El Bahia Moroccan Restaurant

37 Wicklow Street, Dublin 2, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Online

Cuisine:
Moroccan

Price Range:

€€

234 reviews
4 stars - based on 234 reviews

El Bahia Moroccan Restaurant

Submit a review
El Bahia Moroccan Restaurant

carneyliam
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 16th February 2015 (visited 15 February 2015)

I went here with my girlfriend last night and enjoyed a fabulous meal. Lovely decor. Friendly service. But unfortunately it was a tad cold. It was a Sunday early evening and very quiet though. Shame coz it was 5 stars all round otherwise'

El Bahia Moroccan Restaurant

Sierra123
Dublin
53 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 14th February 2015 (visited 13 February 2015)

Small, cosy room, nice Moroccan atmosphere. There is a separate, smaller room which looks like a Bedouin tent & looks amazing. Nice pleasant, competent waitress. They have 2 dinner settings, 6pm & 8pm & be advised try not to avoid being late like my companion because the waitress doesn't beat about the bush come 8pm sharp about repeatedly requesting us to vacate the table, getting firmer with each request as I hurried my companions who was finishing her coffee. My companion starting off with sardines & although she liked the flavours she found the fish far too small. I started off with spicy prawns & they were delicious. Both our starters came with a finely diced beautiful mixed salad. For mains she choose lamb with prunes & I choose lamb with potatoes in a garlic, olive oil & saffron sauce. They came served sizzling, mouth burning hot in tagines so be warned. Everything tasted freshly cooked & was tailored to my taste minus the peas. We wiped out tagines clean, there's the evidence. My companion was asked did she want pitta bread or couscous, she chose the former & €1 was added on to the bill without being mentioned besides from the Menupoints voucher we were using. My companions extra glass of wine cost nearly €6 which I thought was a bit steep but I suppose these extras is how they make their money. Being a teetotaller I had to settle for condensed fruit juice which didn't taste great, far too sweet, and I wasn't really happy with it. Still by and large we really enjoyed the food, flavours and atmosphere but if you want a relaxing 2 plus hours dinner this wouldn't be the place for you.

El Bahia Moroccan Restaurant

info

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 05th February 2015 (visited 4 February 2015)

Went with two courses for two + wine Menupages deal. Good value, excellent service and tasty food!

El Bahia Moroccan Restaurant

Herbalist
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:67%

Reviewed 16th January 2015 (visited 7 January 2015)

Friendly service and fantastic food (and morroccan coffee). one of my favorite restaurants in Dublin

El Bahia Moroccan Restaurant

SUSANJ
Dublin
166 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:75%

Reviewed 14th January 2015 (visited 2 January 2015)

Went here with my friend over the christmas. Had not been for a few years and was always intending to go back. I love Moroccan food. As a vegan, there is so much choice and it is such tasty food. We had a menupages voucher, which was excellent value at 34 euro for 2 courses with a glass of wine for two. The first thing I noticed when entering was that all the drapes on the ceiling were gone. I thought this was a shame because I really felt they cosied up the place and added to the intimacy. it is a lovely small restaurant reminiscent of walking into a friend's house for dinner and I love that feeling but missed the drapes. We ordered for starters a lentil dish and mixed peppers. Both were absolutely mouthwarmingly gorgeous. I had a tagine that was the nicest Ive tasted anywhere, awash with sweet potatoe and carrot, deliciously chunky and aromatic. Food is second to none, waitress was lovely and its very reasonable. I just feel the need to up the ante re cosying out the room, the way it used to be.

El Bahia Moroccan Restaurant

Slurryhead
Dublin
39 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:27%

Reviewed 31st December 2014 (visited 30 December 2014)

We booked for four people on a Tuesday night at short notice. The welcome from the young Moroccan waitress was genuine and warm. Immediately on entering through the ornate front door, it is clear that this is a special place. Walking into the eating area is like entering one of Tangiers' traditional restaurant. Great attention has been paid to the authenticity of the wall and ceiling decoration and ornamentation. There is a decidedly 'Moroccan' scent throughout arising from the fabulous spices and slow cooking methods utilised in the kitchen on the next floor. The diminutive waitress hauls on the ropes of the dumb waiter to transport the food from kitchen to dining room in a manner that would make her a valuable crew member on a sailing ship. The menu was simple and straightforward with the various types of Moroccan cuisine categorised. In addition to the lamb specialty, they also had beef, chicken, rabbit, cow tongue and vegetable options. Between us, we had a combination of tajines, couscous and bastilla followed by some Moroccan desserts and mint tea. Everyone was delighted with their dish (one of which was shared between two of the ladies). The house wine was reasonable and very drinkable (We ordered a second) and the only disappointment from our previous visit was that the house did not have a Moroccan beer on this occasion. We were assured that it was a stock issue and Moroccan beer would be available for our next visit. This is a lovely dining experience at a very reasonable price. Service is pleasant and timely and it was hard to understand why there were quite a few tables unoccupied. A fuller house would have benefited the atmosphere. Even at that it was easy to imagine that we were eating worlds away from Dublin City centre. This was our second visit and we will definitely be back again.

El Bahia Moroccan Restaurant

pisces
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 26th October 2014 (visited 24 October 2014)

I was greeted at the top of the stairs with Can I have your voucher? so we didn't get off to a good start. We were placed at a table just inside the door which was very draughty. I tried to catch the waiter's attention to see if we could move ..that took 5 minutes! We were moved. I had a glass of white wine which was very nice and 3 glasses of mint tea which was delicious. We had chicken tagine and chicken bastilla. My husband thought the tagine was just O.K. It had turnip and carrot in it. Very Moroccan! My dish was very tasty. We each had a dessert. Would I return....no I don't think so. The decor was nice but if you've been to Morocco it only scores a 5 out of 10.

El Bahia Moroccan Restaurant

valerieolivia
Dublin
36 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:75%

Reviewed 24th October 2014 (visited 18 October 2014)

We went here with a voucher for two. I had chicken cooked in a pastry crust and it was absolutely divine. The wine was reasonably priced and the starters were good value. I had a peek in the function rooms and I would love to throw a party in the tent.

El Bahia Moroccan Restaurant

makosha353
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:60%

Reviewed 13th October 2014 (visited 12 September 2014)

Booked table for 2, we had a voucher and were keen to check on El Bahia since I have heard a lot good about the restaurant. To be honest, it’s been 3 years, and I never went there. We were the first guests to arrive, greeted by a host who showed us to the table on the second floor, we were delighted to know that our table was right to the window overlooking Grafton Street. The menu was extensive and too tempting, it took us some time to pick starters and mains. The waitress, I wished I could remember her name, was absolute treasure; smiley, welcoming and entertaining. We felt that she gave us enough time to select the dish. The pate was great, so were the grilled peppers, however I have overseen a girl next table ordering muscles and would surely recommend them, fabulous presentation! Our mains were splendid; rabbit and cow tongue, all served in traditional way. Piping hot and delicious. Unfortunately we did not order anything sweet since we felt like we had enough food. I would highly recommend El Bahia for the level of service; very welcoming, ambience is special, makes you forget that you’re in European capital. Delightful experience and absolutely worth the visit. Thanks.

El Bahia Moroccan Restaurant

joshlee
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:30%

Reviewed 28th September 2014 (visited 21 September 2014)

will be back great value food v good

Copyright © 2015 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4671 ]