Mao (Stillorgan) restaurant

Lower Kilmacud Road, Stillorgan, Dublin, Stillorgan, Dublin, Area Code: South Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Online

Cuisine:
Asian

Price Range:


12 reviews

Mao (Stillorgan)

Submit a review

Mar-Lou
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 03rd July 2014 (visited 17 May 2014)

Came to Mao for my third time, this time with my family and sadly was VERY disappointed. I had already been to Mao twice in Dundrum Town Centre and was very impressed and thought I'd give the new one in Stillorgan a go. From entering the restaurant it was a depressing quiet atmosphere and the staff looked like they had all be scolled by their mothers, not one smile seen anywhere! Food was fine, the staff throughout our meal were unhelpful and clearly didn't want to be there and hadn't a clue as to how to serve people properly (not reaching across people at the table or how to set a table properly). On top of that we received dirty, stained glasses. At the end of the meal my dad was about to pay and was calculating the tip he should give, both my mother and myself said under no circumstances was he to leave any sort of tip. Not a hope in hell will I be going to that Mao anytime in the future!

carm
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th June 2014 (visited 15 June 2014)

We went to the mao for Father's Day it is very bad value and I ordered the malagian chicken and it was very oily I did complain and they did not charge for it but all in all very expensive and no atmosphere in it there were only 4other people in it.

finnercp
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:37%

Reviewed 28th April 2014 (visited 11 April 2014)

We have never been there so decided to give it a go. We went in and were offered the table which was against the sun and when I asked to change it it was an issue due to staff confusion. Staff were very nice but hierarchy of who does what was conspicuous, which was not nice.The menu consisted of 99% chicken dishes and this was a disappointment.

Paulol
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 25th April 2014 (visited 25 April 2014)

Ordered from MAO at home Ballinteer. The food was bad. Literally the noodles were mashed together into a box, to the point it was hard to separate. my sweet and sour resembled cheap, chicken meat mashed into noodles that was smothered in sweet chilli sauce. My mum ordered a thai prawn curry. There were 4 prawns in a sea of watery, tasteless sauce with large chunks of peppers and mushrooms. Never again, Mao Mao Mao!!

oboylef46187434
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:30%

Reviewed 14th January 2014 (visited 11 January 2014)

positively the worst takeaway we have ever eaten. ordered a takeaway for home delivery , it arrived minus the starter. rang them immediately and the sharing starter came sometime after - inedible. even though we live 5 minutes away it was stone cold : soggy spring rolls, soft and squidy prawns and chicken so dried up that it was destined for the bin. the malaysian chicken bore NO resemblance to any i have eaten in any of their restaurants, it was like chicken that had been stewed in a stock cube. my husbands dish was equally brutal. we were left hungry, poor but oh so much wiser! we wont make that mistake again.

c263139571769169
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:30%

Reviewed 12th December 2013 (visited 1 December 2013)

For a relatively low-cost but high quality Asian meal out, the Mao chain has always been my first port of call. I visited this branch last week and it actually exceeded my (admittedly high) expectations. Very helpful staff and tasty food,and the 3 course holiday menu represents great value. Nice interior and location as well.

emmab05423634122
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:30%

Reviewed 11th December 2013 (visited 7 December 2013)

We had a meal in this restaurant last Sunday. Wow, it was fantastic. From the moment we walked through the door until we left everything was perfect. The decore is very stylish and modern and we found the whole team to be very polite and professional. We love Asian cuisine and Mao is definitely is the best around the south side. 19 Euro for a three course meal, can't go wrong with that. Looking forward to our next visit.

Johnny Gleeson
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:37%

Reviewed 08th December 2013 (visited 8 December 2013)

Got a delivery from this restaurant - Mao at Home Stillorgan. This food is not what I used to eat in any Mao restaurant. The "Classic" Malaysian chicken curry was a watery insipid flavourless concoction. The real classic I have eaten before was delicious and creamy. The Thai basil chicken was chicken in a batter ? With a sweet reddish watery sauce in it . Not a Thai basil chicken as we know it should be. Just terrible and not the same as the once great Mao brand.

breec24
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 24th November 2013 (visited 21 November 2013)

Really bad experience here last week. It was my first time eating in Mao in Stillorgan, but having eaten in the branch in Dundrum previously I was expecting a nice meal. The restaurant was absolutely freezing! When we went in, were seated at a table directly under an air-conditioning vent which was so cold we couldn't take our coats off. We asked to be moved to another table, which we were, but just as our starters arrived, the air-con vent over our new table stated blowing out cold air. Almost all of the other diners in the restaurant were also wearing their coats throughout their meals! We called the manager over a number of times to complain but he was not at all helpful and just kept saying the air-con was broken and there was nothing he could do about it. The food was ok - but difficult to enjoy given the circumstances! Would not recommend this restaurant.

oconnellderek71699618
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:30%

Reviewed 15th November 2013 (visited 10 November 2013)

When I heard that there was a branch of Mao opening in Stillorgan I was excited as I always enjoyed the food in the Dundrum and Dun Laoghaire restaurants. On Sunday last I went in to order takeaway for myself and my family. I was told on ordering that there would be a slight delay but I can say the food was certainly worth the wait. I found the food and the service in the takaway to be of a very high quality. I was also given a voucher to the value of 5euro to use on my next visit to compensate for the delay and I am looking forward to using it.

Copyright © 2014 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4225 ]