Foam Cafe restaurant

24 Strand Street Great, Italian Quarter, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Cuisine:
Cafe

Price Range:


38 reviews
4 stars - based on 38 reviews

Foam Cafe

Submit a review
Foam Cafe

sheafg
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 15th February 2015 (visited 15 February 2015)

Place always appears packed, has some good reviews and quirky decoration so decided to pop in and see what the fuzz is about. To start, partner had a chai latte and I had a hot chocolate - both were extremely disappointing. The chai latte was watery with the chai powder as a big lump at the bottom - it hadn't been mixed through. Hot choc was also watery and basically tasted like a bad hot chocolate made at home; I've had better from vending machines to be honest. I had the mushroom soup, which was very tasty and accompanied by great rustic bread slices, but was quite salty and I had to ask for water - none had been provided or offered which is a a very basic error in service. Partner had the salmon sandwich; according to her the salad was average, the bread tough and the cous cous salad dry and impossible to eat, so she wasn't happy. Overall, can't see us returning.

Foam Cafe

gstanescu84
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 23rd November 2014 (visited 28 October 2014)

I popped around to the Foam with my Mom, I was SO overwhelmed with all the CAMPNESS obviously in the positive. We were greeted with such lovely warm welcome. We were offered the Couch or the Table. As we were eating, we chose the table. My mother ordered the Soup of the Day likewise myself, which was Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato Red Lentil Soup. She had a salmon Omelette for the main, and I had the Spanish Tortilla. They both were exquisite. The whole place was such an experience. I was first introduced back at the Day after Pride Day: The Ceremony of Love and Remembrance. A friend of mine brought me to the cafe of which at the time was closed, so we couldn't go in. However I said I'd bring my mother along. Well I never. It was MOST nondenominational. Like there was Buddhism, Catholicisms. There was a feeling of relaxation ambiance.

Foam Cafe

nolanwe
Kildare
53 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 28th October 2014 (visited 23 October 2014)

Had lunch at Foam last week. Excellent food, very large portions. Top class service and good value for money. Will be back

Foam Cafe

aislinn_mccabe95983027
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:30%

Reviewed 29th July 2014 (visited 23 July 2014)

I loved Foam! Such a hidden gem, I only stumbled upon it by accident. Food was fantastic and the portions were huge! The place is decorated beautifully. I was there when it was very quiet so there wasn't a great atmosphere but I'd imagine it would be brilliant in the evening. The service was great. Not a place to go for a cheap lunch. I loved it though, I'll definitely be back.

Foam Cafe

lainey101

10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:15%

Reviewed 14th February 2014 (visited 1 February 2014)

Gorgeous soups, sambos, and pizzas have yet to try the cakes for afternoon tea. Perfect spot to catch up with friends over lunch. I just love the decor and the funky ambience. Staff are awesome too cannot wait to return:)

Foam Cafe

lainey101

10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:15%

Reviewed 14th February 2014 (visited 1 February 2014)

Gorgeous soups, sambos, and pizzas have yet to try the cakes for afternoon tea. Perfect spot to catch up with friends over lunch. I just love the decor and the funky ambience. Staff are awesome too cannot wait to return:)

Foam Cafe

lainey101

10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:15%

Reviewed 14th February 2014 (visited 1 February 2014)

Gorgeous soups, sambos, and pizzas have yet to try the cakes for afternoon tea. Perfect spot to catch up with friends over lunch. I just love the decor and the funky ambience. Staff are awesome too cannot wait to return:)

Foam Cafe

carol-anne.murphy

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:20%

Reviewed 12th December 2013 (visited 11 December 2013)

My second visit & would happily return. Had a gorgeous salad last time, pasta this time. Excellent food, excellent value and pleasant, efficient service, the only reason I have removed 0.5 is for very large portion size-but clearly good if you're hungry! Not Dublin based or I would be there more often.

Foam Cafe

JJJGGG
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 17th August 2013 (visited 17 August 2013)

We had lunch in the Foam Cafe today with 6 people in total, 5 had salas, 1 had omelette. The salads were pretty good, although a little overpriced. The omelette was a bit tasteless and ordinary. The salad I had did not exactly match what was on the menu, but it was good all the same. But the food took about an hour between the time we ordered and we got it. And another 10 - 15 minutes between the 1st served at the table and the last. This is bad service indeed and left us very peed off. A full place on a Saturday lunch time in the city centre and only 1 girl serving, who did not properly scan the room in case someone needs anything? And you want us to come back? and I could not pay with a card, only with cash, and being told that there is a cash machine at 1 minute walk?! Are you joking? This is not acceptable this day and age. No way will I be back.

Foam Cafe

Southsidefoodie

13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:15%

Reviewed 24th April 2013 (visited 7 April 2013)

Had a very disappointing lunch here last Sunday. I love the decor of the this place, and on previous visits had only had teas/coffees so I was dying to try out the food. We both ordered the crab, avocado and lime salad which was highly disappointing. I assumed They appeared to have thrown absolutely anything and everything on the plate, mango sauce, carrot with mustard seeds, black olives with stones in (be careful of your teeth) and passion fruit. The flavours didnt work. We both came across shell in the crab (again be careful of your teeth). My mum hardly touched hers and when it came to clearing the table, my mother wasnt even asked 'Was everything ok?' as clearly it wasn't. The salad was priced at €12 each...so expensive lunch and we both left hungry!! I won't come here for food again or coffee for that matter as its proper manners to ask the customer how their meal was when their plate remains mostly untouched. Disappointing!!

Foam Cafe

wills1
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:30%

Reviewed 01st April 2013 (visited 29 March 2013)

Ate here on a very Good Friday, we ordered the soup to warm us up, it was a major disappointed absolutely scalding and lacking any flavour. The pizza for main was delicious, feta and cranberry went so well highly recommended

Foam Cafe

misselainescott
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:20%

Reviewed 19th March 2013 (visited 16 March 2013)

I Adore Foam Cafe, from the indigenous and super seductive organic creative menu. not too mention the tastefully and fun chosen interior design to the super cool tunes. It took me about 30 minutes to even decide on my order as I was too busy looking at the artwork! The food is very affordable ,portions size perfect and the service is superb. I feel there have been a few very harsh previous reviews posted... Come on people! Foam is for the super cool kids and the food is amazing where else in Dublin can one purchase a chorizo, manchengo and pear pizza for less than 12 yo yos the variety of soup options and walnut bread to die for..... My advice to the cranky old critics would be if you wanna hang for two hours over a coffee and prevent other cool cats from experiencing this very buzzy and innovative bistro then head to Dunnes cafe!! I will certainly be back and cannot wait to bring my friends so if your a serious foodie and love good service Foam Cafe is not to be missed.

Foam Cafe

sean.c
Westmeath
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:50%

Reviewed 09th February 2013 (visited 9 February 2013)

Here's a tip - when you cook with wine, you cook with wine. You don't throw in a glassful at the end. The pasta all'matriciana was overcooked and you couldn't taste anything except the wine, the service was atrocious and the staff barely civil. Avoid.

Foam Cafe

schnnaider
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 26th January 2013 (visited 19 January 2013)

This was my second time in this restaurant; the first time was average, good food with reasonable price, comfortable and cool decor. However, my good impressions about Foam have changed since my second and last visit. I had the WORST customer service ever, if you value respect, manners and don’t want to be insulted AVOID this place. There were five of us having lunch when after a while the manager came over to our table and rudely said that we had 10min to finish and live. I tried to ask him to explain why he was giving us such a short time to live, but all that he said was that 1h30min was enough to have lunch. We were literally kicked out from the place, I felt disgusted and shocked by the disgraceful and unprofessional behaviour of the manager. Once again, if you value respect and manners AVOID this place.

Foam Cafe

clyncher
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 18th October 2012 (visited 4 September 2012)

**Avoid** unless you like being insulted. I went here last night for my sisters birthday meetup. There were a few of us hoping to get Tapas, cakes etc. We all arrived separately as it was post work. We were then informed that the kitchen was closed. Disappointed but we were grand with cake. Cake was not the best and four of the girls left theirs behind. Then, when chatting two of the girls told us they had been early, had gone again and came back. The manager had insulted then when they came back in. Even locking them out for a bit. I kid you not. I do not think he was in the best frame of mind. I think this may have been the reason the kitchen was closed. Some of the other girls saw him acting out of character for a proprietor of a café. We decided to leave then. We paid up and left though we were just outside the door as we were deciding where to go next. The manager then came out to bring in the potted plants and insulted us again. Tbh, at this stage, as we had left, we were finding him more funny than insulting and I think he picked up on this because he became very aggressive and started to yell at us. At one point while insulting us he proceeded to drop his potted plant which smashed on the street. He was way too far gone to lift it properly anyway. We left utterly disgusted. To be fair the other staff members were very nice and apologetic. What was going on with the manager/owner guy is a mystery. I will never darken their door again.

Copyright © 2015 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.3913 ]