Murphs Bistro restaurant

49 Market Street, Cootehill

View on Map

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

7 reviews
4 stars - based on 7 reviews

Book a Table Now

CAPACITY
60 people

CUISINES
Bistro, European

FACILITIES

Coeliac options available Veggie options available Seafood available Will accept party bookings

Murphs Bistro reviews

menu points Submit a review
Murphs Bistro

Jones.pat096

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th August 2013 (visited 16 August 2013 )

Murphs was a wonderful surprise. Over the past 25 years of visiting Ireland, I can count on the fingers of one hand the really good meals we've had. Not the company, which is always good but the food itself. It was a good Early Starters Menu with reasonable sized portions as well as an interesting choice, including a vegetarian meal which I had. The food itself was excellent - well served, hot and well cooked. Best garlic mushrooms ever. Coming from a large city (Liverpool) where there is a great choice of restaurants this compared well.

Murphs Bistro

Dinning Gals
Cavan
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th June 2012 (visited 9 June 2012 )

Myself and the girls visited this restaurant last Saturday evening. The restaurant came recommended from a family friend.There was six of us in total and none of us had been to the restaurant before. I rang to make the booking and had explained that it was my sister's birthday. When we arrived we were given a warm greeting by a lady (who I think may have been the owner/manager as she wasn't in uniform like the other girls) and were escorted to our table. The service we received for the night was impeccable! Our drinks were never empty and we had every request satisfied. The food was equally as amazing. The six of us are food lovers and dine frequently and we really were not disappointed! I had the goats cheese starter which I strongly recommend. I wasn't sure what to go with for mains so had the cock and bull; fillet steak and panfried chicken breast on champ potato with peppercorn sauce (amazing!) I couldn't manage much for dessert so just shared the banoffee (unreal!) and had a baileys coffee! When we were finishing our drinks the lady came out and presented my sister with a fabulous decorated happy birthday glass which came in a fancy box with ribbons. It was such a thoughtful and kind gesture; none of us were expecting it and it made my sisters night! I can't recommend this place strongly enough. The location is great too; it's right in the middle of cootehill so all we had to do was cross the street to the next pub. Massive thumbs up from all the crew!

Murphs Bistro

foodjo
Cavan
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd March 2012 (visited 18 March 2012 )

Busy sunday mothers day. Service very unprofessional, not only was there no atmosphere in the restaurant we could also feel a tension between staff members, constantly felt like we were in the way especially by the older woman who wasn't in a staff uniform, she must have been the manager I felt she had no manner in dealing with us. The food was good after a long wait of about half an hour between starter and main course, the main courses seemed to be just slapped on the plate, no presentation skills at all. All in all wouldn't reccomend to a friend.

Restaurant response:
Dear Foodio, Reading your comment has upset us greatly. We are a small family run business who work very hard to ensure that each and every customer is left happy and satisfied. Mothers Day is meant to be a relaxing and enjoyable day spent with family and friends; I am deeply sorry that you did not have this experience. On mothers day we were conscious that our restaurant was very busy. Unfortunately for us, a member of staff came into work sick and was subsequently sent home. This caused upset to our service for a short period of time until a replacement was called in. Your custom is oh so important to us and I have to stress that if you had told us your concerns on the day we would have made sure that you left happy. We are aware that you have been in before and have enjoyed the food and service on previous occasions. This complaint is unusual for our restaurant; we take pride in the feedback we have had from customers in the past regarding our service and the quality of the food. Should you return to our restaurant again, and we do hope you do, we will see to it that you leave happy this time. Our deepest apologies, Susan and Fergus Murphy

Murphs Bistro

Groceries
Cavan
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th November 2010 (visited 11 November 2010 )

I visited Murphs on a miserable Thursday evening with my wife. The hostess greeted us and sat us at a large bay window over looking Cootehill. There were five or six other tables in with us; the restuarant was warm, the music was great and the whole place had a rich, cozy ambience to it. I had heard many reports about this restaurant and so far they were all living up to its expectation. After our wine arrived (house red,highly recommended both price and value) our starters came shortly after. My wife had the goats cheese and I had the duck springroll. My wife was very pleased with the goats cheese and my duck springroll was incredible! It was a feast within itself and so very fresh. For mains I had the ribeye special while my wife had the chicken special. The ribeye was melt-in-your-mouth-perfect. Cooked exactly how I had asked for it to be done, medium rare. It came with garlic mushrooms, onion rings and some sauces. An absolute feast. My wife was equally as pleased, she had a chicken dish stuffed with spinnach and some sweet pepper on stir fry. I passed on dessert as I was too full, opting for an Irish coffee instead while my wife tried the chocolate creation. We arrived at seven and didn't leave till almost ten. The ambiance was fantastic and the food was even better, we simply didn't see the time go by. I would highly, highly recommend this gem of a restaurant to everybody.

Murphs Bistro

Twinkle09
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th October 2010 (visited 23 October 2010 )

We visited this restaurant on Saturday night. Usually I would describe this as my favourite place to eat however something was lacking this time! Our starters were quite scrappy and not well presented. There was far too much onion in the salad and in the potatoe skins. We both had fillet steak(medallions) for our main and we were both really disappointed. It was extremely tough and certainly not what you would expect for a €26(approx) fillet. I hope this was just a once off and I will most likely be back again to give it another chance. I would hate to see a restaurant which has always had such high standards slip for the sake of a higher profit margin.

Restaurant response:
Let me begin by apologising for the delay in getting back to you; our laptop has been broken and it is only now fixed. I am so very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your meal. We know that your family are regular and very valued customers to the restaurant and we hate to think that you left being dissatisfied. We are well known for our steak dishes within Cavan, all our meat is sourced from a top, local butcher and we are incredibly sorry that on this occasion you found the meat tough. We will do all that we can to make sure that this doesn’t happen again. I do recall however asking you on the night if everything was ok to which you replied that everything was fine. If I had known there and then that there was an issue I would have sorted it without any hesitation. We do encourage as much feedback from our customers as possible as it helps us to ensure that our customers are left happy and satisfied.

Murphs Bistro

Seefin
Cavan
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd September 2010 (visited 21 August 2010 )

Visited the restaurant with my family (table of ten) on a busy Saturday night an 7 p.m. Because there were ten of us the Chef did created a special offer mini a la carte menu. It had duck, steak and stuffed chicken, the price was fantastic and the price was better! I had goats cheese and the duck for main. The duck was slow cooked and it came sitting on stir fry with a light plumy sauce. It was really delicious. For dessert I'd banoffee pie with ice-cream and a coffee. We drank a red Italian wine, Primitivo-it was so good I took the label home with me to see if I could source it. The wine list was very, very reasonable too with the most expensive bottle about 30e. We came at 7 and left at about 10-the place was swinging and the restaurant had a fantastic buzz about the place. The service was also great, very informative friendly and polite. I'd definitley head back!

Murphs Bistro

alottafood
Louth
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd June 2010 (visited 2 June 2010 )

Called on a normal Wednesday evening, restaurant was quite but filled up with a few more couples as the evening wore on. Shared a started of potatoe skins with mozerrella for starter, which were lacking in flavour. Mains of Duck & Kangaroo were excellent, large portions of meat and came with sides however sides were verg/salad or potatoe/chips. Reaaly should have been veg/salad and potatoe/chips. Desserts of cheesecake and sorbet. Again very good. Menu was very extensive and a few interesting specials. Service informative, friendly and efficient. The set menu was very well priced a la carte bit expensive in places. Restaurant does lack a bit of atmosphere though, possibly the decor. Overall very nice & would recommend.

Copyright © 2017 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.3374 ]