friend I was meeting for lunch as we weren't bothered walking around and hey, how bad could it be? The answer? Worst food I've EVER eaten (or not eaten), no exaggeration. Food literally not fit for a very poor school canteen, and the prices would be laughable if they weren't so plainly absurd as to suggest that the owner a) has no idea how obscene the level of quality of food in his/her pub is, or b) has no grasp on reality. This place, in fact, should be regarded as a danger to Irish tourism because, being billed as an "Irish Pub", thre is a real danger that it may be taken as that by some American or European tourist. If that is the case, they certainly won't be back. Honestly, worst "dining" experience ever. Oh, service is totally non-existent too. nobody came to take our order - we had to go to the bar, and the food took about 40 minutes. Total joke.

Oliver St John Gogartys

jimtom
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 12th December 2009 (visited 11 December 2009)

Will NEVER be back. Service was a disgrace. Food was a disgrace. Complete and utter rip off. You will get a finer dining experience at a fast food outlet. Roof above our table was leaking. Half of us had to wait over half an hour after the other half got their food. One of the party nearly broke her tooth eating a pasta dish due to it being undercooked. Side order of colcannon wouldnt feed a newt. Asked waiter for a jug of water and got it at the end of the night. I would struggle to find anything positive about this place and would not recommend it to anybody.

Oliver St John Gogartys

reviewposter

29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:15%

Reviewed 01st October 2008 (visited 30 September 2008)

We took a foreign client here last night and it was lovely. Had prawns for starter, very good quality. Had the sirloin steak for mains, also very nice. Everyone enjoyed their meal and I have no complaints about the service - was surprised when I read the other reviews as it would have put me off going had I read them first!

Oliver St John Gogartys

Sid

6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:15%

Reviewed 16th September 2008 (visited 29 August 2008)

I visited here about three weeks ago with American relatives of mine. I thought I would take them to a "traditional Irish Pub". First things first and with all due respect to the current staff but there is nothing Irish about the staff and the old Irish Charm is missing big time.After ordering our food we were waiting over 1 hour for it to arrive. And when I enquired as to the delay I was told in no uncertain circumstances that it will be here when its here. And then when it arrived it wasn't to much at all. Overall I definitely wont be going back.

Oliver St John Gogartys

an84di
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:22%

Reviewed 13th June 2008 (visited 12 June 2008)

I used to like this place until all the Irish staff disappeared. Now there's no one friendly at the bar, you don't even get a smile from the staff. I saw a pint of Guinness poured like a pint of beer, not left to settle and with bubbles at the top. The food is still nice but I wouldn't advise it.

Copyright © 2015 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.3681 ]